From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Structural Elements

Health services

Software purchasing at Structural Elements is controlled at the franchisor level, with Douglas Bertram listed as the registered agent in the 2026 FDD. The system already mandates Jane, MyEmma, and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc., leaving a narrow window for complementary tools. With only 3 total units (2 franchised, 1 company-owned), the addressable market is small but concentrated.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
2 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
8%
of gross sales
Ad fund
4%
national + local
Initial fee
$65K
per unit
Investment range
$703K–$1.46M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

12%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 12% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 8%, Ad fund 4%. Total 12% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 8%Ad fund 4%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

JaneJane
Mandatory
BookingItem 11

promote uniformity and quality in your operations and the services you render, we require you to use designated business management system software, currently Weave phone system, Jane which includes E

QuickBooks OnlineIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

ender, we require you to use designated business management system software, currently Weave phone system, Jane which includes EMR, point of sale, and scheduling capabilities, and QuickBooks Online fo

EmmaEmma
MarketingItem 11

rrently Weave phone system, Jane which includes EMR, point of sale, and scheduling capabilities, and QuickBooks Online for accounting software (currently priced at $28 per month). MyEmma is used for e

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

o promote your Franchised Clinic except as a location-specific page through our domain “STRUCTURALELEMENTS.COM.” However, you may utilize social media presence on websites such as Facebook, with our a

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to use designated business management system software, currently Weave phone system, Jane which includes EMR, point of sale, and scheduling capabilities, and QuickBooks Online for accounting software (currently priced at $28 per month).

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will be able to independently access all information that you store through the business management software, for which we will have administrative access rights.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will provide SEF with all financial reports that SEF may reasonably require from time to time in the form prescribed by SEF (the “Financial Reports”), whether specified in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

In the future we or our affiliate may be a supplier or the sole supplier of certain items; however, at this time we are not the only designated supplier for any of the items you need to use in your Franchised Clinic except for (se)® branded retail products and orthotics as described in this disclosure document.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We will provide, in the Manuals or by other written or electronic form, a list of items you will need to purchase for resale or to operate your Franchised Clinic and, if required, a list of one or more Designated Suppliers for some or all of these items which we may revise from time to time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

4238

Item 8

As our last fiscal year ended December 31, 2025, we received $4,238 as a result of purchases made by Unit Franchisees, which was 2.01% of our total revenue of $207,881 for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2025.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

However, we expect to make some profit on items that you purchase through us, and we reserve the right to require third-party suppliers to pay us fees or other consideration for the privilege of being able Structural Elements Unit FDD (2026) 16 81725762v6 to supply products or services to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We charge a $500 fee to review your request for approval of an item, service or supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may make a written request that it be permitted to purchase Inventory from a supplier, or use a product, other than as specified in the Manuals (the “New Supplier Request”).

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

direct all telephone companies, telephone directory publishers, and telephone directory listing agencies (collectively, the “Telephone Companies”) with which Franchisee has Telephone Numbers and Listings: (i) to transfer all Franchisee’s Interest in such Telephone Numbers and Listings to SEF;

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Whether or not SEF designates approved suppliers of these services, Franchisee must comply with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards as they may be revised and modified by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee knowingly maintains false books or Franchisee submits one or more materially false reports to SEF, or Franchisee denies SEF’s authorized representatives access to Franchisee’s books and records during an audit or inspection;

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

SEF may update the Manuals periodically to reflect changes in the System and the operating requirements applicable to the Franchised Clinic, and Franchisee must comply with each requirement within such reasonable time as SEF may require; or if no time is specified, within thirty (30) days after receiving notification…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Must approve the location of the Franchised Clinic.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain a website to promote your Franchised Clinic except as a location-specific page through our domain “STRUCTURALELEMENTS.COM.”

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to spend a minimum of $15,000 on local advertising and promoting the Franchised Clinic within the first 3 months of operations.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall expend monthly at least one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) on local advertising, marketing and promotion (“Minimum Local Marketing Expenditure”).

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your inventory of branded retail products and all orthotics from us or from our designated suppliers, as we specify, including a minimum of $15,000 in inventory prior to opening your franchise.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must use a data storage program, scheduling program and computer hardware that we designate.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

SEF may require that Franchisee maintain credit-card relationships with the credit- and debit-card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial-center services, and electronic-funds-transfer systems that SEF designates as mandatory, and that Franchisee must not use any such services or…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

All periodic fees will be charged by electronic funds transfer (debit) from your bank account, but we reserve the right to change the manner and method of payment for all payments owed to us.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

The Franchised Clinic must always be under the direct full-time supervision of a Designated Manager, which is you if you are an individual, or is an individual you select if you are a business entity.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

To promote uniformity and quality in your operations and the services you render, we require you to use designated business management system software, currently Weave phone system, Jane which includes EMR, point of sale, and scheduling capabilities, and QuickBooks Online for accounting software

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will be able to independently access all information that you store through the business management software, for which we will have administrative access rights.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must use the electronic medical records software designated by SEF

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may also offer one-day regional training sessions, in person or online, three times a year for refresher courses to our franchisees.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Such of Franchisee’s personnel as SEF may require, including Qualified Professionals, must attend annually for up to three (3) days one (1) convention or conference that SEF sponsors or designates.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

The vendor opportunity at Structural Elements

Structural Elements is a health-services franchise with a tiny footprint: 3 total units as of the 2026 FDD, split between 2 franchised locations and 1 company-owned unit. The brand operates in just two states—Virginia (1 unit) and Maryland (1 unit)—with no multi-unit operators on file. For software vendors, this means the total addressable market is 3 units, and growth is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The royalty rate is 8.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Average unit volume (AUV) is not reported.

Given the small unit count, a vendor’s path to revenue here is narrow. The franchisor controls purchasing decisions, so a single yes from HQ could cover all locations. But with no disclosed year-over-year unit growth and no multi-unit franchisees, the near-term expansion opportunity is limited.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists only one individual in Item 1: Douglas Bertram, identified as the Registered Agent for Service of Process. No other executives—no CIO, CTO, VP of Operations, or procurement lead—are named. In a system this small, Bertram is the de facto point of contact for any vendor inquiry. When you pitch Structural Elements, you are pitching one person at a franchisor that directly oversees both franchised and company-owned units. There is no parent company on file; the brand appears independently owned.

Mandated and current tech stack

Structural Elements mandates three systems, all named in the FDD: Jane, MyEmma, and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. Jane likely serves as the practice management or clinical operations platform, MyEmma handles email marketing, and QuickBooks Online covers accounting. These mandates mean the core operational stack is already locked in. Vendors selling competing practice management, email marketing, or accounting software face a closed door unless the franchisor changes its requirements. The opportunity lies in adjacent tools—scheduling, patient engagement, analytics, or compliance—that integrate with Jane and QuickBooks Online without displacing them.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so Structural Elements’ supplier model—whether designated, approved, or open—is not disclosed. This absence makes it harder to gauge how rigid the purchasing process is. However, the Item 17 renewal terms offer a timing signal: franchisees must give written notice of renewal between 6 and 12 months before their 10-year agreement expires. They must also execute a general release, pay a renewal fee, and sign the then-current franchise agreement, which may have materially different terms. With only 2 franchised units, renewal-driven software evaluations will be rare. Vendors should monitor any new unit openings or franchise sales, though none are indicated in the 2026 disclosure.

How to read the Structural Elements FDD

The 2026 FDD is embedded below. Key sections for software vendors: Item 1 names the sole contact, Douglas Bertram. Item 11 lists the mandated tech stack—Jane, MyEmma, and QuickBooks Online. Item 8, if present in future filings, would clarify procurement rules. Item 17 outlines the renewal process and the 10-year term. Because the system is so small, every detail in the FDD carries weight; there is no large operator base to dilute the franchisor’s control. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to aim your next pitch.

Questions vendors ask

Structural Elements, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Douglas Bertram as Registered Agent for Service of Process. No other executives are disclosed, so Bertram is the only named contact for vendor outreach.
The FDD mandates Jane, MyEmma, and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. No other operational or POS systems are named as required.
There are 3 total units: 2 franchised and 1 company-owned, located in Virginia (1) and Maryland (1). No multi-unit operators are on file.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not disclosed.
Renewal requires 6–12 months' written notice before the 10-year term ends. With only 2 franchised units and no disclosed recent growth, contract windows are infrequent.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below for full details on tech mandates and contract terms.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Structural Elements2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Structural Elements files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

VA1
MD1

Related Health services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.