From the filings

HQ-led decisions

THE NOW

Personal services

Software purchasing at THE NOW is controlled at the corporate level, with key decision-makers including CEO Jason Post and VP of Marketing Kendra Spencer. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. With 79 total units—75 franchised and 4 company-owned—and an average unit volume of $1,367,376, the addressable market is compact but high-value for vendors targeting premium personal-services franchises.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
79
75 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.37M
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$486K–$849K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

or other presence on the Internet, or otherwise advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook, Instagram,

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

resence on the Internet, or otherwise advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

the Internet, or otherwise advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Instagram,

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

rwise advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Instagram, Pinterest, X, YouTub

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

e on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Instagram, Pinterest, X, YouTube or any other

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may, without notice to Franchisee, have the right to independently and remotely access and view and access any (a) business management, POS, payment processing or other software that Franchisor requires or designates for use in connection with the Franchised Business, and/or (b) any other component of the…

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must provide Franchisor with the following reports and information, all of which must be certified as true and correct by Franchisee and in the form and manner prescribed by Franchisor: (i) a signed Gross Sales Report as described in Section 4 of this Agreement on or before Monday of each week; (ii) on or…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

As of June 30, 2025, we or our affiliate(s) are the Approved Supplier for: (i) the Business Management System and services provided as part of ongoing Technology Fee; (ii) the services provided in connection with your Digital Marketing Requirement; (iii) the Initial Marketing Kit and certain ongoing inventory; and…

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may update or modify this list in writing at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

6715619

Item 8

For the fiscal year ended June 30, 2025, our revenues from franchisees’ purchases or leases of required products or services were $6,715,619, or 44.35% of our total revenues of $15,143,495, based upon our audited statement for that period.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our parent, Affiliate or other affiliate(s) may receive payments or other compensation from Approved Suppliers or any other suppliers on account of these suppliers’ dealings with us, you, or other Franchised Businesses in the System, such as rebates, commissions or other forms of compensation.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We may, but are not obligated to, grant your request to: (i) offer any products or services in connection with your Franchised Business that are not Approved Products and Services; or (ii) purchase any item or service we require you to purchase from an Approved Supplier from an alternative supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to direct the telephone company servicing Franchisee, per Franchisor’s request, to disconnect the telephone number used in connection with the Franchised Business or transfer such number to Franchisor or to any person or location of Franchisor’s choosing.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must comply with all applicable laws, regulations and rules related to credit card acceptance and processing, including Payment Card Industry (PCI) security standards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor will, as it deems appropriate in its sole discretion, conduct inspections and/or audits of the Franchised Business and, upon 48 hours’ notice, of the Premises to ensure that Franchisee is operating its Franchised Business in compliance with the terms of this Agreement, the Manuals and the System standards…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may from time to time revise the Manuals, and Franchisee agrees to adhere to and abide by all such revisions.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor must approve of Franchisee’s proposed location, as well as the lease for the Premises (the “Lease”) or purchase agreement for the location, prior to Franchisee entering into any such agreement for that location to serve as the Premises of the Franchised Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except as approved in advance in writing by us, you must not establish or maintain a separate website, splash page, profile or other presence on the Internet, or otherwise advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Franchised Business, including any profile on Facebook…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the Local Marketing Requirement, you will be required to expend a minimum of $2,250 in connection with the initial marketing and other necessary activities for you and the personnel of your Franchised Business to be ready to open your Boutique and/or generate clientele/members prior to opening and…

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We require that franchisees spend at least 5% of the Gross Sales of your Franchised Business on local advertising and promotions, of which you must pay us a minimum of $1,000 (“Digital Marketing Requirement”) as consideration for certain digital marketing management and placement services we provide (collectively…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to offer any product or service in your Franchised Business other than our Approved Products and Services, or use any item in connection with your Franchised Business that does not meet our System standards and specifications, then you must obtain our prior written approval as described more fully in this…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(ii) ensure that all Required Items meet Franchisor’s standards and specifications; and (iii) purchase all items Franchisor specifies from the Approved Supplier(s) that Franchise designates, which may include Franchisor or its affiliate(s).

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to offer any product or service in your Franchised Business other than our Approved Products and Services, or use any item in connection with your Franchised Business that does not meet our System standards and specifications, then you must obtain our prior written approval as described more fully in this…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Your Royalty Fee, as well as any other fees payable to us or our affiliates under the Franchise Agreement, may be collected by us via EFT from the bank account you are required to designate solely for use in connection with your Franchised Business (your “EFT Account”).

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must offer our gift card program in your Boutique, and you must purchase these cards from our Approved Supplier.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Your Franchised Business must, at all times, be managed and staffed with at least one (1) individual who has successfully completed our Initial Training Program.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must obtain and use the Computer System hardware, software and other components that Franchisor prescribed for use in connection with the Franchised Business, and utilize and participate in any intranet/extranet that Franchisor establishes in connection with the System.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will also have the right to, at any time without notice, electronically and independently connect with your Computer System to monitor or retrieve data stored on the Computer System (or for any other purpose we deem necessary).

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to specify or require that you use certain brands, types, makes, and/or models of computer hardware and software in connection with the Franchised Business, which currently includes: (i) a computer or laptop that is capable of running all Required Software, including without limitation, the software…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require Franchisee and its designated attendees to pay its then-current training tuition fee in connection with attending additional/refresher training (in addition to Franchisee’s obligation to pay for any expenses incurred).

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must also complete any additional or refresher training the Franchisor is permitted to require Franchisee to attend each year, and Franchisee must attend Franchisor’s annual conference if conducted.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at THE NOW

THE NOW is a personal-services franchise with 79 total units—75 franchised and 4 company-owned—as disclosed in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The system's average unit volume sits at $1,367,376, and franchisees pay a 6% royalty. For software vendors, this represents a concentrated, high-value target: a small number of locations generating above-average revenue per unit, where a single HQ relationship can unlock the entire franchised footprint.

The brand operates without a disclosed parent company and appears independently owned. No operator footprint is mapped in our corpus, meaning multi-unit operators are not identified in the FDD. This structure often means corporate leadership holds tighter control over technology decisions, making the HQ pitch essential.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: Jason Post (Chief Executive Officer), Jeffrey Platt (President), Gara Post (Chief Creative Officer), Glenn Lord (Senior Vice President of Operations), and Kendra Spencer (Vice President of Marketing). For a software vendor, the most likely entry points are the SVP of Operations and the VP of Marketing, who oversee the functional areas where technology investments typically land. The CEO and President are ultimate approvers but are less likely to run a vendor evaluation day-to-day.

No franchisee advisory council or technology committee is disclosed in the FDD, reinforcing a centralized buying model. Vendors should prepare for a top-down sales motion rather than a field-driven adoption strategy.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific technology systems. There is no named POS vendor, no required scheduling platform, and no designated marketing or CRM tool. This absence of mandates is a double-edged signal: it means the system is not locked into a competitor, but it also means vendors must build the business case from scratch rather than displacing an incumbent.

In practice, a brand of this size and AUV likely uses some combination of modern salon or personal-services software, but that information is not captured in the FDD. Vendors should approach discovery calls prepared to map the current stack and identify integration points.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD—which typically outlines procurement restrictions, designated suppliers, and purchasing requirements—was not extracted in our corpus. This means the procurement model is not publicly known. Vendors should ask directly whether the franchisor designates suppliers, maintains an approved-vendor list, or allows open purchasing.

Item 17 provides a clearer signal on timing. Franchisees can renew for two consecutive 10-year periods, provided they meet conditions including facility maintenance, refurnishing, and compliance with operating standards. They must also execute the then-current franchise agreement, which may contain materially different terms. These renewal inflection points—every 10 years—are natural moments when franchisees and the franchisor may reevaluate technology vendors. A vendor that aligns its sales cycle with upcoming renewal cohorts can position itself as part of the modernization conversation.

How to read the THE NOW FDD

The 2026 FDD is embedded below for full reference. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, if present), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and any technology obligations), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because this FDD does not disclose a mandated tech stack, vendors should pay close attention to any operational requirements in Item 11 that imply software needs—such as scheduling, point-of-sale, or customer management—even if no vendor is named.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize the right brands.

Questions vendors ask

THE NOW, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Jason Post (CEO), Jeffrey Platt (President), Gara Post (Chief Creative Officer), Glenn Lord (SVP Operations), and Kendra Spencer (VP Marketing). Marketing and operations leadership are likely buying-center contacts for vendor pitches.
The 2026 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific POS, operational, or technology systems. Vendors should treat this as a greenfield opportunity and inquire directly about current stack preferences.
THE NOW operates 79 total units in the US: 75 franchised and 4 company-owned, according to the 2026 FDD. This is a boutique, high-AUV personal-services franchise system.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier vs. approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should clarify procurement rules during discovery.
Franchisees can renew for two consecutive 10-year periods if they meet conditions including facility updates and compliance. Renewal cycles tied to 10-year terms may create periodic tech evaluation windows.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full disclosure document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

THE NOW2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment THE NOW files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

94 operators run 94 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit94

Top states by locations

CA16
TX11
FL10
IL9
GA6

Ownership

The portfolio behind THE NOW

unknown of the now parent.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.