From the filings

HQ-led decisions

GENGHIS GRILL

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Genghis Grill is controlled at the corporate level, with key decision-makers including the Chief Growth and Development Officer and VP of Marketing – Franchise Development & Digital Strategy. The brand currently mandates Ecolab, Zenput, and Punchh across its 49-unit system (20 franchised, 29 company-owned). For vendors, this represents a concentrated opportunity to pitch into a $1.15M AUV quick-service concept with a 10-year franchise term.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
49
20 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-4.762%
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.15M
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$400K–$1.18M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8.5%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 8.5% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2.5%. Total 8.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ToastToast
Mandatory
POSItem 8

an affiliate may be an approved supplier of one or more of these items. Computer Hardware and Software We currently require you to purchase the point-of-sale system we designate. Currently, Toast is o

EcolabEcolab
Industry softwareItem 11

As of the issuance date of this disclosure document, the required Computer System includes: (a) Toast POS; (b) Restaurant 365, including the accounting module; (c) Zenput; and (d) Ecolab Prep-n-Print.

PunchhPAR Technology
LoyaltyItem 2

o January 2023 in New York, New York; Vice President, Enterprise Sales for Sevenrooms from January 2020 to October 2020 in New York, New York; and Senior Vice President, Sales for Punchh from August 2

ZenputCrunchTime
Field serviceItem 11

hise Agreement. As of the issuance date of this disclosure document, the required Computer System includes: (a) Toast POS; (b) Restaurant 365, including the accounting module; (c) Zenput; and (d) Ecol

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During the term of this Agreement, you will, at your expense, maintain at the Restaurant premises and retain for a minimum of five (5) years from the date of their preparation, complete and accurate books, records and accounts (using such methods and systems of bookkeeping and accounting as we may require) relating…

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We also may independently access financial information and customer data produced by or otherwise located on your Computer System (collectively the “Customer Data”).

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For all Records that are due to us on a monthly basis, you must provide those Records to us on or before the tenth (10th) day of the following calendar month; and for all Records that are due to us on an annual basis, you must provide those Records to us on or before thirty (30) days following the end of the calendar…

How the franchisor buys

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Because we just began franchising as of the issuance date of this disclosure document, we did not receive any revenue as a result of franchisee purchases in the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We currently receive a system-wide rebate from The Coca-Cola Company and from Dr. Pepper/Seven Up, Inc. for using their products in our system.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

request our approval of a Product Testing plus the costs and expenses we including the cost of our time spent proposed supplier or Fee incur (up to $5,000) evaluating the alternative product or product supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you propose to use any products, material, fixture, equipment, sign or other item which we have not approved, or purchase any items from any supplier that we have not approved, you must first notify us in writing and must provide us with sufficient information, specifications, samples photographs, drawings or…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You acknowledge that we have the sole right to and interest in all telephone numbers and directory listings associated with the Marks, and you authorize us, and appoint us as your attorney-in-fact, to direct the telephone company and all listing agencies to transfer such numbers and listings to us;

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in our designated Payment Card Industry (“PCI”) compliance program and comply with all applicable data security standards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To determine whether you are complying with this Agreement, we or our designees may, at any time during business hours and without prior notice to you, inspect the Restaurant and test, sample, inspect and evaluate your supplies, ingredients and Products as well as the storage and preparation of those items.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may add to, and otherwise modify, the Operations Manual to reflect changes in authorized Products and services, and specifications, standards and operating procedures of a Genghis Grill Restaurant.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The proposed location is subject to our prior written consent, which will not be unreasonably withheld.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 13

You may not market, advertise or promote your Restaurant or conduct any business using the Marks on any website or otherwise on the Internet, including using social and professional networking sites to promote your Restaurant, except as provided in our written social media policy (if any) or with our prior written…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

During the first 90 days following the opening of your Restaurant, you must spend a minimum $10,000 on a Restaurant Opening Campaign that we have approved in advance.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the Brand Development Fee described above, you are required to pay us 1.5% of your monthly Gross Sales which we will spend to advertise and promote the Franchise in your local market area (the “Local Marketing Contribution”).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must, at your expense, participate in, and honor all provisions of any gift card and/or loyalty program that we have established or may establish and as we may modify, as further described in the Operations Manual.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease all restaurant equipment, uniforms, proprietary apparel, merchandise, proprietary promotional items, small wares, paper products, menu items, grocery items (including vegetables, fruits, meats, oils, spices, sauces, salad dressings, soups, desserts, coffees), alcoholic and non-alcoholic…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease all restaurant equipment, uniforms, proprietary apparel, merchandise, proprietary promotional items, small wares, paper products, menu items, grocery items (including vegetables, fruits, meats, oils, spices, sauces, salad dressings, soups, desserts, coffees), alcoholic and non-alcoholic…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will pay the Royalty Fee to us by electronic funds transfer where we will electronically debit your designated bank account, as described in Section 4(F), unless we specify otherwise in writing.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must, at your expense, participate in, and honor all provisions of any gift card or loyalty programs we establish, and use any designated providers we specify for such programs.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

In addition, at all times, the Restaurant must be under the direct, on-site supervision of the Operating Principal or a general manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease all restaurant equipment, uniforms, proprietary apparel, merchandise, proprietary promotional items, small wares, paper products, menu items, grocery items (including vegetables, fruits, meats, oils, spices, sauces, salad dressings, soups, desserts, coffees), alcoholic and non-alcoholic…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We currently require you to purchase the point-of-sale system we designate.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We also may independently access financial information and customer data produced by or otherwise located on your Computer System (collectively the “Customer Data”).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

Refresher Training to exceed $5,000 We will charge you our then-current fee for these supplemental and refresher training programs.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to require your Operating Principal and up to two (2) additional key management personnel to attend any annual franchise conference that we sponsor or designate (“Annual Conference”).

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Genghis Grill

Genghis Grill is a quick-service restaurant chain with 49 total units (20 franchised, 29 company-owned) and an average unit volume of $1,145,293. The brand is part of Craveworthy, a strategic multi-brand platform that also includes The Budlong, Fresh Brothers, Gregorys Coffee, Sigri Indian BBQ, Taim Mediterranean Kitchen Franchising, and Wing It On! For software vendors, this means a potential entry point into a portfolio of concepts, not just a single brand. The franchise system is concentrated geographically: the top states are Texas (10 units), New Mexico (2), Arizona (2), Nevada (2), and Georgia (2), with the remaining units scattered across other states. We mapped 22 operators running 22 located units, all single-unit operators with no multi-unit franchisees. This fragmentation suggests that corporate HQ likely drives technology decisions across the network, as individual franchisees lack the scale to negotiate independently.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the corporate level. The FDD lists key executives: Jeremy Theisen (Chief Growth and Development Officer), Kimberly DeCarolis (Senior Vice President – Strategic Growth), and Justin Egan (Vice President of Marketing – Franchise Development & Digital Strategy). These roles indicate that growth, strategy, and digital marketing are tightly managed from HQ. Gregg Majewski is listed as Manager, but the growth-focused titles are the likely buyers for software that touches operations, marketing, or franchise development. Because there are no multi-unit operators, individual franchisees are unlikely to have independent purchasing power for core systems. A vendor’s pitch should target these HQ decision-makers, emphasizing scalability across the entire 49-unit system and potential rollouts to sibling brands under Craveworthy.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD mandates three technology vendors: Ecolab, Zenput, and Punchh. Ecolab typically provides food safety and operational compliance solutions; Zenput is an operations execution platform used for task management and audits; Punchh is a loyalty and customer engagement platform. Notably, no point-of-sale system is disclosed in the FDD, which may represent an open opportunity or a gap in the mandated stack. The absence of a named POS vendor could mean the brand uses a legacy system or allows franchisees to choose, but given the centralized control, a corporate-standard POS is likely in place but not disclosed. Vendors offering complementary solutions in areas like inventory management, labor scheduling, or delivery integration should note that the existing tech stack focuses on compliance, ops execution, and loyalty, leaving room for other categories.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not include any procurement restrictions or designated supplier requirements, suggesting an open procurement model. However, the renewal terms in Item 17 provide a potential trigger for technology upgrades: franchisees can renew for two additional 5-year terms, but must comply with the then-current Franchise Agreement, complete new training, and remodel the restaurant to meet current standards. This requirement to update to current standards at renewal could force technology refreshes every 10 years (initial term) or at each 5-year renewal. With a -4.762% year-over-year unit decline, the brand may be consolidating or refreshing its footprint, which could accelerate tech investment decisions. Software vendors should monitor renewal cycles and any public announcements about system-wide upgrades or brand revitalization efforts.

How to read the Genghis Grill FDD

The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document. Key sections for software vendors: Item 1 (executive team), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), Item 11 (mandated technology and suppliers), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). The FDD is filed with state franchise regulators and provides the legal basis for all the data cited here. Use it to identify the exact decision-makers, mandated vendors, and contractual hooks that can open a sales conversation.

For a ranked list of franchise brands that match your software category, including decision-maker contact details and tech stack gaps, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

GENGHIS GRILL, answered from the filing

Key buyers include Jeremy Theisen (Chief Growth and Development Officer), Kimberly DeCarolis (SVP Strategic Growth), and Justin Egan (VP Marketing – Franchise Development & Digital Strategy). Purchasing is centralized at the corporate level.
The FDD mandates Ecolab (likely for food safety/operations), Zenput (operations execution), and Punchh (loyalty/engagement). No POS system is disclosed.
49 total units as of 2023: 29 company-owned and 20 franchised, primarily in TX, NM, AZ, NV, and GA.
The FDD does not disclose a designated or approved supplier program in Item 8. Vendors should assume an open procurement model unless specified otherwise.
Franchise agreements have a 10-year initial term with two 5-year renewal options. Renewals require compliance with current standards, potentially triggering tech upgrades. No specific contract windows are disclosed.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below. It contains all mandated tech, fees, and executive contacts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

GENGHIS GRILL2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment GENGHIS GRILL files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

15 operators run 22 mapped locations. 3 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit12
2–9 units3

Top states by locations

TX10
NM2
AZ2
NV2
GA2

Ownership

The portfolio behind GENGHIS GRILL

strategic_multibrand of Craveworthy.

Sibling brands

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.