From the filings

+4.444% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Outdoor Lighting Perspectives

Home services

Software purchasing at Outdoor Lighting Perspectives is driven by HQ mandates, with Erich Johnston (Director of Information Technology for Strategic Initiatives) as a key technical decision-maker. The franchise currently mandates ServiceMinder for CRM and operations, alongside intranet and design software, across 141 franchised locations. This creates a concentrated, 141-unit addressable market for vendors offering complementary or replacement tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
141
141 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+4.444%
vs prior filing
AUV
$770K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$181K–$227K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 8.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

ServiceMinderServiceMinder
Field serviceItem 11

e advise you of this requirement, and you must present us with a certificate acceptable to us to show that you passed the course. We have worked with an outside vendor (currently, ServiceMinder) to de

SyscoSysco
InventoryItem 2

2025 (Richmond, Virginia). From July 2023 to March 2025, she was National Brand Manager at Neighborly in Waco, Texas. Previously, Ms. Capocelli held marketing leadership roles at Sysco: Marketing Dire

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During the first two full years of operations, Franchisee must use a bookkeeping service or platform approved by Franchisor.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to independently access your electronic information and data through our proprietary data management and the Intranet Software, and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the Outdoor Lighting System and the sale of franchises.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within ten (10) days after the end of each month, beginning with January 1st, a balance sheet and profit and loss statement for the Business for the preceding month; (b) within thirty (30) days after the end of each fiscal year of the Business, financial statements for the Business, including a balance sheet, profit…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we or our Affiliates are the only supplier for initial lighting inventory, the night time sales demonstration kit, certain software programs, and vehicle wraps.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may change the designated suppliers from time to time on written notice to you.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates reserve the right to collect rebates and other consideration from third party designated and approved suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

The purchase of inventory, fixtures, equipment and supplies from our approved suppliers and distributors will likely represent approximately 25% to 50% percent of your overall purchases to establish and operate your Outdoor Lighting Business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We have procedures for approving suppliers you recommend based on the criteria described above.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges as between Franchisor and Franchisee, Franchisor has the sole rights to, and interest in, all telephone numbers, facsimile numbers, directory listings and Internet addresses used by Franchisee to promote the Business and/or associated with the Marks.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor and Franchisor’s representatives will have the right during business hours to inspect the Business and all other facilities used for service or storage, sale and transportation of any approved Products.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right to modify the Manual from time to time to reflect changes in authorized Products and Services, business image or the operation of the Business; provided, however, no such addition or modification shall alter Franchisee’s fundamental status and rights under this Agreement.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 12

You may not establish a presence on or market using the Internet or other form of electronic media (including social technology, social media and social networking platforms) except as we may specify, and only with our prior written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must invest $25,000 of the Individual Advertising Investment on start-up advertising for the first 90 days after you satisfactorily complete the initial training program (“Start-Up Advertising”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must invest a minimum amount in approved local marketing during each 12-month period (“Individual Advertising Investment”), which is based upon the number of Territories you are granted.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must purchase all Products, services, equipment, tools, inventory, supplies and hardware and software from Franchisor’s designated suppliers, manufacturers and distributors (which may include Franchisor or its affiliates).

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must purchase all Products, services, equipment, tools, inventory, supplies and hardware and software from Franchisor’s designated suppliers, manufacturers and distributors (which may include Franchisor or its affiliates).

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Only advertising and promotional material, services, equipment, supplies, and uniforms that meet Franchisor’s standards and specifications shall be used at the Business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the Computer System which meets our specifications and requirements.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to independently access your electronic information and data through our proprietary data management and the Intranet Software, and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the Outdoor Lighting System and the sale of franchises.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Franchisees must license from our designated supplier (currently, Service Minder) the CRM Software.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge our training fee for any supplemental and refresher training programs.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

We currently require franchisees to attend these conferences, may require your employees to attend them as well, which are held at our Richmond, Virginia headquarters or at a location chosen by us.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderRegional 100 499

HQ leadership: CEO/President + VP Ops/Franchise + a first dedicated IT/systems owner.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at Outdoor Lighting Perspectives

Outdoor Lighting Perspectives operates 141 franchised units across the United States, with no company-owned locations disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The system grew 4.4% year-over-year, adding units at a steady clip. Average unit volume sits at $770,468, and franchisees pay a 7.0% royalty on gross revenue. For software vendors, this represents a concentrated market: 141 independently owned businesses operating under a single brand with centralized technology mandates.

The home-services segment is notoriously underserved by vertical SaaS, and Outdoor Lighting Perspectives’ mix of field operations, design workflows, and seasonal holiday lighting installs creates genuine complexity. A vendor that can address scheduling, design-to-install handoffs, or multi-season crew management would find a receptive audience—provided they can navigate the HQ-driven purchasing dynamic.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology decisions at Outdoor Lighting Perspectives flow through headquarters. The 2026 FDD names Erich Johnston as Director of Information Technology for Strategic Initiatives, making him the most obvious point of contact for enterprise software evaluation. Justin Mayer, the Brand President, and Chris Collier, Director of Field Operations, are also listed among HQ leadership and likely hold sway over operational tooling decisions.

Because all 141 units are franchised, individual operators do not appear to have independent procurement authority for mandated systems. The franchisor sets the tech stack, and franchisees comply. This means a single sale to HQ can unlock deployment across the entire system—but also that the bar for displacing an incumbent is high.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates four categories of technology. First, CRM software is required, and the named vendor is ServiceMinder—a platform that handles scheduling, estimating, and customer management for home-service businesses. Second, intranet software is mandated, though the specific vendor is not named in our extract. Third, landscape and holiday lighting design software is required, again without a named vendor. Fourth, ServiceMinder itself is called out by name as a mandated system, suggesting it serves as the operational backbone.

For vendors, the presence of ServiceMinder is the critical signal. It occupies the CRM and operations niche, meaning point solutions for design, procurement, or financial reporting may face less direct competition. Any pitch should acknowledge ServiceMinder and position your tool as either a complement or a superior replacement with a clear migration path.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Our Item 8 extract does not specify whether Outdoor Lighting Perspectives uses a designated-supplier, approved-supplier, or open procurement model. This is a gap in the available data, and vendors should investigate directly whether franchisees have any freedom to source non-mandated software independently.

On renewals, the FDD provides a clear trigger. Franchise agreements run for an initial term of 7 years. To renew, a franchisee must sign the then-current successor agreement—which may carry materially different terms, including higher fees—and must upgrade their computer system and vehicle. The renewal term is equal to the then-current initial term, with a floor of 5 years. This system-upgrade requirement creates a natural window for software evaluation, as franchisees facing renewal will be forced to revisit their tech stack anyway. Vendors should map renewal cohorts to time their outreach.

How to read the Outdoor Lighting Perspectives FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Focus your review on Item 11, which lists the mandated technologies and any named vendors. Item 8 governs procurement and supplier relationships—though our extract lacks detail here, the full document may clarify whether franchisees must buy from designated sources. Item 17 spells out renewal conditions, including the computer-system upgrade clause that can force technology re-evaluation. Item 1 lists the HQ executives who control purchasing decisions.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software’s ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach based on tech mandates, unit counts, and decision-maker concentration.

Questions vendors ask

Outdoor Lighting Perspectives, answered from the filing

Erich Johnston, Director of Information Technology for Strategic Initiatives, is the named IT leader. Justin Mayer (Brand President) and Chris Collier (Director of Field Operations) likely influence operational tech decisions.
The FDD mandates ServiceMinder for CRM/operations, an intranet platform, and landscape and holiday lighting design software. Specific vendors for intranet and design tools are not named in our extract.
There are 141 total units, all franchised. No company-owned units were disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Year-over-year unit growth was 4.4%.
The procurement model is not detailed in our Item 8 extract. The FDD does not specify whether suppliers are designated, approved, or open, leaving the purchasing pathway unclear from available data.
Franchise agreements run 7 years. Renewals require signing a then-current agreement (minimum 5-year term) and upgrading computer systems. This creates potential re-evaluation points tied to each operator's renewal cycle.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 (tech mandates), Item 8 (procurement), and Item 17 (renewal conditions) directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Outdoor Lighting Perspectives2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Outdoor Lighting Perspectives files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

44 operators run 44 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit44

Top states by locations

FL11
CA4
NC4
GA4
KS3

Ownership

The portfolio behind Outdoor Lighting Perspectives

strategic_multibrand of Bobcat Holdings Group.

Sibling brands

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.