From the filings

+38.462% units YoYMandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Network LEX

Professional services

Software purchasing decisions at Network LEX appear to flow through a lean HQ, with General Counsel Mark D. Nichols listed as the sole executive on file. The franchise mandates use of a proprietary online portal, but no other operational or POS tech is disclosed in the 2022 FDD. The addressable market is currently 36 franchised units, with no company-owned locations identified.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
36
36 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+38.462%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
15%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$10K
per unit
Investment range
$12K–$25K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

16%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 16% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 15%, Ad fund 1%. Total 16% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 15%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 9 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all information that will be generated or stored in or through the online portal.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon reasonable written request by NLX, Franchisee shall provide financial reports to NLX, as NLX may require in the Manual or otherwise in writing, including: (i) a monthly profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the Business within 30 days after the end of each calendar month; (ii) an annual financial…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

NLX may change any such requirement or change the status of any vendor.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

For the year ended June 30, 2022, our gross revenue from the sale of the Software and Supplies Package was $0 or 0% of our total revenue of $309,774.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that the required purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business are 50% to 80% of your total purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use a supplier that is not on our list of approved suppliers, you must request our approval in writing.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

return Manual and on termination/non- return or turn over proprietary items and all items renewal bearing the Marks; notify phone, internet, and other providers and transfer service;

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate at its own expense in programs required from time to time by NLX for obtaining Member evaluations and/or reviewing Franchisee’s compliance with the System, which may include (but are not limited to) a NLX FDD 2022-2023 B-11 Initials ______/______ Franchise Agreement Member feedback system…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

NLX may examine and audit all books and records related to the Business, and supporting documentation, at any reasonable time.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

NLX may supplement, revise, or modify the Manual, and NLX may change, add or delete System Standards at any time in its discretion.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not conduct such marketing or commerce, nor establish any website or social media presence independently, except as NLX may specify, and only with NLX’s consent.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to require you to purchase or lease all goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, computer hardware and software, real estate, or comparable items related to establishing or operating your business (1) either from us, our designee, or from suppliers approved by us: or (2) according…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to require you to purchase or lease all goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, computer hardware and software, real estate, or comparable items related to establishing or operating your business (1) either from us, our designee, or from suppliers approved by us: or (2) according…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall sign an authorization substantially in the form attached to this Agreement as Schedule B and all other documents necessary to permit NLX to withdraw funds from Franchisee’s designated bank account by electronic funds transfer in the amount of the Royalty Fee, the Advertising Fund Contribution and all…

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all information that will be generated or stored in or through the online portal.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We do not currently require additional training programs or refresher courses, but we have the right to do so.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall use reasonable efforts to attend all in-person meetings and remote meetings (such as telephone conference calls) that NLX requires, including any national or regional brand conventions.

The filing answers no to 9 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 6
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Network LEX

Network LEX operates a compact but growing franchise system of 36 units, all franchised, with no company-owned locations disclosed in the 2022 FDD. The brand posted 38.46% year-over-year unit growth, signaling an expanding footprint that could create recurring software evaluation moments as new locations open. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 36 franchised outlets and a lean corporate headquarters in Florida. The royalty rate sits at 15.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2022 FDD lists a single HQ executive: Mark D. Nichols, General Counsel. In a system this size, the General Counsel often serves as the gatekeeper for vendor agreements, compliance, and technology mandates. Vendors should expect that any software pitch—whether for franchisee-facing tools or HQ infrastructure—will need to clear his office. No CIO, CTO, or VP of Operations is named in the filing, which suggests a centralized and tightly held decision-making process.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology explicitly mandated in the 2022 FDD is the Network LEX online portal. No point-of-sale system, accounting platform, payroll provider, or other operational software vendor is named. This absence of mandated third-party systems could represent a greenfield opportunity for vendors who can demonstrate compliance and operational value, but it also means you will need to do additional discovery to map the de facto tech stack in use across the franchisee base.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed. Franchisees sign 10-year initial agreements and can renew for up to two additional 10-year terms, provided they pay a $2,500 renewal fee, sign the then-current franchise agreement, and bring their operations into compliance with current standards. The 38.46% recent unit growth rate suggests that new franchisees are entering the system regularly, each representing a potential software implementation window. Renewal cycles, spaced a decade apart, are less frequent but still relevant for long-term enterprise contracts.

How to read the Network LEX FDD

The 2022 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Focus on Item 1 for the full list of executives and any parent-company relationships—though none are on file, as Network LEX appears independently owned. Item 11 is where you will find the franchisor's obligations regarding the mandated online portal and any other technology requirements. Because Item 8 is absent from our extract, vendors should review that section directly in the PDF for any supplier restrictions or purchasing cooperatives that may apply. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Network LEX, answered from the filing

The 2022 FDD lists only Mark D. Nichols, General Counsel, as an HQ executive. Initial software pitches likely need to clear his office, given the lean corporate structure and mandated tech requirements.
The FDD mandates use of the Network LEX online portal. No point-of-sale, accounting, or other operational software vendors are named in the 2022 disclosure.
The 2022 FDD reports 36 total units, all of which are franchised. No company-owned units were disclosed. Year-over-year unit growth was 38.46%.
The 2022 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract detailing designated or approved supplier requirements. The procurement model is not publicly disclosed in the filing.
Franchisees sign 10-year initial agreements and can renew for two additional 10-year terms. With 38.46% recent unit growth, new location openings may create recurring software evaluation windows.
The 2022 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Network LEX2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Network LEX files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Network LEX’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Network LEX

strategic_multibrand of United Franchise Group.

Sibling brands

Related Professional services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.