From the filings

+1.754% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Mad Science

Education

Software purchasing at Mad Science is controlled at the headquarters level, with key executives including Chief Innovation Officer Ron Shlien and VP of R&D and Operations Sharon King. The franchise mandates a specific stack including QuickBooks and proprietary scheduling and contact management applications. With 70 total units, the addressable market is concentrated but centrally managed.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
70
58 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+1.754%
vs prior filing
AUV
$388K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
8%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$49K
per unit
Investment range
$132K–$192K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

11%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 11% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 8%, Ad fund 3%. Total 11% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 8%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooksIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 8

s to our franchisees. Computer Hardware and Software You must purchase a personal computer running the latest Windows Operating System, Microsoft Office, a printer/scanner and the QuickBooks accountin

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

munications that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, L

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

h electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, You Tube, Instagram, Google Pl

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

ucting radio, television, electronic and print advertising campaigns in any local, regional or national medium; utilizing networking media social sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram,

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

uding, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, You Tube, Instagram, Google Plus, Pinterest, etc.), vi

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

s that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (for example, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Y

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

ion, electronic and print advertising campaigns in any local, regional or national medium; utilizing networking media social sites, such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram, YouTube and on-line

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must procure a computer system and/or accounting package/system meeting the specifications and standards prescribed by Franchisor from time to time in the Manuals.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have full access to all of Franchisee's data, system and related information by means of direct access, whether in person, by telephone/modem, or by other electronic or web-based system

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor such other periodic reports, forms and records as specified, in the manner and at the time specified in the Manuals or as Franchisor shall otherwise require in writing from time to time.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only approved supplier of the Original Equipment Package described in Item 5 and certain designated take-home products and materials used in the sale and delivery of programming, including the NASA Program.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have created a franchisee advisory board to help us in understanding franchisee priorities and obtaining franchisee feedback on a variety of matters.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor is the sole supplier of all marketing materials as of the date of this Agreement, but reserves the right to designate approved suppliers for any or all such materials.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

892536

Item 8

As of March 31, 2025, out of total revenues of $4,617,768, we received $892,536 from US franchisee purchases of Equipment Packages, branded products, marketing materials and the other items noted above, which was approximately 19.3% of our revenues for the fiscal year.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and any Franchisor-Related Person/Entity has the right to receive rebates, incentive amounts, discounts and other economic benefits from designated and other suppliers and to profit on any sales of equipment, materials, goods and services we and/or a Franchisor-Related Person/Entity may make to you.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

7

Item 8

We estimate that the proportion of your purchases and leases of goods and services from us or an affiliate, from approved suppliers or of products that meet our specifications will be approximately 25% of your purchases and leases in establishing your Mad Science Franchise and approximately 7% of your ongoing costs…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Fee for Review Currently $100-$200 As incurred The fee can be charged if you of New Product (estimated) propose to purchase, use or or Supplier offer items or suppliers not previously approved by us.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall notify Franchisor in writing, and submit to Franchisor such information, specifications, and samples as Franchisor requests, if Franchisee proposes to purchase, use or offer any type, brand and/or quality of items that has not been previously approved by Franchisor, or if Franchisee proposes to use…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On Termination of the Franchise Agreement, or on periodic request of Franchisor, Franchisee will immediately direct all Telephone companies or listing companies, Internet Service Providers, social media platforms; domain name registries, Internet search engines, and other listing agencies (collectively, the…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard and any revision to it adapted by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC (the “PCI Council”) or any successor organization or standards Franchisor may specify.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At any time during normal business hours, Franchisor or its designee may enter the Franchised Business or any other premises where these materials are maintained and inspect and/or audit Franchisee's business records and make copies to determine if Franchisee is accurately maintaining same.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor and Franchisor’s licensor, as applicable, shall have the right to add to and otherwise modify the Manuals from time to time to reflect changes in the specifications, standards, operating procedures and rules prescribed for Mad Science Franchises.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must propose to us a site for your Mad Science Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 16

Publish or use a website in connection with your Mad Science business, other than the website provided and supported by us or our designee;

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Each calendar month you will spend funds on advertising and promotion, for a total annual expenditure, in the first two years of operation, of at least $3,000, and in the third and subsequent years, of the greater of $3,000 or 3% (currently) of the Gross Revenues of your Mad Science Franchise from the previous fiscal…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase, use and offer each of, and only, such types, brands, quantity and/or quality of equipment, products, services, technology tools, and other items, whether bearing the Marks or not, as Franchisor designates and, where Franchisor so requires, use only suppliers as designated by Franchisor.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase, use and offer each of, and only, such types, brands, quantity and/or quality of equipment, products, services, technology tools, and other items, whether bearing the Marks or not, as Franchisor designates and, where Franchisor so requires, use only suppliers as designated by Franchisor.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All Royalty Fees, advertising, marketing and technology fees, amounts due for purchases by Franchisee from Franchisor or Franchisor Affiliates and other amounts which Franchisee owes to Franchisor must be paid through an Electronic Funds Transfer ("EFT") via Franchisor’s recommended payment platform, as set forth in…

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have access to all of your information and data, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access the information and data or to share it with the system or other third parties.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We also can require that you use and keep updated approved contact management software to track customer information.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may at your request or as we require, schedule additional training and/or assistance at your cost in order to help you in the operations of the Mad Science Franchise.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless otherwise excused by Franchisor in writing, Franchisee is required to attend all franchisee conferences, which will be held annually or at such intervals as Franchisor may determine is appropriate.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Mad Science

Mad Science operates 70 total units, with 58 franchised and 12 company-owned locations. The system reported an Average Unit Volume (AUV) of $388,000 and a year-over-year unit growth rate of 1.754%. The franchise is concentrated in a few key states, with the largest footprints in California (4 units), Florida (3), New Jersey (3), and Texas (3). All 36 mapped operators are single-unit owners, meaning no franchisee controls more than one location. This structure reinforces a top-down purchasing environment where the franchisor, not multi-unit operators, drives software decisions.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the headquarters level. The 2025 FDD lists Ariel Shlien as Chief Executive Officer and Director, Marco Holstvoogd as President, and Ron Shlien as Chief Innovation Officer. Sharon King, Vice President of Research & Development and Operations, and Samantha Superstein, Director of Marketing, round out the executive team. For a software vendor, the most relevant contacts are likely Ron Shlien, given his innovation mandate, and Sharon King, who oversees operations and R&D. The absence of any multi-unit operators further centralizes all technology decisions within this HQ group.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates five specific technology systems. Franchisees are required to use contact management software, Mad Science customized software applications, the Mad Science Extranet, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., and The Web-Based Scheduling Tool & Online Registration. This stack covers core operational needs from financial management with QuickBooks to customer scheduling and internal communication via the Extranet. Any vendor pitching a replacement or integration must address how their solution coexists with or improves upon these mandated tools, particularly the proprietary Mad Science applications.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Details on the formal procurement process are not disclosed in the most recent FDD; the Item 8 extract was unavailable. However, the franchise agreement structure provides timing signals. The initial term is 10 years, and compliant franchisees can renew for up to two additional successive terms of 5 years each. A previously renewed franchisee may secure one more 5-year term. These long cycles suggest that major software evaluations are infrequent and likely tied to system-wide initiatives rather than individual franchisee requests. Vendors should monitor for technology leadership changes or system-wide refresh announcements as key triggers.

How to read the Mad Science FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document provides the legal and operational baseline for this system. It confirms the 8% royalty fee, the 10-year initial term, and the mandated technology stack. The document also reveals the single-unit operator footprint and the HQ executive roster. For software vendors, the FDD is a critical resource to understand the franchisor's control points and the limited autonomy of franchisees. Review the embedded document below to verify these details and identify any additional compliance requirements that could affect a software deployment. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, contact FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Mad Science, answered from the filing

Key decision-makers include Ron Shlien, Chief Innovation Officer, and Sharon King, VP of R&D and Operations. The CEO, Ariel Shlien, and President, Marco Holstvoogd, are also listed in the FDD.
The FDD mandates contact management software, Mad Science customized software applications, the Mad Science Extranet, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., and The Web-Based Scheduling Tool & Online Registration.
There are 70 total units, comprising 58 franchised and 12 company-owned locations. The system shows 1.754% year-over-year unit growth.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8, which typically details purchasing requirements, provided no extract for analysis.
With an initial 10-year term and renewal options for successive 5-year terms, contract windows may align with these cycles. The system's slow unit growth suggests infrequent, HQ-driven evaluation periods.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Mad Science2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Mad Science files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

35 operators run 36 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit34
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

CA4
FL3
NJ3
TX3
VA2

Ownership

The portfolio behind Mad Science

unknown of 3908160 canada.

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.