From the filings

HQ-led decisions

DCAP Management

Financial services

Software purchasing at DCAP Management is driven by its principals, Abraham Weinzimer and Stuart Greenvald, with no separate parent company or CIO on file. The franchise system operates 36 total units (34 franchised, 2 company-owned) and mandates tax preparation software, making it a niche but defined target for tax-tech vendors. The addressable market is small at 36 locations, but the mandated tech stack creates a clear entry point for compliant solutions.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
36
34 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.703%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
20%
of gross sales
Ad fund
—
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$62K–$110K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

20%+of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 20% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 20%. Total 20% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 20%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Facebook
MarketingItem 11

will be deemed to have given the required approval. You may not use any advertising or promotional materials that we have disapproved. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, L

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

ired approval. You may not use any advertising or promotional materials that we have disapproved. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, TikToc, Instagram or any oth

LinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

ave given the required approval. You may not use any advertising or promotional materials that we have disapproved. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, TikToc, In

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

gns, pages, or other communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including, for example, the Internet, World Wide Web, social networking sites (such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, G

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 12 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall maintain during the term of this Agreement and shall preserve for the time period specified in the Manual, full, complete, and accurate books, records, and accounts in accordance with the standard accounting system prescribed by Franchisor in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We may have independent access to the records and information you generate in connection with the preparation of individuals’ tax returns, including information relating to your sales.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to test supplies and inspect the premises of suppliers before granting approval.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

For our most recent fiscal year ended December 31, 2021, neither we nor any of our affiliates derived

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We will derive revenue from your use of our Product Programs.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

8

Item 8

All of your required purchases are estimated to represent approximately 8% to 20% of your total opening expenses (excluding the cost of real estate and improvements) and approximately 8% to 20% of 23 DCAP Insurance/The Tax Zone FDD 2023 A1 your total annual operating expenses.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We have criteria for approving suppliers selected by you.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that all telephone numbers and directory listing for the Center shall be the property of Franchisor and that, upon termination or expiration of this Agreement, Franchisor has the sole and exclusive right and authority to transfer, terminate and amend such telephone numbers and directory…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may conduct periodic field evaluations of your The Tax Zone office for your and our mutual benefit and to promote uniform standards of operation and quality control throughout The Tax Zone system.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may, from time to time, revise the contents of the Manual when it reasonably considers such revisions to be necessary to improve or maintain the standards of the System and Franchisee expressly agrees to comply with each new or changed standard, provided, however, that such revisions are made for all…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Once you have found a site that you think is suitable, we must approve it.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, TikToc, Instagram or any other social media and/or networking site without our prior written approval.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

A grand opening advertising promotion must be conducted by you, with our assistance.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative for the geographic area or market in which your The Tax Zone office is located is established during the term of the Franchise Agreement, you must 30 DCAP Insurance/The Tax Zone FDD 2023 A1 immediately become a member of that Cooperative, and take all steps necessary to become a member.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must offer electronic tax return filing services using only those approved suppliers of electronic tax return filing services and providers of tax preparation software as we may designate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

All other supplies, materials and insurance products required for the operation of your Center must be purchased only from suppliers designated or approved in writing by us, or from suppliers selected by you and who are approved by us, or from us directly.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall authorize Franchisor to initiate debit entries and/or credit collection entries to a designated checking or savings account for the monthly payment of the Continuing Monthly Service Fee and Advertising Fees payable hereunder and any delinquent charges due thereon.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will not have independent access to the data on your computer system, but we may require independent access in the future.

Training

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

This additional training may also include on-line tutorials and mandatory participation in The Tax Zone annual convention.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at DCAP Management

DCAP Management is a financial services franchisor headquartered in New York, with 36 total units as of its 2023 FDD. Of those, 34 are franchised and 2 are company-owned. The system saw a year-over-year unit decline of roughly 2.7%, suggesting a consolidating footprint rather than rapid expansion. For software vendors, the opportunity is narrow but defined: a small, HQ-controlled network with a clear tech mandate in tax preparation software.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, so sizing revenue-per-location is not possible from public filings. Royalties run at 20%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. These economics point to a franchisor that extracts significant ongoing fees, which may influence how franchisees budget for technology.

Who controls software purchasing

Item 1 of the 2023 FDD lists two principals: Abraham Weinzimer and Stuart Greenvald. No additional executives—such as a CIO, CTO, or VP of Operations—are named. This flat structure suggests that software purchasing decisions are made directly by these individuals. Vendors should prepare to engage at the principal level rather than through a dedicated IT procurement function.

There is no parent company on file; DCAP Management appears to be independently owned. This independence may mean faster decision cycles but also less formalized vendor evaluation processes compared to larger, multi-brand franchisors.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only mandated technology disclosed in the FDD is tax preparation software. No specific vendor is named, and no POS, CRM, or operational platforms are listed as required or recommended. This leaves the current tech landscape largely opaque beyond the tax prep mandate. Vendors offering complementary financial services tools—such as document management, client onboarding, or compliance software—may find an unmet need, but must validate this directly with the principals.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8, which typically outlines procurement obligations and designated suppliers, contains no extract in our corpus. This means the franchisor’s procurement model—whether it uses designated suppliers, approved supplier lists, or an open purchasing environment—is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should clarify this early in conversations with HQ.

Renewal terms under Item 17 provide a potential entry point. Franchise agreements automatically renew for successive 10-year terms if the franchisee is in good standing. However, the franchisor may require execution of a materially different successor agreement, though territory boundaries remain unchanged and fees cannot exceed those charged to similarly situated renewing franchisees. These renewal events, occurring on a rolling basis across the system, may open windows for introducing new software that aligns with updated operational requirements.

How to read the DCAP Management FDD

The 2023 FDD is embedded below for full review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (principals), Item 8 (procurement, though absent here), Item 11 (mandated tech), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because the system is small and HQ-controlled, direct outreach to the named principals is likely the most effective path to understanding current pain points and upcoming technology needs. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

DCAP Management, answered from the filing

Principals Abraham Weinzimer and Stuart Greenvald are the named executives. No dedicated IT or procurement officer is listed, so decisions likely rest with them.
The 2023 FDD mandates tax preparation software. No POS or other operational tech systems are named as mandated or recommended.
36 total units: 34 franchised and 2 company-owned. Year-over-year unit growth was -2.7%, indicating slight contraction.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not disclosed.
Franchise agreements renew automatically for 10 years if in good standing. Renewal terms may change materially, creating potential windows when successor contracts are negotiated.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below for full procurement and operational details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

DCAP Management2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment DCAP Management files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

27 operators run 27 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit27

Top states by locations

NY23
WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind DCAP Management

unknown of dcap group.

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.