From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Merlin Franchisor

Automotive services

Software purchasing at Merlin Franchisor flows through a Driven Brands-aligned leadership team led by CEO Jonathan Fitzpatrick and EVP/CFO Gary W. Ferrera. The 24-unit automotive services franchise mandates M.Key Software and AutoVitals, creating a defined tech environment with limited addressable units but clear replacement or integration targets. Vendors evaluating this account should understand the centralized decision-making structure and the existing stack before outreach.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
24
24 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
6.9%
of gross sales
Ad fund
5%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$265K–$534K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Standards based
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

11.9%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 11.9% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6.9%, Ad fund 5%. Total 11.9% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6.9%Ad fund 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

AutoVitalsAutoVitals
Field serviceItem 11

he M.Key Software. (The maintenance agreement does not apply to hardware.) The cost of the “basic” maintenance support for the M.Key Software is currently $375 (or if you purchase AutoVitals, $275) pe

Mitchell 1Mitchell 1
Industry softwareItem 6

enance Fee: (a) on each – Technical anniversary of the effective Procedures Software date of the M.Key Software License and Maintenance $89.50 per month – Agreement to reflect any Mitchell 1 on Demand

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited, independent access to the Customer Data and sales data regarding the Shop that the POS System generates and stores, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access this information and data.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Item 6

Service Charges for $25 per day Upon billing You must pay this service Failure to Submit charge if you fail to submit Financial financial statements when Statements due.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliate are the only approved supplier of M.Key Software for franchisees.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

We have established the Merlin Franchisee Advisory Committee, which provides non- binding input regarding operational and other issues affecting the Merlin franchise system.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The COMPANY also reserves the right to require that other items be purchased exclusively from the COMPANY, its affiliates or its designees.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the 2022 fiscal year, neither the Company nor any affiliate derived any revenues or other material consideration from franchisees’ direct purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

The Company and/or its affiliates may derive revenue based on your purchases and leases, including from charging you (at prices exceeding its and their costs) for services and products that the Company or its affiliates sell you and from promotional allowances, rebates, volume discounts, and other amounts paid to the…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

46

Item 8

We estimate that the proportion of required purchases and leases that meet our specifications will represent approximately 75% to 95% of the total cost to develop the Shop, and approximately 46% to 96% of the total cost to operate the Shop.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you propose to purchase any brand of product that the Company has not previously approved, you must notify the Company and submit to the Company all information, specifications and other information the Company requests.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

Franchisee’s obligations on Section 15 of Under the Franchise Agreement, pay termination/non-renewal Franchise Agreement; outstanding amounts, de-identification, Section J.3 of M.Key cease use of and return confidential Software License and information and materials, and transfer Maintenance telephone numbers to the…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 14

You must comply with our standards and directions, prevailing industry standards (including payment card industry data security standards), and all applicable laws and regulations regarding the organizational, physical, administrative and technical measures and security procedures to safeguard the confidentiality and…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

The Company has the right to add to or otherwise modify the Operations Manual to reflect changes in authorized services and products, standards of service or product quality, the operation of a Merlin Shop and other requirements of the franchise; these additions or modifications to the Operations Manual will be…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

The Company has the right to add to or otherwise modify the Operations Manual to reflect changes in authorized services and products, standards of service or product quality, the operation of a Merlin Shop and other requirements of the franchise;

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

FRANCHISEE agrees not to execute any lease or purchase agreement for, nor commit to any other binding obligation to purchase, occupy or improve, any proposed location until the COMPANY has approved the location in accordance with the COMPANY’s standard procedures.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to your contributions to the Marketing Fund, you must spend annually for local advertising and promotion of the Shop at least 1% of the Net Revenues of the Shop.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

FRANCHISEE agrees to pay all fees to the COMPANY due under this Agreement via electronic fund transfer (“EFT”), by which the COMPANY will withdraw payments from FRANCHISEE’s bank account on their due dates.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the computer software we designate.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited, independent access to the Customer Data and sales data regarding the Shop that the POS System generates and stores, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access this information and data.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

The Company has the right to require that you (or the Shop manager) and/or technicians complete supplemental and refresher training programs during the Franchise Agreement’s term.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 15

You must attend all franchise, marketing, and training meetings called by the Company.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Merlin Franchisor

Merlin Franchisor operates 24 franchised automotive services locations, with no company-owned units disclosed in the 2023 FDD. The unit count is small, but the concentration is notable: Illinois accounts for 36 of the mapped units, with Wisconsin (2), Minnesota (2), North Carolina (1), and Georgia (1) making up the remainder. The operator base consists of 31 mapped operators, four of whom are multi-unit owners. The unit-band split shows 27 single-unit operators and four in the 2–9 range, with no operators controlling 10 or more units. This structure means a software vendor is selling into a tight, HQ-controlled network where a single deal can cover the entire system.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not reported in the FDD. The royalty rate is 6.9% on gross sales, and the initial franchise term is 15 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed, so vendors should not assume an expanding footprint. The opportunity here is not scale—it is depth: replacing or integrating with mandated systems across a stable, concentrated base.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2023 FDD lists a Driven Brands leadership team as the key executives for Merlin Franchisor. Jonathan Fitzpatrick serves as Manager, Chief Executive Officer, and President of the Company, and also holds Director, CEO, and President roles at Driven Brands. Gary W. Ferrera is Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer across Merlin Franchisor, SBA, and Driven Brands. Mo Khalid is Executive Vice President and Group President, Maintenance for Driven Brands. Scott O’Melia, as EVP, General Counsel, and Secretary, is the likely gatekeeper for vendor contracts and compliance review.

This is a centralized buying center. There is no indication of multi-unit operator autonomy in software decisions. Vendors should target Fitzpatrick and Ferrera for strategic conversations, with Khalid as the operational sponsor for maintenance-tech solutions. O’Melia will be involved in procurement and legal review. No CIO or CTO is named in the FDD, so technology decisions appear to sit with the executive team rather than a dedicated IT function.

Mandated and current tech stack

Merlin Franchisor mandates three systems under its Franchisee Profitability Program: the Franchisee Profitability Program software itself, M.Key Software, and AutoVitals. These are not optional or recommended—they are required for all franchisees. The FDD does not disclose the specific functions each system covers, but AutoVitals is known in the automotive aftermarket for digital vehicle inspections and workflow management. M.Key Software provides operational and financial management tools for service businesses.

For a software vendor, this stack defines the competitive landscape. Any pitch must address how your solution coexists with or replaces M.Key or AutoVitals. The mandated nature of these tools means franchisees cannot independently switch, so the sales motion must start and end at HQ.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD—which typically outlines procurement obligations, designated suppliers, and rebate structures—is not extracted in the available data. Without that signal, the procurement model remains opaque. However, the existence of mandated software strongly implies a designated-supplier or HQ-controlled purchasing environment. Vendors should assume that all technology decisions require corporate approval.

Renewal terms offer one potential window for vendor entry. The initial 15-year term is followed by a single 10-year renewal option, contingent on compliance with the franchise agreement, proper notice, a remodel, signing a general release, and accepting the then-current form of renewal franchise agreement. The royalty fee at renewal will not exceed the rate imposed on similarly situated renewing franchisees. This long cycle means contract windows are infrequent, but when a renewal approaches, franchisees may be required to update systems to meet current standards—creating an opening for new technology.

How to read the Merlin Franchisor FDD

The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for vendor due diligence on Merlin Franchisor. Item 1 lists the executives and their Driven Brands affiliations. Item 11 details the mandated tech stack. Item 17 outlines the renewal conditions and term structure. The operator footprint and unit economics come from the aggregate disclosures within the FDD. For vendors, the FDD answers the critical question: who buys, what do they already use, and when might they be forced to change. Review the embedded PDF below to verify every data point before building your pitch.

If you need a ranked list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can build that target list from FDD data across hundreds of brands.

Questions vendors ask

Merlin Franchisor, answered from the filing

The buying center sits with Driven Brands executives: Jonathan Fitzpatrick (CEO/President), Gary W. Ferrera (EVP/CFO), and Mo Khalid (EVP, Group President, Maintenance). Scott O’Melia (EVP/General Counsel) likely reviews vendor agreements.
The 2023 FDD mandates Franchisee Profitability Program software, M.Key Software, and AutoVitals. No other named systems appear in the disclosure. These are required for all franchisees.
Twenty-four total units, all franchised. The operator footprint maps 31 operators across roughly 43 located units, with Illinois holding the highest concentration (36 mapped units).
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Assume HQ-controlled purchasing given the mandated tech list.
Initial terms run 15 years. Renewal adds one 10-year term contingent on compliance, remodel, and signing the then-current franchise agreement. No year-over-year unit growth data is available to signal expansion-driven openings.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed Item 11 tech disclosures, executive listings, and renewal conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Merlin Franchisor2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Merlin Franchisor files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

28 operators run 31 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit27
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

IL24
WI2
MN2
NC1
GA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Merlin Franchisor

holding_vehicle of Driven Brands.

Sibling brands

Related Automotive services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.