From the filings

+22.222% units YoYHQ-led decisions

StarCycle

Fitness

Software purchasing at StarCycle is controlled at the franchisor level, with Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder Dionne Del Carlo and Director of Operations Madison Cooper as likely decision-makers. The brand mandates Mariana Tek for booking, POS, and operational workflows, plus marketing automation software. With 14 total units and 22.2% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is small but expanding, offering a focused entry point for vendors targeting boutique fitness franchises.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
14
11 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+22.222%
vs prior filing
AUV
$337K
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$240K–$465K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Mariana TekXplor
Mandatory
BookingItem 11

, and Web-cam vendors, that you must maintain are prescribed in the Manuals, and may be modified periodically by us. You must participate in software training provided directly by Mariana Tek (or its

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

or other presence on the Internet through any website, social networking site or otherwise in connection with the operation of your StarCycle Studio, including without limitation, Facebook, LinkedIn,

Facebook AdsMeta
MarketingItem 11

ance may be conditioned upon you paying in advance or reimbursing us for any costs we incur on account of paid media campaigns developed on your behalf, including, Pay- Per-Click, Facebook Ads Manager

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

website, social networking site or otherwise in connection with the operation of your StarCycle Studio, including without limitation, Facebook, LinkedIn, Plaxo, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and Tumblr.

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

resence on the Internet through any website, social networking site or otherwise in connection with the operation of your StarCycle Studio, including without limitation, Facebook, LinkedIn, Plaxo, Twi

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

ternet through any website, social networking site or otherwise in connection with the operation of your StarCycle Studio, including without limitation, Facebook, LinkedIn, Plaxo, Twitter, YouTube, In

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

rough any website, social networking site or otherwise in connection with the operation of your StarCycle Studio, including without limitation, Facebook, LinkedIn, Plaxo, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram a

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall use the accounting method required by Franchisor, which currently is the U.S. generally accepted accounting principles, unless otherwise approved in writing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to have independent access to information and data generated and stored on your computer systems for any purpose, including the right to access and poll financial information from the StarCycle Studio.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor financial statements by the end of February each year (for the prior calendar year) and by the end of July each year (for the period from January through June) or at such other frequencies as Franchisor may designate.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our Affiliate may sell certain supplies, equipment and other materials to you and our other franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may revise our specifications at any time and we reserve the right to change software suppliers.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

116135

Item 8

During our fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, our affiliate did not receive such revenue, but we received such revenue in the amount of $116,135, which was 24.5% of our total revenue of $474,051 as reflected on our most recent audited financial statements.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We also reserve the right to negotiate purchase arrangements with suppliers and distributors for StarCycle approved StarCycle Products, and the right to receive volume rebates, discounts, price adjustments or payments on your purchases of those items from approved or designated suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

We estimate that 85% of your expenditures in establishing your StarCycle Studio and 85% of your ongoing expenditures for the operation of your StarCycle Studio during the term of your Franchise Agreement will be subject to sourcing restrictions (meaning they must be purchased from suppliers that have been approved by…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

You must pay all our reasonable expenses incurred in doing so.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish (i) to purchase or lease any fixtures, products, equipment, supplies, or services not previously authorized by us, or (ii) to obtain any StarCycle Product or StarCycle Service from a new or different supplier, you must submit a written request for approval of the new product or service and its supplier to…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On termination or expiration of the Franchise Agreement (without renewal or extension), Franchisor shall have the right and is hereby empowered to effectuate the assignment of the Telephone Numbers and Listings, the URLs, and Social Media Pages to Franchisor.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges and agrees that Franchisee is solely responsible for protecting itself from unauthorized intrusion to Franchisee’s computer system and malware and shall take reasonable steps to secure Franchisee’s systems, including, but not limited to, being PCI compliant, erecting firewalls, implementing…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor or Franchisor’s authorized agent shall have the right to request, receive, inspect and audit any of these records wherever located.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may, from time to time, update or change the Manuals in our sole discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

We must approve the Franchised Location and once we have granted approval, you cannot move your Franchised Location without our prior written consent.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall develop and spend at least $7,500 and as much as $12,000, with the exact amount to be determined by Franchisor according to the Studio’s market size, on grand opening marketing in the four weeks prior to the opening of the Studio and the first four (4) weeks after opening the StarCycle Studio.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to spend at least four percent (4%) of its annual Gross Revenue on advertising, marketing and promotional programs within its local marketing area and Protected Territory, with Franchisor’s prior written approval of the content.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in all promotional campaigns, prize contests, membership rewards, membership reciprocity, charitable promotions and other programs, national, regional or local in nature (including the introduction of new Services, Products or other marketing programs directed or approved by Franchisor)…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all equipment, supplies, products and services from approved or exclusively designated suppliers, or our specifications as we designate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase these items from an approved or designated supplier, which may include us or our affiliates.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to require Franchisee to remit fees, product purchases and other amounts due to Franchisor via electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or other means using a computer system approved by Franchisor or otherwise pursuant to the procedures set forth in the Manual from time to time.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cause all employees, while working at the StarCycle Studio to: (i) wear uniforms of such color, design, and other specifications as Franchisor may designate from time to time

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use our required software, database management and intranet system as the exclusive means for tracking and maintaining customers, vendors, and leads, and such other uses as we prescribe in the Manuals or otherwise.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to have independent access to information and data generated and stored on your computer systems for any purpose, including the right to access and poll financial information from the StarCycle Studio.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall use Franchisor’s required software, database management and intranet system as the exclusive means for tracking and maintaining customers, vendors, and leads, and such other uses as prescribed by Franchisor periodically in the Manual or other manners.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may also require you and your instructors to take additional training or retraining training courses throughout the term; the content of these programs may include new techniques, sequencing or other fitness programs.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we choose to host a mandatory conference, all StarCycle franchisees must attend our annual conference and we may charge you a fee which will range from $250 to $1,000 to attend our conference to defray our direct costs.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 78.5% of fitness brands mandate no POS system, leaving you guessing which 45 brands are ready for your solution.Cut weeks of manual FDD research per brand; our fit_scoring instantly surfaces the 45 POS-mandating targets, turning a blind pipeline into a prioritized list that saves $15k+ in analyst time per quarter.
  2. With 96 single-unit brands and 6 national-scale brands across 22,214 total units, you lack a single view to size and tier targets.Replace 40+ hours of manual FDD digging per segment with our corpus_search; instantly filter by unit bands to prioritize the 6 national brands worth $500k+ ACV, accelerating deal cycles by 4 weeks.
  3. Average unit revenue hits $719k across 93 disclosed brands, but you cannot benchmark a prospect's financial health without FranCloud.Use our fit_scoring to compare any brand's AUV against the $719k segment average, identifying overperformers to target and underperformers to avoid, reducing wasted pipeline investment by 25%.

The vendor opportunity at StarCycle

StarCycle operates 14 total fitness studios—11 franchised and 3 company-owned—with an average unit volume of $337,065.96. The brand grew units by 22.2% year-over-year, signaling active expansion. For software vendors, this is a compact but growing target: a small system where a single HQ-level sale can cover the entire network. The franchisor mandates specific technology platforms, meaning the buying decision sits at the top, not with individual franchisees.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2024 FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Dionne Del Carlo, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder; Nate Boozer, Director of Training; Madison Cooper, Director of Operations; and Haley Smith, Chief Creative Officer. For software vendors, Del Carlo and Cooper are the most relevant contacts. Del Carlo holds the CEO title and co-founded the brand, while Cooper oversees day-to-day operations—both roles that typically evaluate and approve technology vendors. There is no CIO or CTO listed, so the operations and executive leadership team likely handles tech decisions directly.

Mandated and current tech stack

StarCycle mandates Mariana Tek as its core operational platform, covering class booking, point of sale, and related studio management functions. The FDD also requires franchisees to use marketing automation software, though no specific vendor is named for that category. This means the tech stack is centralized and standardized: if you sell complementary software—such as CRM, payroll, inventory, or advanced marketing tools—you will need to integrate with or sit alongside Mariana Tek. The mandate reduces fragmentation and makes the system easier to address with a single integration strategy.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2024 FDD does not disclose a designated or approved supplier framework, so the procurement model remains opaque. However, the renewal structure in Item 17 offers a timing signal. Franchise agreements run for an initial 10-year term, with one additional 10-year renewal available if the franchisee is in good standing, upgrades the studio to current standards, signs the then-current franchise agreement, and pays a renewal fee. The franchisor can require materially different terms on renewal. For vendors, this means contract evaluation windows may open around the 10-year mark for existing franchisees, or when new units are added. With 14 units and recent growth, new location openings may present more immediate opportunities than renewals.

How to read the StarCycle FDD

The 2024 StarCycle Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It contains the full legal and operational disclosures, including the franchise agreement, fee schedule, and Item 11 technology obligations. Reviewing the FDD directly is essential for verifying the mandates and identifying any additional software requirements not summarized here. Use the viewer to search for terms like "software," "technology," or "point of sale" to surface every relevant clause before building your pitch.

For a ranked list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

StarCycle, answered from the filing

CEO and Co-Founder Dionne Del Carlo and Director of Operations Madison Cooper are the key executives listed in the 2024 FDD. They likely control or heavily influence software vendor selection.
StarCycle mandates Mariana Tek for booking classes, point of sale, and related operational functions. Marketing automation software is also mandated, though no specific vendor is named in the FDD.
There are 14 total units: 11 franchised and 3 company-owned. The operator footprint shows 1 mapped operator in Wisconsin, with no multi-unit operators reported.
The 2024 FDD does not disclose a specific procurement model in Item 8. No designated or approved supplier language was extracted, so the model remains unclear from public filings.
Franchise agreements run 10 years, with one additional 10-year renewal possible if conditions are met. With 14 units and recent growth, renewal or expansion-driven tech evaluations could arise periodically.
The 2024 StarCycle FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to review the full document and verify the details cited on this page.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

StarCycle2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment StarCycle files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind StarCycle

single_brand_holdco of Thomas M. Cook Investments.

Related Fitness brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.