From the filings

HQ-led decisions

HealthSource Chiropractic

Personal services

Software purchasing at HealthSource Chiropractic is controlled from the franchisor’s Ohio headquarters, where CEO Chris Tomshack and COO Cris Casazza oversee a 129-unit system. The brand mandates its own HealthSource intranet, online library, and HSWorx platform across all locations, creating a narrow but addressable market for complementary or replacement tools. With an average unit volume of $609,587 and a 7% royalty, vendors are selling into a mature personal-services franchise that is contracting slightly (-2.3% YoY units).

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
129
129 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.273%
vs prior filing
AUV
$610K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$101K–$630K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

9%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 9% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 2%. Total 9% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

PaychexPaychex
Mandatory
PayrollItem 8

, or such other supplier as we may designate in the future. We currently require our franchisees to enroll in and maintain certain human resources and payroll services provided by Paychex, Inc. The re

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to establish and maintain at your own expense a bookkeeping, accounting, and record keeping system conforming to the requirements, data processing, and cash register systems and formats, if any, which we prescribe from time to time.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

These systems may include the capability of being polled by our central computer system or a third party designee, which you agree to permit.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

by the day of each month that we may specify, a written report of the Franchise’s gross revenues for the preceding month, and any other data, information, and supporting records that we may require; (3) by the day of each month that we may specify, a profit and loss statement for the preceding calendar month, and a…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate us and/or our affiliates as an approved supplier, or the only approved supplier, from which you may or must lease or purchase certain products or services in developing and operating your HealthSource Chiropractic franchise.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may periodically modify the specifications for, and components of, the Computer System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

627930.48

Item 8

Of this total, $355,547.48 or 4.5% of our total revenue, was derived from franchise purchases or leases, including but not limited to purchases of services provided by HealthSource Chiropractic, as well as products and services purchased from third party suppliers that pay us a rebate and other payments for franchise…

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Our approved supplier for pillows, Pillowise USA, pays us a rebate of 5% of all purchases made by our franchises.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

total expenditures in leasing or purchasing real estate, equipment, fixtures, products, marketing materials, services, and computer hardware and software from our approved suppliers will represent approximately 50% of your total purchases and expenses in connection with establishing and operating your HealthSource…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may charge you a supplier evaluation fee (not to exceed the reasonable cost of the inspection and the actual cost of the test) to make the evaluation.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to purchase or lease any items from any unapproved supplier, then you must submit to us a written request for approval of the proposed supplier or the proposed supplier may submit its own request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

disconnect, or, at our option, assign to us all telephone numbers that have been used in your Franchised Business

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You are required to use all of these services and are required to pay us a monthly fee, in an amount to be determined by us from time to time, for these services (the “Technology Fee”).

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to present to your customers any evaluation forms we periodically prescribe, and agree to participate in, and/or request that your customers participate in, any surveys performed by or on our behalf.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

As we deem advisable, conduct inspections of your Clinic, including evaluations of its training methods, techniques, and equipment; its staff; and the services rendered to its customers to ensure that the high standards of quality, appearance and service of the HealthSource Chiropractic System are maintained.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Operations Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Review and approve or disapprove your proposed Clinic site (Franchise Agreement – Section 3.1).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will not establish or use any Website without our prior written approval.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

each HealthSource Chiropractic Clinic must spend, at a minimum each month, the greater of $3,000 or 5% of its gross revenues for local advertising, promotion, and marketing to comply with the Local Marketing Requirement.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must (1) purchase products for sale by your Clinic in the quantities we designate; (2) use those formats, formulae, and containers for products that we prescribe; and (3) purchase all products, services and other materials only from distributors and other suppliers we have approved.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must lease or purchase your leasehold improvements, x-ray equipment, computer and billing system, equipment, inventory, marketing materials, supplies, services, products, and other items only from suppliers or designees approved by us.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must obtain the customer management, accounting, and billing software for the Computer System, (see Items 7 and 11), that you must use in operating your HealthSource Chiropractic franchise from HSWorx, or such other supplier as we may designate in the future.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must pay all amounts due by automatic debit, but we have the right to require you to pay all amounts due us or our affiliates by certified or cashier’s check or wire transfer.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must obtain the customer management, accounting, and billing software for the Computer System, (see Items 7 and 11), that you must use in operating your HealthSource Chiropractic franchise from HSWorx, or such other supplier as we may designate in the future.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent, unlimited access to the information the Computer System generates, stores and tracks, including any information pertaining to your gross revenues and all other information stored by the Computer System.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must obtain the customer management, accounting, and billing software for the Computer System, (see Items 7 and 11), that you must use in operating your HealthSource Chiropractic franchise from HSWorx, or such other supplier as we may designate in the future.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We also reserve the right to make any of these training programs mandatory for you and/or designated owners, employees, general managers, and/or representatives of yours.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Your attendance at the annual conference is mandatory.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderRegional 100 499

HQ leadership: CEO/President + VP Ops/Franchise + a first dedicated IT/systems owner.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at HealthSource Chiropractic

HealthSource Chiropractic operates 129 franchised clinics, all of which are required to use a mandated technology stack controlled from the franchisor’s headquarters in Ohio. The system reported an average unit volume of $609,587 in its 2026 FDD, with a 7% royalty rate and a standard 10-year initial term. Year-over-year unit count declined by 2.3%, meaning the addressable base is shrinking modestly. For software vendors, this is a small, centralized target: 129 locations, one buying center, and a proprietary tech environment that may resist third-party displacement but could create openings for adjacent tools—analytics, patient engagement, billing optimization, or compliance—that integrate with the mandated platforms.

The absence of company-owned units simplifies the sales motion. Every location is a franchisee, but technology decisions appear to flow top-down. There is no parent company on file; HealthSource appears independently owned, with CEO Chris Tomshack, D.C. and Executive Vice President Lisa Tomshack holding key leadership roles. Vendors should approach this as a single-entity sale, not a multi-owner negotiation.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1. Chris Tomshack, D.C. serves as Chief Executive Officer and Chairman, making him the ultimate decision-maker for system-wide technology mandates. Cris Casazza, Chief Operating Officer, is the most likely day-to-day buyer for operational software. Kristen Wallace, Chief Financial Officer, will control budget and contract approvals. Nicole Gleason-Hughes, Director of Operations, likely evaluates tools that affect clinic workflow. Lisa Tomshack, Executive Vice President and Treasurer, rounds out the leadership group. No dedicated CIO or VP of Technology is named, which suggests technology purchasing is handled within the operations and finance functions rather than through a separate IT organization.

This is a concentrated buying center. A vendor pitch should address operational ROI for Casazza and Gleason-Hughes while meeting the financial scrutiny of Wallace. Chris Tomshack’s involvement signals that major technology changes require CEO-level buy-in.

Mandated and current tech stack

HealthSource Chiropractic mandates three systems across its network: the HealthSource intranet, the HealthSource on-line library, and HSWorx. These are named in the FDD as required platforms, but no third-party vendor names are associated with them—they appear to be proprietary or white-labeled solutions built specifically for the franchise system. This creates a walled-garden tech environment. Franchisees cannot independently adopt alternative practice management, EHR, or patient communication tools unless the franchisor approves or mandates a change.

For software vendors, the opportunity lies in identifying gaps the proprietary stack does not fill. Patient acquisition, reputation management, advanced billing analytics, or compliance automation are potential entry points. Any solution must integrate with or sit alongside HSWorx and the intranet, and the sales conversation must start at HQ, not with individual clinic owners.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—designated supplier, approved supplier, or open market—is not publicly disclosed. In practice, the mandate of proprietary systems indicates a closed procurement environment. Vendors should assume that all technology purchasing requires franchisor approval and that unsolicited franchisee-level adoption is not permitted.

Renewal terms provide a potential timing signal. Franchise agreements run 10 years, and the franchisor must notify franchisees of renewal eligibility at least six months before expiration. Franchisees must then refurbish their premises, correct any operational deficiencies, and sign the then-current franchise agreement, which may include materially different terms. This renewal process could trigger technology upgrades or new system mandates, but with only 129 units and negative unit growth, the volume of renewals in any given year is small. Vendors should monitor for system-wide technology initiatives rather than relying on renewal-driven sales cycles.

How to read the HealthSource Chiropractic FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Item 1 lists the executives who control purchasing. Item 11 details the mandated intranet, online library, and HSWorx platforms. Item 17 outlines the 10-year renewal process and the conditions franchisees must meet, including signing a general release of claims and accepting potentially different contract terms. The absence of an Item 8 extract means the procurement rules are not publicly detailed in this filing. Use the FDD to validate the decision-maker names, the technology mandates, and the unit economics before building a pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

HealthSource Chiropractic, answered from the filing

CEO Chris Tomshack, D.C. and COO Cris Casazza are the top executives listed in the 2026 FDD. Director of Operations Nicole Gleason-Hughes likely influences operational tools, while CFO Kristen Wallace controls budget approvals.
The FDD mandates three systems: the HealthSource intranet, the HealthSource on-line library, and HSWorx. No third-party POS or practice management vendor is named, suggesting these are proprietary or white-labeled solutions.
129 franchised units as of the 2026 FDD. Company-owned units are not disclosed. The system shrank by 2.3% year-over-year, so the addressable base may continue to contract slightly.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier vs. approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should assume HQ controls or strongly influences all technology purchasing decisions.
Franchise terms run 10 years, with renewal eligibility assessed six months before expiration. Given the -2.3% unit trend, renewal-driven tech evaluations may be limited. New system-wide mandates can be introduced at any time by HQ.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below this page.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

HealthSource Chiropractic2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment HealthSource Chiropractic files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

188 operators run 189 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit187
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

MN26
TX20
AL16
NC12
FL11

Ownership

The portfolio behind HealthSource Chiropractic

unknown of zcs holdings.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.