From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Snip-its Salon

Personal services

Software purchasing at Snip-its Salon is controlled at the franchisor level, with a mandated Zenoti POS system in place across all 40 franchised units. The brand operates a compact, fully franchised footprint concentrated in Texas, Massachusetts, Ohio, South Carolina, and California. For software vendors, this means a single decision-maker at HQ can unlock a small but uniform addressable market with a clear tech mandate already in force.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
40
40 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-4.762%
vs prior filing
AUV
$271K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
per unit
Investment range
$200K–$361K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ZenotiZenoti
Mandatory
POSItem 8

s not currently do so, FSS may become an approved supplier of Proprietary Products in the future. You also are required to use our approved POS Software System, which is currently Zenoti (see Item 11)

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your Snip-its Salon Business and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must also prepare annual Financial Statements within 30 days of the end of your fiscal year.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We currently sell some salon inventory items and supplies to franchisees, but franchisees are not required to purchase such items and supplies through us.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We currently have an advisory council (“Council”) for the purpose of fostering communication among and between us and franchisees, and discussing various policies applicable to Snip-its Salon Businesses operating under the System.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may restrict the sourcing of current and future items.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

147277

Item 8

During our last fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, we received $147,277 in total revenue from the sale of products or services to franchisees, which is 16.31% of our total gross revenue of $902,722.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may receive rebates from some suppliers based on your purchase of products and services and we have no obligation to pass them on to our franchisees or use them in any particular manner.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 75% to 90% of purchases required to open your Snip-its Salon Business and 75% to 90% of purchases required to operate your Snip-its Salon Business will be from us or from other approved suppliers or under our specifications.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to charge a fee to evaluate the proposed product, service or supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use or sell a product or service that we have not yet evaluated, or if you want to purchase or lease a product or service from a supplier or provider that we have not yet approved (for products and services that require supplier approval), you must notify us and submit to us the information…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Immediately stop using all telephone numbers, advertisements, domain names and social media accounts associated with the Franchised Business.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards as those standards may be revised and modified by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC, or any successor organization or standards we may reasonably specify.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right, at any time, to have an audit made, by us or a third-party we designate, of the books and financial records of your Franchised Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We can modify the Confidential Operating Manual at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve the site before you sign the lease or acquire the location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You may not maintain a separate website, conduct e-commerce, or otherwise maintain a presence on the Internet in connection with your Franchised Business without our express written permission, which we may revoke at any time, in our sole discretion.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You will spend a minimum of $15,000 on approved grand opening marketing, advertising and promotion for your Snip-its Salon Business during the period beginning 30 days before and ending 60 days after the opening of your Snip-its Salon Business (“Grand Opening Program”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

you must spend $1,875 per calendar quarter on local advertising for your Snip-its Salon Business (“Local Advertising Requirement”).

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in any advertising cooperative (“Cooperative”) that we require for the purpose of creating and/or purchasing advertising programs for the benefit of all franchisees operating within a particular region.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must use our designated vendor for millwork services.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree not to use any Payment Vendor for which we have not given you our prior written approval or as to which we have revoked our earlier approval.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay fees and other amounts due to us or our affiliates via electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or other similar means.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to offering and accepting Snip-its Salon gift cards and loyalty cards, you must accept all credit cards and debit cards that we determine.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You also are required to use our approved POS Software System, which is currently Zenoti (see Item 11).

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We (or our designee) have the right to independently access the electronic information and data relating to your Snip-its Salon Business and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner, including to promote the System and the sale of Franchises.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

We may charge you for additional person for training additional persons, newly-hired initial training and personnel, refresher training courses, $500 per attendee per remedial training, advanced training day for additional courses, and additional or special training) assistance or training you need or request.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to participating in ongoing training, you will be required to attend any national or regional meeting or conference of franchisees.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at Snip-its Salon

Snip-its Salon is a personal-services franchise with 40 locations, all franchised, and no company-owned units disclosed in the 2025 FDD. The brand posted an average unit volume (AUV) of $270,978 and operates under a 5.0% royalty on a 10-year initial term. Year-over-year unit growth was -4.76%, signaling a contracting footprint that may still present a replacement or consolidation opportunity for software vendors targeting the salon and spa vertical.

The operator base is small and concentrated. Of 42 mapped operators, only three are multi-unit owners, and the unit-band split shows 39 single-unit operators and just three operators with 2–9 units. The top states by location count are Texas (8), Massachusetts (6), Ohio (5), South Carolina (5), and California (4). This geographic clustering means a vendor can cover a meaningful share of the system with a lean sales effort.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists five HQ executives: Jason Bakker (Chief Executive Officer), Matthew Paschke (Managing Director), Craig Voss (Controller), Jason Blom (Field Financial Analyst), and Marsha Cole (Director of Artistic Education). No CIO, CTO, or VP of Technology is named, which is typical for a brand of this size. In practice, the CEO and Managing Director are the most likely decision-makers for any software that touches operations, finance, or franchisee compliance. The mandate of Zenoti POS confirms that technology decisions are made centrally and pushed down to franchisees.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology system explicitly mandated in the 2025 FDD is the Zenoti POS software system by Zenoti, Inc. Zenoti is a well-known cloud-based platform for salons and spas, covering point-of-sale, appointment booking, inventory, and customer management. For a software vendor, this means any complementary tool — whether for payroll, marketing automation, or business intelligence — must integrate with or sit alongside Zenoti. The absence of other mandated systems in the FDD does not mean other tools are not in use; it simply means the franchisor has not made them compulsory.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the procurement model — whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open — is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should be prepared for a scenario where the franchisor either specifies suppliers or leaves franchisees to choose from approved options, and should clarify this early in any conversation with HQ.

Renewal terms offer a potential window for software evaluation. The initial franchise agreement runs 10 years. Franchisees in good standing may add two successor terms of 5 years each, but they must sign the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may have materially different terms, including higher royalty and advertising contributions. This reset point can prompt franchisees and the franchisor to reassess operational tools, creating a natural opening for software vendors who can demonstrate value ahead of a renewal wave.

How to read the Snip-its Salon FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for the facts cited here. It contains the legal and operational disclosures Snip-its Salon provides to prospective franchisees, including Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated tech), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). The embedded PDF viewer below lets you explore the full document. For software vendors, the FDD is a starting point: it tells you who runs the brand, what they require franchisees to use, and how the system is structured — all essential intelligence before you pick up the phone. If you need a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Snip-its Salon, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Jason Bakker (CEO) and Matthew Paschke (Managing Director) as key executives. With a mandated POS and no CIO named, purchasing authority likely sits with these top officers.
Snip-its Salon mandates the Zenoti POS software system by Zenoti, Inc. across all franchised locations, as disclosed in the 2025 FDD.
There are 40 total units, all franchised. No company-owned units are disclosed. The brand has seen a 4.76% year-over-year unit decline.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated vs. approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed in the filing.
The initial term is 10 years, with two 5-year successor terms possible. Renewal requires signing the then-current agreement, which may include higher fees, creating periodic re-evaluation points.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Snip-its Salon2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Snip-its Salon files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

37 operators run 48 mapped locations. 7 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit30
2–9 units7

Top states by locations

TX8
MA6
OH5
SC5
CA4

Ownership

The portfolio behind Snip-its Salon

unknown of fs snip its.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.