From the filings

+68.421% units YoYHQ-led decisions

PaintEZ

Financial services

Software purchasing at PaintEZ is controlled at the headquarters level, where CEO Jay D. Mason and COO Jason Allen oversee a tightly mandated tech stack. The franchisor requires all 33 locations (32 franchised, 1 company-owned) to use its proprietary software, QuickBooks Online, and EZ Accounting Pros. With 68.4% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is small but expanding rapidly.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
33
32 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+68.421%
vs prior filing
AUV
$542K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$95K–$189K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooks OnlineIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 6

upon set up of your accounting services with our affiliate, EZ Accounting Pro. This fee may increase by 10% once per year. Accounting Services $450 per month Monthly You must use QuickBooks Online or

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

must be pre-approved by us, in writing. You may be allowed to place pre-approved information concerning your franchise business on our website and social networking sites such as Facebook, as develope

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use our software and reporting systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to provide Us quarterly financial statements within fifteen (15) business days after the end of each quarter.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to modify, delete, add, or otherwise make changes to Our System, Intellectual Property, Manuals, and operations at any time at Our sole discretion by providing You with written notice of such modifications.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

90706

Item 8

In the year ending December 31, 2024 our revenues from the sale of products and services to franchisees was $90,706 or 8.477% of our total revenues of $1,069,970.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

These suppliers may also pay us a rebate on all franchisee purchases based on a percentage of sales such suppliers make to our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

We estimate that the purchase of products from designated or approved sources will represent approximately 30% to 40% of your overall purchases in opening your franchise business and 85 % to 95% of your overall purchases in operating your franchise business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

Before testing, reviewing and approval, you will be required to pay a testing and reviewing fee covering our reasonable expenses and costs of testing.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you desire to purchase any of these items or services from an unapproved supplier, you will submit to us a written request for this approval or request the supplier itself to do so.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Our option, assign to Us all rights to the telephone numbers and internet pages of the Franchise Business and any related business listings and execute all forms and documents required by Us and any telephone company or website to transfer such numbers and services to Us.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Inspect the Franchise and conduct activities to ensure compliance with the terms of the Franchise Agreement and PaintEZ® manual to assure consistent quality and service throughout our franchise system (Franchise Agreement, Section 5.2, Paragraph 8.10.4, and Section 9.2(v).).

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to modify or update the Manuals from time to time to change operating procedures, maintain the goodwill associated with the Marks, and enable the System to remain competitive.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

If you elect to have a physical office outside of your home, we must review and approve your proposed site for the operation of the franchise business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You are not permitted to create a website or Social Media site for Your franchise to market on the internet unless You receive written permission from Us.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

This also includes the required purchase of a minimum number of online leads and online lead management services (SEO, PPC, LBL) for Your 3-month start-up phase.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 6

You will spend at least this amount every year to market your franchise business locally.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to participate in all cooperative marketing programs as We prescribe from time to time.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to purchase all equipment, inventory, uniforms, advertising materials, services, and other supplies, products, and materials required by Us for the operation of the franchise solely from suppliers who have been approved, in writing by Us, for such items using Our sole discretion.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You are required to purchase all of the PaintEZ® products, equipment, logoed and PaintEZ® branded items, and other items and supplies from sources designated or approved by Us.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We require the royalties and other fees to be paid in accordance with our electronic funds transfer or automatic withdrawal program.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If We decide to adopt coupons, gift cards, or other discount programs, You are required to implement such programs at Your Franchise Business.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You are required to purchase uniforms and branded clothing items from us or our approved suppliers.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must purchase or lease, at Your sole expense, a computer system and other computer hardware and software systems designated by Us in strict accordance with Our specifications, Including software requirements, that are subject to change at Our discretion.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge a reasonable Training Fee for these additional training sessions (Franchise Agreement, Section 8.9 and Section 9.2(v).).

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Attendance is mandatory.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at PaintEZ

PaintEZ is a financial services franchise headquartered in Utah with 33 total units—32 franchised and a single company-owned location. The system reported an average unit volume (AUV) of $541,912.04 in its 2025 FDD. While the absolute unit count is small, year-over-year unit growth sits at 68.4%, signaling a franchisor in active expansion mode. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is 33 locations concentrated in Texas (8), Florida (5), North Carolina (5), Georgia (4), and Utah (2). All 37 mapped operators are single-unit owners; no multi-unit operators appear in the FDD. This fragmentation means any software sale must clear a central HQ mandate before reaching individual franchisees.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD identifies a lean leadership team: CEO Jay D. Mason, COO Jason Allen, Controller Jessica Mason, Marketing Manager Zachary Jones, and Advisor/Board Member Matt Phillips. Because PaintEZ mandates specific software systems, purchasing authority almost certainly rests with this HQ group rather than with individual franchisees. A vendor pitch should target the CEO and COO as the likely economic buyers, with the Controller influencing financial and accounting tool decisions. The absence of a CIO or CTO in the filing suggests technology decisions are made by the executive team directly.

Mandated and current tech stack

PaintEZ imposes a strict technology mandate on its franchisees. Three systems are required: PaintEZ proprietary software, QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc., and EZ Accounting Pros. This stack covers core operations and financial management. No other operational, POS, CRM, or marketing technology is disclosed in the FDD. For vendors selling adjacent tools—such as scheduling, customer engagement, or analytics—the opportunity lies in complementing this mandated core rather than displacing it. Any integration with PaintEZ proprietary software or QuickBooks Online would likely be a prerequisite for adoption.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

PaintEZ does not disclose its procurement or supply chain rules in the 2025 FDD; Item 8 contains no extract. This leaves open questions about whether franchisees must buy from designated suppliers or may choose their own vendors for non-mandated categories. On renewals, Item 17 provides a clear window: franchise agreements run for 10-year initial terms, and franchisees in good standing may renew for additional 10-year periods under the then-current agreement. Renewal requires written notice between three and six months before expiration, a $5,000 renewal fee, and execution of a general release. With 68.4% unit growth, most locations are likely early in their initial terms, meaning renewal-driven software evaluations are years away for the majority of the system. However, new unit openings represent recurring opportunities to influence the tech stack as the franchisor onboards additional franchisees.

How to read the PaintEZ FDD

The 2025 PaintEZ Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding the franchisor's requirements, unit economics, and leadership structure. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (franchisor's obligations) for mandated technology, Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services) for procurement rules, and Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer) for contract timing. The full document is embedded below for your review. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

PaintEZ, answered from the filing

The FDD lists CEO Jay D. Mason, COO Jason Allen, and Controller Jessica Mason as key officers. Given the mandated tech stack, purchasing decisions likely route through this tight executive team.
PaintEZ mandates its own proprietary software alongside QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. and EZ Accounting Pros. No other operational or POS systems are disclosed in the 2025 FDD.
There are 33 total units: 32 franchised and 1 company-owned. The system is concentrated in Texas (8), Florida (5), North Carolina (5), Georgia (4), and Utah (2).
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 contains no extract, so designated or approved supplier requirements are unknown.
Franchise agreements run for 10-year terms. With 68.4% recent unit growth, many locations are early in their terms, but renewal windows open 3–6 months before expiration.
The 2025 PaintEZ FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

PaintEZ2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment PaintEZ files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

37 operators run 37 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit37

Top states by locations

TX8
FL5
NC5
GA4
UT2

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.