From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Key Club Development

Fitness

Software purchasing at Key Club Development is controlled at the corporate level by CEO Craig J. Annis. The franchise currently mandates a booking software system and uses the Vanguard Key Clubs intranet, with all 6 units being company-owned. The addressable market for vendors is currently limited to these 6 corporate locations, as no franchised units are reported in the 2025 FDD.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
6
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$207K–$528K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

to the Proprietary Marks. You are not permitted to promote your Vanguard Key Clubs or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, F

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

Clubs or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, FourSquare, Groupon, Living Social, Pinterest, Snapchat, Instagram, or Twitter

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

han on a website established or authorized by us in the future (“social media” includes personal blogs, common social networks like Facebook, Instagram, professional networks like LinkedIn, live-blogg

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

ote your Vanguard Key Clubs or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, FourSquare, Groupon, Living Social, Pinterest, Snapchat,

SnapchatSnapchat
MarketingItem 11

nguard Key Clubs or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, FourSquare, Groupon, Living Social, Pinterest, Snapchat, Instagram,

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, FourSquare, Groupon, Living Social, Pinterest, Snapchat, Instagram, or Twitter, without our

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

If we develop a proprietary line of proprietary products, our Affiliate will be the sole approved supplier of the Proprietary Products you must use, offer and sell at your Vanguard Key Clubs locations(s), and our Affiliate reserves the right to earn a profit from the sale of Proprietary Products to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may periodically change our standards and specifications related to the operation of the Vanguard Key Clubs, the services and products you may offer and the suppliers for the products you purchase.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, our Affiliate did not earn any revenue from the sale of Proprietary Products to our franchisees because we had no franchisees in the System.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to collect and retain any and all allowances, rebates, credits, incentives, or benefits (collectively, “Allowances”) offered by manufacturers, suppliers, and distributors to you, to us, or to our affiliates, based upon your purchases of products and services from manufacturers, suppliers, and…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

We estimate that the required purchases, if any, will constitute approximately 75% of your overall purchases and leases required to establish and operate the franchise.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must reimburse us for all of our reasonable expenses in evaluating a proposed product or supplier (but not more than $500).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use any product in establishing or operating the Franchised Business that we have not approved or if you wish to purchase from a supplier that we have not yet approved for the System, you must first send us sufficient information, specifications or samples for us to determine whether the product or…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

assign your telephone and facsimile numbers and telephone listings to us

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We will periodically visit the Franchised Business to inspect your operation of the Franchised Business and to advise, assist and guide you in various aspects of the operation and management of the Franchised Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

We may revise the contents of the Manual, and you must comply with each new or changed standard.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Unless we provide you with written approval that the site is approved, any site you propose will be deemed not approved.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain your own website; otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the internet or any other mode of electronic commerce in connection with your Vanguard Key Clubs; establish a link to any website we establish at or from any other website or page; or at any time establish any other website…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend $2,500 to $5,000 on advertising and promotion starting at least 30 days prior to opening and extending at least 30 days after opening.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must conduct advertising, outreach, promotions, and public relations in the Designated Territory surrounding the Franchised Business each month, and you must spend at least 2% of Gross Sales each month on your local marketing.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 6

Liquidated Present Value of Damages combined Royalty 8 Fee and Brand Development Fee for the 36 months, based on your average monthly Royalty Fee and Brand Development Fee payable during the one year preceding termination; discount rate is the Applicable Federal Rate published by the IRS for the period ending closest…

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in any Cooperative established in your region, but you will not have to participate in more than one Cooperative.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

The Royalty Fee and Brand Development Fees will be withdrawn from your designated bank account by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) on or about the 15th of each month based on Gross Sales for the preceding week ending Sunday.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Item 15 OBLIGATION TO PARTICIPATE IN THE ACTUAL OPERATION OF THE FRANCHISE BUSINESS The Franchised Business must always be under your direct full-time supervision or that of your Operating Owner ora General Manager for a multi-unit operation.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use certain computer hardware and software, including point of sale systems, that meet our written specifications and that are capable of electronically interfacing with our computer system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The computer system must allow us to have immediate access to the information monitored by the system, and there is no contractual limitation on our access or use of the information we obtain.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

If you Employees request that we train additional or replacement employees (including any replacement Operating Owner or General Manager you may hire), you must pay our Additional Training Fee.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we choose to hold an annual meeting, attendance will be mandatory for you, or your Owner Operator and your general manager.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 78.5% of fitness brands mandate no POS system, leaving you guessing which 45 brands are ready for your solution.Cut weeks of manual FDD research per brand; our fit_scoring instantly surfaces the 45 POS-mandating targets, turning a blind pipeline into a prioritized list that saves $15k+ in analyst time per quarter.
  2. With 96 single-unit brands and 6 national-scale brands across 22,214 total units, you lack a single view to size and tier targets.Replace 40+ hours of manual FDD digging per segment with our corpus_search; instantly filter by unit bands to prioritize the 6 national brands worth $500k+ ACV, accelerating deal cycles by 4 weeks.
  3. Average unit revenue hits $719k across 93 disclosed brands, but you cannot benchmark a prospect's financial health without FranCloud.Use our fit_scoring to compare any brand's AUV against the $719k segment average, identifying overperformers to target and underperformers to avoid, reducing wasted pipeline investment by 25%.

The vendor opportunity at Key Club Development

Key Club Development operates a small but focused fitness concept with 6 company-owned units, according to its 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to these corporate locations, as the FDD reports no franchised units. The brand is headquartered in New Hampshire and led by CEO Craig J. Annis. While the unit count is modest, the centralized ownership structure means a single sales cycle can cover the entire system. The royalty rate is 5.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years, with a 5-year renewal option. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

All purchasing authority rests at the corporate level. Craig J. Annis, listed as Chief Executive Officer in Item 1 of the 2025 FDD, is the key decision-maker for technology investments. There are no franchisees to influence or bypass, and no multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus. This makes Key Club Development a straightforward, top-down sale. Vendors should prepare a value proposition that speaks directly to the operational needs of a company-owned fitness chain, focusing on how their software can support centralized management across the existing 6 locations and any future expansion.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates a booking software system, though the specific vendor is not named in the available extracts. The document also references the Vanguard Key Clubs intranet as a platform used for operations. No point-of-sale, payroll, or inventory management systems are disclosed. This suggests potential whitespace for vendors offering complementary solutions that integrate with a mandated booking engine and intranet. When engaging HQ, be prepared to discuss API compatibility and how your tool fits into a lean, corporate-managed tech stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions, did not yield an extract in our corpus. This means the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly specified. Vendors should clarify this directly with HQ. The renewal cycle offers a potential trigger for software evaluation. Under Item 17, a franchisee may renew for a successive 5-year term if they meet conditions including remodeling to current system standards, satisfying all monetary obligations, and signing a current franchise agreement. For the corporate parent, these renewal conditions signal periodic reviews of operational standards, which could include technology upgrades. With a 10-year initial term, major system overhauls are likely tied to these renewal inflection points or to the opening of new company-owned locations.

How to read the Key Club Development FDD

The 2025 FDD provides the foundational data for any vendor considering Key Club Development as a prospect. Focus on Item 1 to confirm the executive team and ownership structure, Item 11 for the full list of mandated technology and suppliers, and Item 17 to understand the renewal conditions that drive system-wide compliance updates. The embedded PDF viewer below contains the complete filing. Use it to verify the scope of the tech mandate and to identify any additional operational requirements that your software can address. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your product, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Key Club Development, answered from the filing

Craig J. Annis, the Chief Executive Officer, is the primary executive on file. As a small, company-owned system, purchasing decisions are centralized at the corporate level.
The 2025 FDD mandates a booking software system. It also references the Vanguard Key Clubs intranet as a core operational platform. No specific POS vendor is named.
There are 6 total units, all of which are company-owned. The FDD does not list any franchised locations currently in operation.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extract. Vendors should inquire directly with HQ to understand designated or approved supplier requirements.
Renewal terms are 5 years, contingent on meeting system standards and being in good standing. With a 10-year initial term, contract review cycles are infrequent unless triggered by new openings or compliance updates.
The FDD is filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Key Club Development2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Key Club Development files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Fitness brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.