From the filings

+12.36% units YoYHQ-led decisions

The Joint Chiropractic

Personal services

Software purchasing at The Joint Chiropractic is controlled at the corporate level, with a mandated proprietary office management system and POS software required for all locations. The franchise operates 935 total units (800 franchised, 135 company-owned) across the US, with a heavy concentration in Florida, California, and Georgia. For software vendors, this represents a sizable, centralized addressable market with clear technology mandates and a known C-suite led by Chief Technology Officer Charles Nelles.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
935
800 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+12.36%
vs prior filing
AUV
$615K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$254K–$521K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

10%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 10% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 3%. Total 10% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Esri
Industry softwareItem 12

te and (b) you sign the lease or purchase contract for the premises. Your territory will include between 10,000 and 25,000 households, as determined according to data generated by ArcGIS mapping and a

FranConnect
Proprietary systemItem 6

month on 30 days’ notice) not include amounts you pay to third-party suppliers. Our current technology fee covers a license to use our office management software as well as AXIS, FranConnect, MicroStr

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent unlimited access to all of this data and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No later than the 30th day of each month, you must prepare and send us: (a) a profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the preceding calendar month; and (b) a year-to- date profit and loss statement and balance sheet.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are currently the exclusive designated supplier for: (a) the clinic design services provided in exchange for the clinic design fee; and (b) our proprietary office management software that we license to you as part of the Technology Fee.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

The NFAB (discussed further below) is a franchisee advisory council that advises us on marketing and advertising matters, among other things.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may change the components of the Technology Systems from time to time, including your computer system.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

6614846

Item 8

During that year, we received $6,614,846 in revenue as a result of purchases or leases made by company-owned and franchised Clinics of goods and services from designated or approved suppliers (including purchases from us, Technology Fees, clinic design fees and supplier rebates), which represents 5.6% of our total…

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may receive rebates, payments or other material benefits from suppliers based on franchisee purchases and we have no obligation to pass them on to our franchisees or use them in any particular manner.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

15

Item 8

We estimate nearly 30% of the total purchases and leases to establish your Clinic and 15% of ongoing operating expenses will consist of source-restricted goods or services, as further described below.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase or lease a source-restricted item from a non-approved supplier, you must send us a written request for approval and submit all additional information we request.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You are responsible for knowing and complying with PCI DSS, as updated from time to time.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For quality control purposes we may: (a) periodically inspect your Clinic in accordance with §7.4 and §17.1; (b) engage the services of a “mystery shopper” or quality assurance firm to inspect your Clinic; and/or (c) implement patient satisfaction surveys or comparable programs, in which case you must provide your…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We can modify the Manual at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must identify and obtain our acceptance of the site for your Clinic.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Under current policy you may not: (a) develop, host, or otherwise maintain any website (other than the local webpage we provide) or other digital presence relating to your Clinic, including any website bearing our Marks;

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend a minimum of $20,000 on approved local marketing and advertising activities in accordance with your approved grand opening marketing plan.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Commencing with your Clinic’s opening date, you must spend a monthly amount equal to or greater than your Local Advertising Commitment on approved local advertising.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must fully participate and implement all required loyalty, rewards and other affinity programs designed to increase customer loyalty, generate new customers or improve overall demand for and utilization of the services offered by Clinics.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If your Clinic is located within a region subject to an advertising cooperative you must: (a) participate in the cooperative according to its rules and procedures and abide by its decisions; and (b) pay a cooperative advertising fee.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

All chiropractic and other professional equipment and supplies must meet our standards and specifications and be purchased only from suppliers we designate or approve.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the credit card processing company we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must sign an ACH Authorization Form (attached to the Franchise Agreement as ATTACHMENT "E") permitting us to electronically debit your designated bank account for all amounts owed to us and our affiliates (other than fees due less than 15 days after signing the Franchise Agreement).

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in any gift card program we establish and honor all gift cards, even if purchased from us or another Clinic.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At all times during normal business hours, either the Managing Owner or a trained General Manager must be present at the Clinic to provide onsite management and supervision.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Your employees must wear the uniforms we require.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We currently require that you license our proprietary office management software (which also serves as your point-of-sale system and electronic health records management system) exclusively from us.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent unlimited access to all of this data and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderGrowth 500 999

HQ committee: CEO/President + VP Ops + IT/CIO + Franchise + procurement involved.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at The Joint Chiropractic

The Joint Chiropractic operates 935 total clinics across the United States, with 800 franchised and 135 company-owned locations as reported in the 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document. The system grew units by 12.36% year-over-year, signaling an expanding footprint for software vendors targeting multi-location health services. Average unit volume sits at $615,487, and the franchise commands a 7% royalty on gross sales. With 147 mapped operators—53 of whom are multi-unit—and a unit-band split that includes 29 operators with 25 or more locations, the network combines centralized control with a significant multi-unit owner base. Top states by clinic count are Florida (263), California (107), Georgia (55), Maryland (54), and New York (52). For a SaaS vendor, the addressable market is the full 935-unit system, but the buying center is unmistakably at headquarters.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology purchasing authority rests with the corporate leadership team in Scottsdale, Arizona. The 2024 FDD lists Charles Nelles as Chief Technology Officer, making him the most direct buyer for any software pitch. The executive roster also includes President and CEO Sanjiv Razdan, CFO Jake Singleton, CMO Lori Abou Habib, and SVP of Franchise Sales and Development Eric Simon. This C-suite concentration means vendors must navigate a headquarters-driven evaluation process. While the FDD does not detail a formal IT procurement committee, the presence of a dedicated CTO and mandated technology stack indicates that software decisions are not left to individual franchisees. Multi-unit operators—29 of whom control 25 or more locations—may influence preferences, but the franchisor sets the standard.

Mandated and current tech stack

The Joint Chiropractic mandates two categories of technology for all locations: office management software and POS software. Both are described as proprietary systems in the FDD, though the filing does not name the specific vendor or internal product name. This proprietary mandate means the franchisor has already built or commissioned custom tools for core clinic operations and payment processing. For outside software vendors, the opportunity lies in adjacent or complementary solutions—think patient engagement, scheduling optimization, business intelligence, or compliance tools—that can integrate with a closed core stack. Any pitch must acknowledge the existing mandated systems and demonstrate how a new tool layers on top without disrupting the proprietary backbone.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract detailing procurement or supply chain rules, so the formal supplier designation process remains undisclosed. However, the technology mandates in Item 11 strongly suggest a designated-supplier or franchisor-controlled model. Franchise agreements carry an initial term of 10 years, and renewal conditions are explicit: franchisees must sign the then-current form of agreement, pay a renewal fee, execute a general release, and—critically—upgrade furniture, fixtures, and equipment to current standards, including a clinic redesign and remodel. This renewal trigger, combined with a 10-year term, creates natural windows where technology refreshes may be required or negotiated. Vendors should monitor unit opening cohorts and renewal cycles in high-density states like Florida and California to time outreach.

How to read the The Joint Chiropractic FDD

The 2024 FDD is the definitive source for understanding this franchise’s technology mandates, executive structure, and unit economics. Item 1 identifies the leadership team and ownership structure—no parent company is on file, indicating independent ownership. Item 11 contains the mandated technology disclosures, though vendor names are withheld. Item 17 outlines renewal terms and the remodel obligation that can drive tech upgrades. For software vendors, the FDD confirms a centralized, CTO-led buying process, a proprietary core stack, and a 935-unit system with concentrated multi-unit ownership. Review the embedded PDF below for the full legal text, and when you are ready to prioritize franchise targets by tech fit and decision-maker access, FranCloud can help you build a ranked list.

Questions vendors ask

The Joint Chiropractic, answered from the filing

The Chief Technology Officer, Charles Nelles, leads technology decisions. The executive team also includes the CEO, CFO, and CMO, indicating a centralized HQ buying process.
The FDD mandates proprietary office management software and POS software. Specific vendor or system names beyond these categories are not disclosed in the 2024 filing.
There are 935 total units: 800 franchised and 135 company-owned. Top states include Florida (263), California (107), and Georgia (55).
The 2024 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so designated vs. approved supplier status is not publicly disclosed. Assume HQ-controlled purchasing given tech mandates.
Franchise agreements run 10 years. Renewal conditions require upgrades to furniture, fixtures, equipment, and clinic design to current standards, creating periodic refresh opportunities tied to lease and term cycles.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below for full Item 11 tech disclosures and executive details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Joint Chiropractic2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Joint Chiropractic files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

872 operators run 1,636 mapped locations. 53 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit819
25+ units29
2–9 units24

Top states by locations

FL331
TX177
CA177
GA105
MD67

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.