From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Safeguard

Financial services

Software purchasing at Safeguard flows through a tight HQ-controlled model, with President Mark Byers and VP/CFO William C. Zint as likely decision-makers. The franchisor mandates a specific Customer Management System (CMS), 24/7 on High Spot, and the Safeguard Intranet, among other tools, across its 45-unit network. For vendors, the addressable market is concentrated: 34 franchised locations and 11 company-owned units, with no multi-unit operators on file.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
45
34 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
0%
national + local
Initial fee
per unit
Investment range
$11K–$65K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

ograms, materials, or media. You may not advertise, promote, post, or list information relating to your Safeguard Business on the Internet (through the creation of a website or on Facebook, X, Instagr

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

ials, or media. You may not advertise, promote, post, or list information relating to your Safeguard Business on the Internet (through the creation of a website or on Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

dia. You may not advertise, promote, post, or list information relating to your Safeguard Business on the Internet (through the creation of a website or on Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, or on any

NCRNCR Voyix
POSItem 2

Minneapolis, Minnesota. Mr. Zint previously served as the VP of Corporate Finance for Deluxe Corporation from August 2020 to October 2022. He was the VP of Finance and HW CFO for NCR Corp from January

UberallUberall
MarketingItem 11

negotiated “volume purchase” discounts, including sales prospecting lists and appending services, paid Social Media, directory listings and review services (currently offered via Uberall’s One List Pl

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

12 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 9 explicit no's; 13 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We and/or our affiliates, including SBS, will have independent access at the time and in the manner we specify, to all information concerning your Safeguard Business maintained on the CMS system.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

You may only solicit orders for Authorized Safeguard Products and Services, the majority of which are manufactured by SBS or made available by SBS through strategic alliances.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

The Pre-Existing Distributors have formed an association known as the United Safeguard Distributors Association which operates independently under its own governing rules.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

392329.46

Item 8

During the year ending December 31, 2024, SFS’s revenues from products or services purchased by distributors were $84,731.33, which was 1% of our total revenues of $8,825,259. During the year ending December 31, 2024, our affiliate SBS’s revenues from products and services purchased by distributors were $307,598.13…

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliates may receive rebates from approved or designated sources.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to introduce or to offer a new product, or line of products as a Sourced Product, you must first obtain SBS’s prior written approval.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

assign to us all business telephone numbers, fax numbers, post office box numbers, and all email addresses and urls used in connection with the Safeguard Business

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You are responsible for achieving and maintaining PCI-DSS compliance.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 9

Inspections and audits Section 8 Item 11 t.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

Before you begin operating your Safeguard Business, we will provide you a copy of the Manuals, which may be changed periodically.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We and/or our affiliates, including SBS, will have independent access at the time and in the manner we specify, to all information concerning your Safeguard Business maintained on the CMS system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

If additional training is required, you must pay a reasonable fee for each training session.

The filing answers no to 9 questions
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 12
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Safeguard

Safeguard operates 45 total units in the financial-services sector, with 34 franchised locations and 11 company-owned outlets. The brand is headquartered in Texas and shows no parent company on file, suggesting an independent ownership structure. For software vendors, the addressable market is compact but tightly controlled: 52 mapped operators run single-unit locations, with zero multi-unit franchisees. The top states by unit count are California (13), New York (5), Pennsylvania (5), Virginia (3), and Illinois (3). No average unit volume or royalty rate is disclosed in the most recent FDD, and year-over-year unit growth is not reported.

Because the network is small and entirely single-unit, a vendor’s path to adoption runs through HQ, not through a fragmented operator base. The absence of multi-unit owners means no franchisee has enough scale to drive independent tech decisions. Every software sale will likely require corporate approval.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists five executives in Item 1. President and Director Mark Byers sits at the top of the organization. William C. Zint serves as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, a role that typically holds budget authority for technology investments. Tim Stoffel is Vice President of Tax, Kevin Skipper is Vice President and Secretary, and Sue Holbert is Senior Manager of Learning and Development, Sales Enablement. In a franchisor of this size, the President and CFO are the most probable buyers or approvers for any software that touches operations, compliance, or financial workflows. Vendors should tailor outreach to Byers and Zint, framing ROI in terms of HQ control, franchisee compliance, and operational efficiency across a 45-unit system.

Mandated and current tech stack

Safeguard’s Item 11 disclosures reveal a stack built around a mandated Customer Management System (CMS), listed separately from a generic “Customer Relationship Software” that appears as a recommendation rather than a requirement. The franchisor also mandates 24/7 on High Spot, the Safeguard Intranet, and SLC. On the recommended side, the FDD names Uberall’s One List Plus and Vende Digital Agency. This mix of mandated operational tools and recommended marketing or listings software suggests HQ prioritizes control over core customer-management workflows while leaving some flexibility in digital presence and local marketing. For a vendor selling into this account, the mandated CMS is the system to displace or integrate with; any pitch must address how it coexists with or replaces that existing mandate.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the formal purchasing model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly documented. The presence of multiple mandated systems, however, points toward a closed or preferred-vendor environment. Item 17, which would typically disclose renewal terms, franchisee termination rights, and any renegotiation windows, also provides no extract in the available data. The initial franchise term is 10 years. Without renewal or contract-cycle visibility, software vendors should treat Safeguard as an account where timing is opaque and relationship-based. Monitoring executive changes, public RFPs, or shifts in the recommended vendor list (such as Uberall or Vende Digital Agency) may surface an opening.

How to read the Safeguard FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for Safeguard’s mandated technology, executive team, and unit economics. Item 1 identifies the officers with purchasing authority. Item 11 lists every system the franchisor requires or recommends, giving vendors a clear map of incumbent tools. The operator footprint in the FDD shows 52 individuals across single-unit locations, confirming a highly centralized decision-making structure. For software sellers, the FDD answers the critical question: who signs the check, and what tech do they already own. Review the embedded PDF below to verify the current stack and executive roster before building a pitch.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Safeguard, answered from the filing

President Mark Byers and VP/CFO William C. Zint are the named executives. With mandated tech and no multi-unit operators, purchasing authority sits at HQ, not with individual franchisees.
The FDD mandates a Customer Management System (CMS), 24/7 on High Spot, Safeguard Intranet, and SLC. It also recommends Customer Relationship Software, Uberall's One List Plus, and Vende Digital Agency.
45 total units: 34 franchised and 11 company-owned. The operator footprint maps 52 individuals across single-unit locations, concentrated in CA (13), NY (5), and PA (5).
Procurement details are not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. The presence of multiple mandated systems suggests a designated-supplier or HQ-approved model rather than an open procurement process.
Renewal and contract-cycle details are not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. With a 10-year initial term and no YoY growth data, vendors should monitor for any public RFP or leadership-change signals.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below for full Item 11 tech disclosures and Item 1 executive details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Safeguard2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Safeguard files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

52 operators run 52 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit52

Top states by locations

CA13
NY5
PA5
VA3
IL3

Ownership

The portfolio behind Safeguard

unknown of safeguard holdings inc immediate parent deluxe corporation ultimate parent.

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.