From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Jani-King Franchising

Home services

Software purchasing at Jani-King Franchising is controlled at the corporate level, with President and CEO James A. Cavanaugh, Jr. and COO John Crawford as key decision-makers. The franchise mandates the Jani-King Accounting System across its 87 total units (75 franchised, 12 company-owned). For vendors, this represents a small, centralized addressable market where a single HQ relationship can unlock all locations.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
87
75 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$100K
per unit
Investment range
$170K–$2.88M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisee discretion
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

16 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 10 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you install the Jani-King Accounting System.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to inspect or examine the accounts, books, records and tax returns (including payroll records) of Franchisee, the Principals, and any Affiliate (as defined below) of Franchisee or the Principals, at any reasonable time, so far as the same pertain to the Franchisee’s obligations under…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and certain of our affiliates are approved suppliers of the required products and equipment but we are not the only approved suppliers.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may, from time to time, hereafter or otherwise, change the System and brand standards, including, without limitation, the adoption and use of new or modified Proprietary Marks, Confidential Information, Products, and Services;

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We receive rebates ranging from 5% to 10% of the amount of purchases of equipment and supplies sold to our franchisees by unaffiliated approved suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

10.8

Item 8

approximately 10.8% to 12.8% of your overall purchases in connection with the operation of the business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

In order to obtain approval for a different supplier, you must request approval from the Regional Director or Operations Manager and provide any information about the proposed supplier that the Regional Director or Operations Manager, as applicable, needs in order to make a decision on the qualification of the…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

assign to Franchisor all rights to the telephone numbers and social media accounts of the Regional Franchise business and execute all forms required by any telephone company or social media company to transfer such service, numbers, and social media accounts to Franchisor or its designee, and Regional Franchisee may…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may from time to time visit locations under your care and perform a brand standards review.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right to prescribe additions to, deletions from or revisions of the Manual (the “Supplements to JANI-KING OF BUFFALO, INC.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Office selection, layout and furnishing must be approved by us to protect the image and reputation of JANI-KING.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may not maintain a website, unless such presence is a page on Jani-King’s own website domain.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You are required to hire at least one employee for your business, other than yourself or your principals.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is solely responsible for ensuring that its representatives are in uniforms that comply with Franchisor’s brand standards, including that said uniforms are approved, neat, and clean at any time Franchisee’s representatives are performing services at a customer’s facility.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

There currently is no charge for the additional instruction or refresher courses, and although we do not currently charge for any special assistance or additional instruction of any franchisee, we reserve the right to charge up to $50 per hour, plus expenses for additional instruction and other assistance which we…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Attendance at Jani-King’s annual meeting is mandatory and Regional Franchisee agrees to arrange for one or more of its executives to attend each annual meeting.

The filing answers no to 10 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at Jani-King

Jani-King Franchising operates 87 total units—75 franchised and 12 company-owned—making it a compact but centralized target for software vendors. The brand is headquartered in Texas and has a footprint concentrated in Florida, with 1 mapped operator on file. No multi-unit operators are recorded, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed in the 2024 FDD. The royalty rate is 5.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 20 years. For a software vendor, the opportunity lies in a single decision-making node at HQ that controls technology mandates across the entire system.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD lists James A. Cavanaugh, Jr. as President, Chief Executive Officer, Secretary, and Director, alongside John Crawford as Chief Operating Officer. These are the most senior executives on file and the likely buyers for any enterprise software pitch. Lauren M. Rambo serves as Assistant Secretary, and Theodore “Ted” Looney is Vice President – Education & Training of JK INT’L. With no parent company on file, Jani-King appears independently owned, meaning purchasing authority is not diluted across a larger corporate hierarchy. Vendors should direct outreach to the C-suite, particularly the CEO and COO.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology explicitly mandated in the 2024 FDD is the Jani-King Accounting System. No POS, CRM, payroll, or operational platforms are named as required or recommended. This suggests a lean tech stack with potential gaps that vendors could fill—but also means any pitch must account for integration with the proprietary accounting system. The absence of other named vendors in the FDD does not confirm they are absent from operations, only that they are not mandated.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no extract regarding procurement or designated suppliers, so the procurement model remains unspecified. Renewal terms, however, are clearly defined in Item 17: franchisees in good standing may renew for additional 20-year periods by providing written notice 7 to 12 months before expiration and signing a general release. The renewal agreement may be materially different from the original. This long cycle means software contract opportunities are tied to renewal windows or new unit openings, though unit growth data is not disclosed.

How to read the Jani-King FDD

The 2024 Jani-King Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 17 (renewal and contract timing). The FDD confirms a small, HQ-controlled system with a single mandated tech tool and no disclosed procurement program. Use these details to tailor your pitch around integration with the Jani-King Accounting System and direct engagement with the CEO and COO. For a ranked target list of franchise brands aligned to your software, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Jani-King Franchising, answered from the filing

President and CEO James A. Cavanaugh, Jr. and COO John Crawford are the top executives listed in the FDD and likely control purchasing decisions.
The FDD mandates the Jani-King Accounting System. No other operational or POS technology is disclosed as required.
87 total units: 75 franchised and 12 company-owned. The operator footprint shows 1 mapped operator in Florida.
The FDD does not disclose a designated supplier or procurement program in Item 8. The procurement model is not specified.
With a 20-year initial term and renewal windows requiring notice 7–12 months before expiration, contract review cycles are infrequent and long-term.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Jani-King Franchising2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Jani-King Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

53 operators run 72 mapped locations. 4 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit49
2–9 units3
10–24 units1

Top states by locations

LA5
FL5
TN5
TX5
AL4

Ownership

The portfolio behind Jani-King Franchising

single_brand_holdco of Jani-King.

Sibling brands

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.