From the filings

+25% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Legato Living Franchising

Health services

Software purchasing at Legato Living Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level, where CEO Erin Render and President Brett Render oversee a small but growing network of 5 franchised senior-care homes. The franchisor mandates QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. for accounting and Synkwise for operations, giving vendors a clear picture of the incumbent stack. With an average unit volume of $759,595.51 and 25% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is tight today but expanding.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
5 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+25%
vs prior filing
AUV
$760K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$255K–$1.35M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooksIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 8

hased from our designated suppliers. 5. Business Management System, Point of Sale and Computer Equipment – Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize Synkwise and QuickBooks. Addition

SynkwiseSynkwise
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 8

must be purchased from our designated suppliers. 5. Business Management System, Point of Sale and Computer Equipment – Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize Synkwise and QuickBoo

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall exclusively use the Business Management Systems designated by Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, and as may be modified, supplemented or replaced by Franchisor from time to time.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the information and data that is electronically transmitted on your business management/point of sale system and will have access to all data related to the financial performance of your Home.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business including, but not limited to, income statement, statement of cash flows, balance sheet, and other operational reports designated by Franchisor.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, may from time to time modify the list of approved brands, suppliers and distributors of System Supplies and approved equipment, supplies and services to be utilized by the Franchised Business

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

20

Item 8

approximately 20% of the on-going operating expenses of the Franchised Business

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a fee equal to the costs and expenses that we incur in reviewing and evaluating an alternate supplier, product, and/or service requested by you.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit 33 . Legato Living FDD April 16, 2025 additional information, samples, and testing data that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

and to the telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall undertake reasonable efforts to minimize the impact of any inspection on the operations of the Franchised Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our approval of your Home Location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not use any websites, web-based media or digital media unless expressly approved by us in writing.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business, Franchisee shall spend not less than $4,500 to $6,295 to market and promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business in accordance with Franchisor’s standards and specifications.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

On an on-going calendar year quarterly basis, you must spend not less than 1% of your quarterly Gross Sales on the local marketing of your Home.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee’s Home or Designated Territory is located within the geographic area of an Advertising Cooperative, franchisee must participate in and contribute to the Advertising Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the business management/point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Type of Fee Amount Due Date Remarks (Note 1) Royalty (Notes 2 and 3) Greater of 6% of Due monthly on Will be debited automatically from Gross Sales or the 10th of each your bank account by ACH or other minimum Royalty month for the means designated by us.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At all times, your Home must be managed and supervised on-site by either a Managing Owner or Operating Manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, the designated point of sale system that you must license and use is Synkwise and QuickBooks, as otherwise designated by us in the Manuals.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the information and data that is electronically transmitted on your business management/point of sale system and will have access to all data related to the financial performance of your Home.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Business Management System” refers to and means the software, internet, web based and/or cloud- based system or systems, point of sale system or systems and customer relationship management system 2 Legato Living FDD April 16, 2025 or systems as same may be individually, or collectively, designated by Franchisor, in…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we offer a franchisee annual conference in a given year you will be required to attend the conference on the dates and at the location that we designate.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Legato Living

Legato Living Franchising operates 5 franchised senior-care homes, all under a headquarters-led model based in Nebraska. The system posted 25% year-over-year unit growth, and the average unit volume sits at $759,595.51. For a software vendor, the immediate total addressable market is 5 locations — small, but with a royalty rate of 6.0% and a 10-year initial term, the franchisor has a vested interest in operational efficiency that technology can support.

The franchisor does not disclose any company-owned units in the 2025 FDD, so every operating location is a franchisee. That means any software sale must align with both HQ mandates and the unit-level economics of a roughly $760,000-revenue business. The growth rate signals that new units are coming online, and each new location represents a greenfield deployment opportunity if you can get into the stack early.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: Erin Render (Chief Executive Officer), Brett Render (President), Dustin Distefano (Chief Strategy Officer), Jerod Evanich (Chief Development Officer), and Andrew Frost (Area Representative). With no CIO or CTO named, the CEO and President are the most likely final decision-makers on enterprise software. Distefano, as Chief Strategy Officer, probably shapes the evaluation criteria, while Evanich, overseeing development, may influence tools that support site selection, construction, or new-unit onboarding.

Because the system is small and HQ-driven, vendors should expect a direct sales motion. There is no franchisee association or large operator group to navigate — the buying center is the C-suite in Nebraska.

Mandated and current tech stack

Legato Living mandates two systems in its 2025 FDD: QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. for accounting and Synkwise for operations. Synkwise is a senior-care-specific platform covering resident management, compliance, and care coordination, which means it likely touches the core workflows of each home. QuickBooks handles the financial layer.

No other mandated or recommended technology appears in the FDD. That leaves gaps in areas like HR, payroll, scheduling, marketing, and business intelligence — all of which could be wedge opportunities for vendors who can show compatibility with Synkwise and QuickBooks. The absence of a mandated POS or CRM is notable and worth probing in a discovery call.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not extract a procurement framework, so Legato Living has not publicly committed to a designated-supplier or approved-supplier model. In practice, this often means the franchisor evaluates vendors case-by-case and can mandate new systems through the Franchise Agreement without a formal purchasing co-op.

Renewal terms in Item 17 require a franchisee to provide 180 days’ written notice, sign the then-current form of Franchise Agreement, pay a renewal fee, and remodel the home to current standards. The renewal term is 10 years. With only 5 units and a 2025 FDD, most locations are likely early in their initial terms, so renewal-driven software swaps are not imminent. The bigger near-term trigger is new-unit development, given the 25% growth rate. Each new franchise signing is a potential software evaluation event.

How to read the Legato Living FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It contains the complete Item 1 executive roster, Item 11 tech mandates, Item 17 renewal conditions, and the audited financials that underpin the $759,595.51 AUV. Reviewing the FDD directly will give you the exact language on what franchisees must buy, what they may buy, and who at HQ has approval authority. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Legato Living Franchising, answered from the filing

The executive team led by CEO Erin Render and President Brett Render. Chief Strategy Officer Dustin Distefano and Chief Development Officer Jerod Evanich are also named in the FDD and likely influence operational and growth-related software decisions.
The 2025 FDD mandates QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. for accounting and Synkwise for operations. No POS or other operational systems are named as required or recommended.
Five total units, all franchised. Company-owned units are not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The system grew 25% year-over-year.
The FDD does not extract a designated-supplier or approved-supplier framework in Item 8. The procurement model is not publicly detailed, suggesting vendor evaluation may be direct with HQ.
Franchise agreements run 10 years. Renewal requires 180 days’ written notice and signing the then-current agreement. With only 5 units and 25% growth, new-unit openings may create earlier software evaluation windows than renewals.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below this section.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Legato Living Franchising2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Legato Living Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

10 operators run 10 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit10

Top states by locations

NE5
TX1
IN1
SC1
IA1

Related Health services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.