From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Monarch Boudoir Franchise

Personal services

Software purchasing at Monarch Boudoir Franchise is controlled at the headquarters level, given the franchisor’s mandate of multiple specific technology systems. The brand currently operates only 2 company-owned units, with no franchised locations disclosed in the 2023 FDD, making this a very small addressable market. The mandated tech stack includes Adobe Creative Cloud, a proprietary Monarch CRM, Stripe for payments, and several niche photography tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
—
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$32K
per unit
Investment range
$57K–$108K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

1%+of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 1% of gross sales (FY2023)Ad fund 1%. Total 1% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

PixelluPixellu
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 8

m Adobe Systems Incorporated, Mountain View, California, 800-915-9428 Portraiture Skin Smoothing Software from Imagenomic, LLC.; https://www.imagenomic.com/ Album Design software: Pixellu, LLC. https:

StripeStripe
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 8

lu, LLC. https://www.pixellu.com/ Cloud Storage: Mega.io, Mega Limited, Level 21, Huawei Centre, 120 Albert St, Auckland, New Zealand, business@mega.nz Electronic Funds Processor: Stripe, https://stri

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

You are not permitted to promote your Outlet or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as which includes but is not limited to, Facebook, Instagram,

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

ot permitted to promote your Outlet or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as which includes but is not limited to, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

site established or authorized by us (“social media” includes but is not limited to personal blogs, common social networks like Facebook, and Instagram, professional networks like LinkedIn, live-blogg

TikTokTikTok
MarketingItem 11

utlet or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as which includes but is not limited to, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok or Twitter, w

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

se any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as which includes but is not limited to, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok or Twitter, without our

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

te your Outlet or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as which includes but is not limited to, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok or T

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to require that Franchisee make available its sales records and files by way of an Internet connection.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must submit to Franchisor current financial statements and other reports as Franchisor may reasonably request to evaluate or compile research data on any operational aspect of the Franchise.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We require that you utilize our Studio Support Services, which includes Monarch CRM, Monarch Checkout System, Dark Glamour Basic editing, Custom Edits/Change Requests, and Design/Order/Fulfillment Services.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may negotiate purchase arrangements with other suppliers and distributors for the benefit of our Franchisees in the future and we may receive rebates or volume discounts from our purchase of equipment and supplies that we resell to you.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

15

Item 8

and will represent from 15% and 20% of your ongoing expenses.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to purchase required items from another supplier, or items that we have not specifically approved prior to your use in the Outlet, you may request our “Supplier Approval Criteria and Request Form.”

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right to observe Franchisee and its customers/clients rendering services, to confer with Franchisee’s employees and customers/clients and to generally review the Outlet operations for compliance with the standards and procedures set forth in the Manual.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may periodically update and revise the Manual.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

MMF will approve or disapprove your site within 30 days after we receive notice of the site from you.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain your own website; otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the internet or any other mode of electronic commerce in connection with your Outlet; establish a link to any website we establish at or from any other website or page; or at any time establish any other website, electronic commerce…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to spend a minimum of five hundred dollars ($500) per month for the first 6 months of operation, then one thousand dollars ($1,000) per month for each subsequent month of operation on local advertising and promotion.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to spend a minimum of five hundred dollars ($500) per month for the first 6 months of operation, then one thousand dollars ($1,000) per month for each subsequent month of operation on local advertising and promotion.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

We will notify you in writing of the Regional Advertising Cooperative for your area that you must join and the amount of your advertising cooperative contributions.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You are not permitted to use any other vendors for these items.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

you will be required to purchase specific software and electronic funds processing systems from the following vendors. You are not permitted to use any other vendors for these items.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

you will be required to purchase specific software and electronic funds processing systems from the following vendors. You are not permitted to use any other vendors for these items.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must sign an Authorization for Electronic Withdrawal, set forth as Attachment II, and Franchisor may require Franchisee to submit any payments electronically.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We require that you utilize our Studio Support Services, which includes Monarch CRM, Monarch Checkout System, Dark Glamour Basic editing, Custom Edits/Change Requests, and Design/Order/Fulfillment Services.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We require that you utilize our Studio Support Services, which includes Monarch CRM, Monarch Checkout System, Dark Glamour Basic editing, Custom Edits/Change Requests, and Design/Order/Fulfillment Services.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

From time to time, Franchisor may require Franchisee’s attendance at additional training and/or refresher training courses.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Once we sell ten (10) Franchises, we will hold mandatory annual regional or national conferences to discuss on-going changes in the industry, operational techniques, developments, personnel training, bookkeeping, accounting, advertising programs and new service procedures. You are required to attend these conferences.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 68.6% of brands mandate no accounting system, meaning 93 brands are ripe for displacement, but I lack the unit-count and financial context to prioritize them.Focusing on the wrong 10 brands costs a rep 2+ deals per quarter. FranCloud's fit_scoring layers AUV and unit growth onto tech gaps, so reps chase only the 93 with real revenue potential.
  3. Even when I know which brands to target, I can't get reliable decision-maker contacts for the 277 brands with disclosed unit counts.SDRs spend 5+ hours/week hunting contacts. FranCloud's contact_enrichment delivers verified contacts in-line, saving 260 hours/year per rep and adding 15% more meetings.

The vendor opportunity at Monarch Boudoir

Monarch Boudoir Franchise presents an extremely limited addressable market for software vendors. According to the 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of just 2 company-owned units, with no franchised locations disclosed. The brand operates in the personal services segment, with a headquarters in New York. Average unit volume and royalty rates are not disclosed in the FDD. For a software vendor, the total potential deal size here is capped at a single headquarters relationship plus, at most, two operating locations. This is not a volume play; it is a niche, high-touch account where any software sale would need to justify itself against a deeply entrenched mandated stack.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD does not list any headquarters executives by name in Item 1, so the specific buyer—whether a founder, operations lead, or technical decision-maker—is not publicly identified. However, the franchisor’s control over technology is unambiguous. Seven systems are mandated for franchisees, which signals that all software evaluation, procurement, and deployment decisions are centralized at the franchisor level. There is no indication of multi-unit operator autonomy or franchisee-led purchasing. Any vendor pitch must reach the New York headquarters and the individual who owns the Monarch CRM and Money Collection Systems relationship.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD mandates a tightly integrated suite of software. For payment processing and financial operations, Stripe by Stripe, Inc. and Monarch Money Collection Systems are required. Customer relationship management runs on the proprietary Monarch CRM. The brand’s photography and post-production workflow relies on Adobe Creative Cloud, Pixellu, Portraiture Skin Smoothing Software, and Pro Select. This stack covers payments, CRM, financial management, and the entire image capture-to-delivery pipeline. A vendor selling adjacent tools—such as scheduling, marketing automation, or business intelligence—would need to integrate with or displace one of these mandated systems, a high bar given the franchisor’s apparent preference for a controlled, uniform technology environment.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open market—is not disclosed. In practice, the extensive mandates suggest a closed, franchisor-designated model. The franchise agreement runs for an initial term of 10 years, with a single 10-year renewal available to franchisees in good standing. The renewal conditions explicitly state that the franchisor may require a new Franchise Agreement with materially different terms, though the territory boundaries remain unchanged and the continuing royalty will not exceed what similarly situated renewing franchisees pay. This renewal trigger, occurring at the 10-year mark, represents the most likely window for a technology stack review or renegotiation. With only 2 units and no disclosed growth rate, however, the cadence of such opportunities is minimal.

How to read the Monarch Boudoir FDD

The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document for Monarch Boudoir Franchise. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11, which details the franchisor’s obligations and the mandated technology systems, and Item 17, which outlines renewal and termination conditions that can signal when contracts might open. Item 1 identifies the franchisor entity and any parent companies—here, none are listed, indicating an independently owned brand. Because the FDD does not disclose unit-level economics or an operator footprint beyond the 2 company-owned locations, vendors should approach this as a single-account research exercise rather than a scalable market. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize based on unit counts, tech mandates, and decision-maker access.

Questions vendors ask

Monarch Boudoir Franchise, answered from the filing

The FDD does not name specific executives, but given the centralized mandate of seven specific software systems, purchasing decisions are clearly made at the franchisor’s headquarters level.
The 2023 FDD mandates Stripe by Stripe, Inc. for payment processing, Monarch CRM for customer management, and Monarch Money Collection Systems for financial operations, alongside several photography-specific tools.
As of the 2023 FDD, there are only 2 company-owned units. The number of franchised units is not disclosed, suggesting the franchise system is in very early stages.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated vs. approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed. The extensive tech mandates suggest a closed, franchisor-controlled procurement environment.
With a 10-year initial term and a single 10-year renewal option, contract windows are infrequent. The renewal requires a new agreement, which could trigger a tech stack review, but no recent activity signals are available.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF below to review the full technology mandates, renewal conditions, and other vendor-relevant disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Monarch Boudoir Franchise2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Monarch Boudoir Franchise files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

NY2

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.