From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Ameriprise Financial Services

Financial services

Software purchasing at Ameriprise Financial Services is driven by a centralized leadership team in Minnesota, with key decision-makers including the EVP of the Ameriprise Franchise Group and the SVP of Business Development. The network spans 5,462 total units (3,738 franchised, 1,724 company-owned), and the franchisor mandates AdvisorCompass® as a core technology. For vendors, this represents a large, tightly controlled account where understanding the HQ hierarchy is essential.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5,462
3,738 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-3.035%
vs prior filing
AUV
$3.07M
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$2K
per unit
Investment range
$9K–$135K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

1%+of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 1% of gross sales (FY2026)Ad fund 1%. Total 1% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Baseline
POSItem 11

for systems that do not meet baseline specifications or that are end of life from the original equipment manufacturer, including withdrawing support of systems that previously met baseline specificati

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

14 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 12 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Independent Advisor agrees to permit Ameriprise Financial to access the computer system installed at the Independent Financial Advisor Business for the purpose of obtaining Ameriprise Financial-related information from Independent Advisor’s computer system to satisfy regulatory and business processing requirements.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates are currently approved suppliers of the Products & Services.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have established a National Franchisee Advisory Council that serves in an advisory capacity to us on a variety of topics, including advertising matters.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

374093535

Item 8

$374,093,535 or 4.0% of these total revenues were as a result of Independent Advisors’ purchases of products and services.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates will derive revenue from selling Products & Services to clients of Independent Financial Advisor Businesses operating under the System.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

approximately 25% – 50% in continued operation of the Independent Financial Advisor Business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you propose an alternative supplier, we will approve or disapprove the alternative supplier within a reasonable time after we receive all requested information concerning the supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Ameriprise Financial’s expense, Ameriprise Financial reserves the right to add a forwarding message to any such telephone number no longer used by Independent Advisor, indicating the telephone number for Ameriprise Financial and for the departing Independent Advisor.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Ameriprise Financial agrees to conduct, as it deems advisable and consistent with its regulatory and supervisory obligations, inspections of Independent Advisor’s operation of the Independent Financial Advisor Business for the purpose of establishing Independent Advisor’s compliance with this Agreement and with…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Ameriprise Financial may make reasonable interpretations and revise the contents of the Manuals from time-to-time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

The Independent Financial Advisor Business Location must be located in a commercial zone or mixed commercial/residential zone, as specified in the Manuals, and is subject to our approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Independent Advisor specifically acknowledges and agrees that all websites and internet advertising, including any revisions, must be approved in advance by, and must be in a format designed by, Ameriprise Financial.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

Through the Software, we will have access to the computer system at the Independent Financial Advisor Business.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

In addition, if you qualify to participate in special optional programs, you may be required to attend additional training for an additional fee.

The filing answers no to 8 questions
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Ameriprise

Ameriprise Financial Services operates 5,462 total units in the United States, with 3,738 franchised and 1,724 company-owned locations. The average unit volume sits at $3,069,065, making this a high-value network for software vendors targeting wealth management and financial advisory operations. Year-over-year unit growth declined by roughly 3%, but the absolute footprint remains substantial. For a SaaS provider, the addressable market is the full 5,462-unit system, though any sale will likely need to clear a centralized HQ evaluation.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document names several executives who sit at the center of purchasing decisions. William J. Williams serves as Executive Vice President of the Ameriprise Franchise Group, and Patrick H. O’Connell is Executive Vice President of the Ameriprise Advisor Group and Ameriprise Financial Institutions Group. Jay L. McAnelly holds the Group Vice President role for the Financial Institutions Group, while Brian Mora is Senior Vice President of Business Development. Jonathan D. Jackson is listed as Franchise Regional Vice President. For a software vendor, the most direct paths into the organization run through the Franchise Group EVP and the SVP of Business Development. No operator-level procurement contacts are mapped in our corpus, reinforcing the HQ-driven nature of technology decisions.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology explicitly mandated in the 2026 FDD is AdvisorCompass®. No other operational, CRM, or point-of-sale systems are named in the disclosure. This means the existing stack beyond AdvisorCompass® is not publicly documented in the FDD, and vendors should treat the environment as partially opaque. If your product complements or integrates with a financial advisor platform, you will need to map the incumbent landscape during discovery. The absence of additional named systems does not imply an absence of other tools; it simply means the franchisor chose not to list them in the current disclosure.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not disclosed. Franchise agreements carry a 3-year initial term. At renewal, franchisees must sign the then-current Franchise Agreement, which the franchisor notes may contain materially different terms and conditions than the original contract. This creates a natural inflection point every three years when technology requirements and vendor lists can change. Vendors should align outreach with these renewal cycles, as the franchisor can introduce new mandated or recommended systems at each re-contracting event.

How to read the Ameriprise FDD

The 2026 Ameriprise Financial Services FDD is embedded below. It is the primary source for the unit counts, executive names, and mandated technology referenced on this page. When reviewing it, pay close attention to Item 1 (the executives listed above), Item 11 (AdvisorCompass® mandate), and Item 17 (renewal conditions and the 3-year term). The document is filed with state franchise regulators, and the embedded viewer lets you search and read the full text without leaving this page. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Ameriprise Financial Services, answered from the filing

Key buying-center contacts include William J. Williams (EVP – Ameriprise Franchise Group), Patrick H. O’Connell (EVP – Advisor Group), and Brian Mora (SVP – Business Development).
The 2026 FDD mandates AdvisorCompass®. No additional point-of-sale or operational systems are named in the disclosure.
Ameriprise Financial Services has 5,462 total units, comprising 3,738 franchised locations and 1,724 company-owned offices.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated- or approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
Franchise agreements run for 3-year initial terms. Renewal requires signing the then-current agreement, which may materially change terms, creating periodic re-evaluation windows.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Ameriprise Financial Services2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Ameriprise Financial Services files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Ameriprise Financial Services

unknown of ameriprise financial.

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.