From the filings

HQ-led decisions

The Man Salon

Personal services

Software purchasing at The Man Salon is controlled at the headquarters level by a small executive team including President Shawn Ericsson, Vice President Stacia Ericsson, and Director of Operations Erica Hanson. The brand currently mandates FranConnect for franchise management and a point-of-sale computer system with unspecified POS software. With only 5 company-owned units and no franchised locations mapped, the immediate addressable market is extremely limited.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$241K–$395K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 3%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ZenotiZenoti
Mandatory
POSItem 8

system at your The Man Salon Business, and such system must be purchased from Soham Inc. dba Zenoti, based in Bellevue, Washington. The ZenotiSuper Salon POS system includes a gift card system that mu

FranConnectFranConnect
CrmItem 11

r enhancements. Confidential Operations Manuals After you sign the Franchise Agreement, we will give you access to our Manuals (to be provided in electronic format only, using the FranConnect system),

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The software programs, point-of-sale systems and computer hardware used at The Man Salon Businesses are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system at all times, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate ourselves or our affiliates as approved or designated suppliers of any item.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We also reserve the right to change or add designated suppliers from time to time at our option upon written notice to you.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Neither we nor our affiliates had any revenues from the sale of products or services to franchisees in the fiscal year ended December 31, 2020, nor did we or our affiliates receive any rebates, refunds or other payments from any designated sources because of transactions with our franchisees during such time period…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

10

Item 8

We estimate your required purchases for the operation of your The Man Salon Business will range between 10% and 30% of your annual purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Securities Our reasonable costs When billed We limit our review to the manner in Offering Fee and expenses which the offering materials treat your associated with the and our relationship. proposed offering. {00302162-1 } -8- Fees(1) Amount Due Date Remarks Supplier Review An amount equal to When billed If you…

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If we require that an item be purchased from an approved supplier and you wish to purchase it from a supplier we have not approved, you must submit to us a written request for approval.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

at our option, sell or assign us your rights in business telephone numbers, advertising and promotional materials, furnishings equipment, and the premises

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You must, at your expense, comply with all payment card industry (“PCI”) and government security standards and requirements designed to protect cardholder data in connection with payments made via credit and debit cards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct periodic evaluations of your operations.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

which we may amend from time to time at our sole discretion upon written notice to you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must accept the site as meeting our standards before you may begin any construction or renovations or use such site for your The Man Salon Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not advertise, promote, post or list information relating to The Man Salon Business on the Internet (through the creation of a Website or otherwise) without our consent, but we may, at our option, decide to include information about your The Man Salon Business on our Website.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $15,000 on advertising and promoting your The Man Salon Business during the Initial Launch Period.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least two percent (2%) of your Gross Sales on local advertising and promotion of your The Man Salon Business in the Protected Area

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative is established for a geographic area that includes all or part of your Protected Area, you will be required to contribute up to one percent (1%) of your Gross Sales each month to the Cooperative (provided that the contribution amount may be increased by majority vote of the Cooperative members, with…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all of your barber chairs from our designated vendor, AGS Beauty Salon Equipment, which is based in Portland, Oregon.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

If we have approved suppliers (including manufacturers, distributors and other sources) for any inventory, supplies, materials, fixtures, furnishings, equipment, computer systems and other products or services used or offered for sale at your The Man Salon Business, you must obtain these items and services from those…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Fees(1) Amount Due Date Remarks Royalty Fee 5% of your Gross Payable weekly (with See Note 2 for the definition of “Gross (Standard Sales payments due each Sales.” We require you to pay the Franchisees) Tuesday for royalties royalty fees by electronic funds accrued during the prior transfer…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

The ZenotiSuper Salon POS system includes a gift card system that must be used for the issuance and processing of gift cards and loyalty/rewards programs designated by us.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At least 30 days before your The Man Salon Business opens for business, you must designate at least the number of Assistant Managers we require, but in no event less than one Assistant Manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

In addition to purchasing our “Simple Man” brand products, you must also purchase certain “The Man Salon” branded items from us, which may include paper products, employee uniforms and/or branded clothing, hats or other business or promotional items to be used or offered for sale at your The Man Salon Business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the approved ZenotiSuper Salon point-of-sale system at your The Man Salon Business, and such system must be purchased from Soham Inc. dba Zenoti, based in Bellevue, Washington.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The software programs, point-of-sale systems and computer hardware used at The Man Salon Businesses are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system at all times, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

If you request or if we believe it is Remedial diem fee for additional appropriate or necessary, you may be Training training, plus our required to complete additional or related costs for remedial training, and we will (subject travel, lodging and to availability) provide one or more meals.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we schedule an annual franchise conference, you must attend.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 68.6% of brands mandate no accounting system, meaning 93 brands are ripe for displacement, but I lack the unit-count and financial context to prioritize them.Focusing on the wrong 10 brands costs a rep 2+ deals per quarter. FranCloud's fit_scoring layers AUV and unit growth onto tech gaps, so reps chase only the 93 with real revenue potential.
  3. Even when I know which brands to target, I can't get reliable decision-maker contacts for the 277 brands with disclosed unit counts.SDRs spend 5+ hours/week hunting contacts. FranCloud's contact_enrichment delivers verified contacts in-line, saving 260 hours/year per rep and adding 15% more meetings.

The vendor opportunity at The Man Salon

The Man Salon operates a micro-footprint of 5 total units, all of which are company-owned as of the 2022 FDD. No franchised units are mapped in our corpus, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. For a software vendor, this represents a very small addressable market with no immediate franchisee-driven demand. The average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed, and the royalty rate stands at 5.0% of gross sales. The initial franchise term is 10 years, with a 5-year renewal option, but without active franchising, renewal-driven tech evaluations are not a near-term catalyst.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority is concentrated at the headquarters level. The FDD lists three executives: Shawn Ericsson (President), Stacia Ericsson (Vice President), and Erica Hanson (Director of Operations). In a system this small, these individuals are the de facto technology decision-makers. Any vendor pitch should be directed to this group, with a focus on operational efficiency for their five corporate locations. There is no parent company on file, indicating the brand is independently owned and decisions are made internally without a larger corporate hierarchy.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2022 FDD mandates two specific technology categories. First, FranConnect by FranConnect is the mandated franchise management system. Second, the brand requires a point-of-sale computer system and point-of-sale software, though the specific POS vendor is not named in the disclosure. This leaves an opening for POS vendors to inquire about the current unnamed solution, but the mandate signal is strong: any franchisee or company location must use the prescribed POS infrastructure. No other mandated or recommended technology systems are disclosed.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement signal, meaning the brand's purchasing model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly detailed. The renewal term is 5 years, as outlined in Item 17, and requires franchisees to sign the then-current franchise agreement, which may be materially different from the original. Renewal conditions include updating the business to current standards, remodeling as required, and paying a renewal fee. However, with no franchised units in operation, these renewal provisions are currently theoretical. The absence of franchised growth and a static unit count suggests software contract windows are not tied to a predictable expansion or refresh cycle.

How to read the The Man Salon FDD

The 2022 Franchise Disclosure Document is the primary source for vendor due diligence. Item 1 identifies the executive team and their roles. Item 11 lists the mandated technology systems, including FranConnect and the POS requirements. Item 17 details the 5-year renewal conditions, which will become relevant if the brand begins franchising. The embedded FDD viewer below provides the full text for deeper analysis. For a ranked target list of franchise systems with stronger growth signals and clearer tech gaps, FranCloud can help prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

The Man Salon, answered from the filing

The buying center is small. Key contacts from the FDD are President Shawn Ericsson, Vice President Stacia Ericsson, and Director of Operations Erica Hanson, who likely evaluate operational tools.
The FDD mandates a point-of-sale computer system and point-of-sale software, but does not name the specific vendor. FranConnect by FranConnect is also mandated for franchise management.
The 2022 FDD discloses 5 total units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extracts. There is no Item 8 signal specifying designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open purchasing model.
The initial franchise term is 10 years, with a 5-year renewal option. With only 5 company-owned units and no disclosed franchised growth, renewal-driven evaluation cycles are not currently a factor.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2022. You can review the embedded document below for Item 1 executives, Item 11 tech mandates, and Item 17 renewal conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Man Salon2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Man Salon files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. The Man Salon’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.