From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Scissors & Scotch Franchising

Personal services

Software purchasing at Scissors & Scotch Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by the Co-Founders and Managing Members, including Erik Anderson, Tanner Wiles, and Sean Finley. The franchise mandates FranConnect by FranConnect for its operational technology stack. The addressable market is currently limited, with only 1 mapped operator across approximately 1 located unit, concentrated in Wisconsin.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
0
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
—
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
—
per unit
Investment range
$182K–$499K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

2%+of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 2% of gross sales (FY2023)Ad fund 2%. Total 2% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 2%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent, unlimited access to the information generated by the Computer System, within the reasonable limitations of the underlying hardware and software.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase pre-selected construction materials, furniture, fixtures and equipment from our affiliate, S&SD, the only approved Supplier of the Custom Package Items.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to change the Computer System at any time.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates have the right to receive rebates, discounts, payments or other material consideration from suppliers on account of their actual or prospective dealings with us and our franchisees and to use all revenue we or our affiliates receive to benefit S&S in our sole judgment.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

5

Item 8

In the operation of the Franchised Business, we estimate that the percentage of purchase or lease of products and services from required suppliers will range from 5% to 15% of your total operating costs.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a reasonable fee for the inspection and evaluation (see Item 6) based on our actual costs and expenses of evaluating your proposal and will decide within a reasonable time (no more than 60 days).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to either (i) offer any products or services in connection with your Barbershop that are not Approved Products and Services; or (ii) purchase any item or service we require you to purchase from an Approved Supplier from an alternative supplier, you must submit samples and other information we request to…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

hereby conditionally assign to Assignee all telephone numbers, facsimile numbers, domain names, as well as any listings associated therewith, utilized by Assignor in the operation of its area representative business

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You must comply with all payment card infrastructure (“PCI”) industry and government security standards and requirements designed to protect cardholder data.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

S&S’S RIGHT TO INSPECT THE PREMISES

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to modify the Operations Manual to reflect changes in products, services, specifications, standards and operating procedures, including marketing techniques.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You must operate the Franchised Business only at the approved location and may not relocate the Franchised Business without first obtaining our written consent, which will not be unreasonably withheld.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or maintain a website, landing page, mobile or internet-based application (or any comparable future developed technology), unapproved social media profile or other presence on the Internet relating to the Franchised Business or referring to the Licensed Marks.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You will be required to incur the Pre-Opening Digital Advertising Expenditures during the three months immediately before the opening of your Barbershop (the “Initial Marketing Period”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

During the eighteen (18) month period immediately after the day your Barbershop opens for business, you must spend at least $4,000 per month on the Post-Opening Digital Advertising Program, and after the 18- month anniversary of the opening of your Barbershop, you must continue to spend a minimum of two percent (2%)…

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You will be required to participate in all customer loyalty, customer feedback, or other promotional programs that we designate.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative has been established for a geographic area where your Franchised Business is located when the Franchise Agreement is signed, or if any Cooperative is established during the term of the Franchise Agreement, you must sign all documents we request and become a member of the Cooperative according to the…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase certain products used in the operation of your Barbershop, from our affiliate, S&S Products.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase pre-selected construction materials, furniture, fixtures and equipment from our affiliate, S&SD, the only approved Supplier of the Custom Package Items.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We will auto-debit your bank account (known as “ACH”) for all fees you are required to pay us under the Franchise Agreement.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

You must offer our gift cards and participate in our designated gift card program in your Barbershop (if and when established), in accordance with all of our standards and specifications, including the process and procedure for redeeming gift cards among Barbershops for purposes of determining Gross Sales at your…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase certain computer hardware and software for your Franchised Barbershop. The computer hardware and software will be used as your Point of Sale (POS) system for your Franchised Barbershop and will be configured by designated vendors.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent, unlimited access to the information generated by the Computer System, within the reasonable limitations of the underlying hardware and software.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

We may charge a fee or tuition of $500 per trainer per day for Remedial Training and you are responsible for all training-related expenses, including travel, lodging, and dining expenses for these individuals and wages and salaries payable during training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

We may conduct annual franchisee conventions at a location designated by us, and up to two (2) Key Personnel, as required by us, must attend such conventions at your cost, including paying any registration fees we charge.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at Scissors & Scotch

Scissors & Scotch Franchising presents a nascent opportunity for software vendors. The franchise, part of S & S Franchise Holdings, LLC, operates in the personal services sector with its headquarters in Kansas. The disclosed operator footprint is minimal: 1 mapped operator across approximately 1 located unit, with no multi-unit operators on file. The single unit is located in Wisconsin. Total unit counts, franchised versus company-owned splits, and year-over-year unit growth are not disclosed in the most recent FDD. For a vendor, this means the immediate addressable market is extremely small, but the presence of a mandated technology stack signals a centralized, HQ-driven approach to software procurement that could scale if the franchise grows.

Who controls software purchasing

Decision-making authority rests with the Co-Founders and Managing Members named in Item 1 of the 2023 FDD: Erik Anderson, Tanner Wiles, and Sean Finley. Operational leadership includes Kyle Raney, Vice President of Operations and Support, and Brandi Busboom, Director of Grooming Operations. Given the mandate of FranConnect, any software pitch should be directed at this HQ team, as they control the technology standards that franchisees must follow. The single-unit operator footprint reinforces that there is no multi-unit operator class with independent purchasing power.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD explicitly mandates FranConnect by FranConnect. No other POS, scheduling, or operational systems are named as required or recommended. This creates a clear integration or displacement target for vendors offering complementary or alternative solutions. If you sell software that competes with or integrates into FranConnect, your path runs directly through the HQ leadership team.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Procurement rules under Item 8 are not disclosed in the available extract. However, the renewal process outlined in Item 17 provides a potential window for technology evaluation. The initial franchise term is 10 years. To renew, franchisees must give between 6 and 12 months' notice, repair and update equipment and premises, and execute the then-current Franchise Agreement. That agreement may contain materially different terms, including new fees or increased marketing expenditures. This renewal trigger could force franchisees to adopt new software mandated by HQ, creating a predictable, if infrequent, sales cycle tied to the original agreement dates.

How to read the Scissors & Scotch FDD

The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding the legal and operational constraints on technology adoption within this system. The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full filing. Key items for software vendors include Item 1 (the business and its leadership), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), Item 11 (the mandated FranConnect system), and Item 17 (renewal and transfer conditions that can force technology refreshes). Review these sections to map the buying center and compliance requirements before engaging the HQ team. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Scissors & Scotch Franchising, answered from the filing

The Co-Founders and Managing Members—Erik Anderson, Tanner Wiles, and Sean Finley—are the key decision-makers. Operational leadership includes Kyle Raney, VP of Operations and Support, and Brandi Busboom, Director of Grooming Operations.
The 2023 FDD mandates FranConnect by FranConnect. No other specific POS or operational systems are named as required or recommended in the disclosure.
The exact total unit count is not disclosed. The operator footprint shows 1 mapped operator across approximately 1 located unit, with a presence in Wisconsin.
The procurement model is not detailed in the provided FDD extract. Item 8, which typically outlines designated or approved supplier requirements, contains no extractable signal.
Franchise agreements have a 10-year initial term. Renewals require 6-12 months' notice, during which franchisees must sign the then-current agreement, potentially triggering new technology or fee requirements.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full disclosure details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Scissors & Scotch Franchising2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Scissors & Scotch Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Scissors & Scotch Franchising

single_brand_holdco of Scissors & Scotch.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.