From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Southern Solar Franchise Systems

Home services

Software purchasing at Southern Solar Franchise Systems is controlled from its Texas headquarters, where Chief Executive Officer Glenn Lynch, President Shane Lynch, and CFO Michael Whelan are the key executives on file. The franchisor does not mandate any specific technology systems in its 2023 FDD. The addressable market is extremely small, consisting of just 1 company-owned unit with no franchised locations reported.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
5.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$65K
per unit
Investment range
$170K–$240K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 5.5%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5.5%Ad fund 0.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We may revise our specifications for the hardware and any software used in the Southern Solar Business as we deem necessary, including the designation of specific brands or models of accounting software or other software used for word processing, spreadsheets and other office functions, that you must use in the…

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The software programs and hardware used at Southern Solar Businesses are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In addition to other reports required by this Agreement, you agree to submit to us, in the form we prescribe from time to time and at your expense: (1) At our request, a monthly income statement (which may be unaudited), signed by your treasurer, chief financial officer or comparable officer attesting that it is…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may designate ourselves, our Affiliates or a third party as an approved or designated supplier, or as the sole approved or designated supplier of any item.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You acknowledge that we may modify the specifications and the components of any such Computer System from time to time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In fiscal year 2021, neither we nor any of our affiliates received any revenues from the sale of products or services to franchisees

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

80

Item 8

We estimate your required purchases for the operation of the Southern Solar Business will range between 80% and 90% of your annual purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must reimburse us for the costs that we incur in the supplier approval process.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If we require that an item be purchased from an approved supplier and you wish to purchase it from a supplier we have not approved, you must submit to us a written request for approval.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

the undersigned (hereinafter called the “Franchisee”) hereby irrevocably assigns, effective upon the date of termination or expiration of the Franchise Agreement, the telephone listings and numbers stated below to Southern Solar Franchise Systems, LLC

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You must comply with all payment card infrastructure (“PCI”) industry and government security standards and requirements designed to protect cardholder data.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct periodic evaluations of your operations.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to add to or modify the Manuals from time to time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must accept the site as meeting our minimum standards before you may begin using such site for your Southern Solar Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not advertise, promote, post or list information relating to the Southern Solar Business on the Internet (through the creation of a website, social media accounts or posts or otherwise) without our prior written consent

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $5,000 per month on advertising and promotion of your Southern Solar Business in the Protected Area, and at least one-half (50%) of your local advertising money must be used to participate in telemarketing programs approved by us.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative is established for an area that includes your Protected Area, you must become a member of the Cooperative and participate in the Cooperative by contributing the amounts required by the Cooperative’s governing documents, which will require contributions of at least $500 per month.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we have approved or designated suppliers (which may include us or our Affiliates or third party manufacturers, distributors and other sources) for any such item, you agree to obtain these items from those suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Before opening your Southern Solar Business (and from time to time as needed during operation of your Southern Solar Business), you must purchase from approved suppliers certain items required for the operation of a Southern Solar Business, including, among other things, uniforms, certain equipment/tools, and…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to execute Exhibit E to this Agreement and all other documents necessary to permit us to withdraw funds from your designated bank account by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) in the amount of the royalty fee, the Brand Development Fund contribution (described in Section IX.C.), and any other amounts due…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 11

In addition, at least 2 of your sales people must attend the sales portion of our initial training program, and at least 2 of your administrative employees must attend administrative portion of our training.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase from approved suppliers certain items required for the operation of a Southern Solar Business, including, among other things, uniforms, certain equipment/tools, and inventory/supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase this software and the related hardware from a supplier approved by us.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The software programs and hardware used at Southern Solar Businesses are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase this software and the related hardware from a supplier approved by us.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may, at our option, require your Principal Owner and General Manager to attend additional training programs and seminars from time to time (up to a maximum of 5 training days per year) at a location designated by us.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we schedule an annual franchise conference, you must attend.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at Southern Solar Franchise Systems

Southern Solar Franchise Systems presents a minimal addressable market for software vendors. According to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of exactly 1 unit, which is company-owned. No franchised locations are reported, and year-over-year unit growth data is not disclosed. For a vendor, this means the total sales opportunity is a single-location deal, with no near-term expansion signal visible in the FDD. The franchisor is based in Texas and operates in the home services sector, specifically solar. The royalty rate is 5.5% on gross revenue, though average unit volume (AUV) is not published, making it difficult to model the location's revenue potential.

Who controls software purchasing

All purchasing authority rests at the headquarters level. The 2023 FDD lists three executives in Item 1: Glenn Lynch, Chief Executive Officer; Shane Lynch, President; and Michael Whelan, Chief Financial Officer. In a system of this size, the CEO and CFO are the de facto technology buyers. There is no CIO, CTO, or dedicated IT role disclosed. A vendor pitching operational or financial software should direct outreach to Michael Whelan for budget authority or Glenn Lynch for strategic decisions. Because there are no franchisees, there is no multi-unit operator (MUO) layer to navigate.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD does not identify any mandated or recommended technology systems. No POS, CRM, project management, or field-service software vendors are named. This absence of a tech mandate means the single company-owned location may be using ad-hoc or consumer-grade tools, creating a greenfield opportunity for a vendor that can demonstrate immediate operational value. However, without a franchisee base, the typical land-and-expand strategy through franchisee adoption is not applicable here.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines purchasing restrictions and approved suppliers, contains no extract in our corpus. The procurement model is therefore unknown. On the renewal side, Item 17 provides a 10-year renewal right, contingent on signing the then-current franchise agreement, which may contain materially different terms. This suggests that any software contract tied to the franchise agreement could be renegotiated at renewal. With only a single unit and no disclosed growth, the most realistic sales trigger is a direct, unsolicited pitch to HQ that aligns with an immediate operational pain point.

How to read the Southern Solar Franchise Systems FDD

The full 2023 FDD is available below. Focus your review on Item 1 (executives), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), and Item 17 (renewal and transfer conditions) to validate the decision-maker and any hidden purchasing obligations. Because the system has no franchisees, Items 6 and 7, which detail initial fees and investment, are less relevant for software sales planning than they would be in a larger system. For a ranked target list of franchise systems with stronger technology mandates and larger addressable unit counts, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outbound efforts.

Questions vendors ask

Southern Solar Franchise Systems, answered from the filing

The buying center is concentrated at HQ. The 2023 FDD lists Glenn Lynch (CEO), Shane Lynch (President), and Michael Whelan (CFO). For a software pitch, the CFO or CEO are the most likely economic buyers.
None. The 2023 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended operational software, POS, or other technology systems for franchisees.
The system has 1 total unit, which is company-owned. No franchised units are reported in the 2023 FDD, making this a very early-stage or single-unit home-services operation.
The procurement model is not disclosed. Item 8 of the 2023 FDD contains no extract regarding designated or approved suppliers, so the purchasing restrictions for franchisees are unknown.
With a 10-year initial term and a renewal right requiring a new agreement, the next likely window is at renewal. However, with only 1 unit and no franchisee growth data, there is no predictable volume cycle.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the full legal and operational disclosures directly from the source document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Southern Solar Franchise Systems2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Southern Solar Franchise Systems files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.