From the filings

+50% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Home Smiles Franchising

Home services

Software purchasing control at Home Smiles Franchising sits with HQ leadership, specifically Chief Executive Officer Jesshill E. Love and Chief Administrative Officer Tanya Cruzada. The franchise currently operates 7 total units (6 franchised, 1 company-owned) and mandates ServiceTitan by ServiceTitan, Inc. alongside a proprietary HomeSmiles CRM. With a 50% year-over-year unit growth rate and an average unit volume of $221,103.50, the addressable market is small but expanding.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
7
6 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+50%
vs prior filing
AUV
$221K
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$179K–$226K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a supplier (which may include us or our affiliates) as the exclusive supplier for the System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, we did not earn any revenue from approved suppliers based on our franchisees’ purchases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

10

Item 8

We estimate that your purchase of goods and services from suppliers according to our specifications, including your purchase of goods or services from our designated exclusive suppliers, to represent approximately 25% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately 10% of…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

shall pay to Franchisor a Supplier Evaluation Fee per requested product, service, equipment, supply, supplier and/or distributor to be considered

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In the event of the termination of this Agreement, for any reason, that the accounts related to all telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business and all rights in and to the telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Customer Satisfaction Non-Compliance Event” refers to and means any circumstance and/or event whereby Franchisee’s monthly customer satisfaction and/or approval ratings, as measured on a monthly basis by a reputation management and/or customer review platform designated or selected by Franchisor, fails to achieve an…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right at any time during business hours, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s non-residential Administrative Office, Service Vehicles and System Supplies.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must obtain Franchisor’s written approval of the location of Franchisee’s Administrative Office.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business, Franchisee shall spend not less than $12,000 to market and promote the grand-opening of the Franchised Business in accordance with Franchisor’s standards and specifications;

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must contribute a monthly sum of 3% of monthly Gross Sales to the Franchisor directed marketing, subject to an annual minimum local marketing requirement of $32,000.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You will also be required to utilize those customer reward programs and systems that we designate.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee’s HomeSmiles Business or Operating Territory is located within the geographic area of an Advertising Cooperative, franchisee must participate in and contribute to the Advertising Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies from us, our affiliates, or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only offer and sell the Approved Services and Products that we designate and you may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Payment is subject to our specification and instruction, including, our election to have all fees automatically drafted from your business bank account or automatically debited or charged to your business bank account.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must use our designated supplier and vendor for the ability to access and use online, point of sale integrated, web based, and/or app based, ordering, customer rewards, and/or gift card systems.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Managing Owner must at all times be actively involved in the operation of the Franchised Business unless Franchisee delegates management functions to an authorized Operating Manager who, among other things, satisfactorily completes Franchisor’s Initial Training Program and, otherwise meets the criteria and…

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

For the protection of the System, you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our 20 HomeSmiles.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, Serviceminder is the designated point of sale and business management system that you must exclusively license and use in the day to day operations and overall management of your HomeSmiles Business.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we will possess direct access to the Business Management System used by you and we will have access to all information entered into these systems including, including information about your sales and customers.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Business Management System” refers to and means the software, internet, web based and/or cloud based system or systems, point of sale system or systems and customer relationship management system or systems as same may be individually or collectively designated by us, in our Reasonable Business Judgment, as being…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor provides instructors and training materials for those programs and seminars, but Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at Home Smiles

Home Smiles Franchising is a home services concept headquartered in California. According to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of 7 total units—6 franchised and 1 company-owned. The average unit volume sits at $221,103.50, with a royalty rate of 6.0% and an initial franchise term of 10 years. Year-over-year unit growth reached 50.0%, signaling an expanding, albeit small, footprint.

For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 7 locations. However, the growth trajectory and the franchisor’s centralized control over technology decisions create a single point of entry for sales. The franchisor mandates specific operational software, meaning any new tool must either integrate with or replace existing mandated systems, or address an unmet need at the HQ level.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2023 FDD Item 1 identifies the key executives at Home Smiles HQ. Jesshill E. Love serves as Chief Executive Officer and Director, while Tanya Cruzada holds the role of Chief Administrative Officer. David Espinoza is listed as Lead Field Technician. Given the small size of the system and the absence of any disclosed multi-unit operators in our corpus, software purchasing authority is concentrated at the corporate level. Vendors should direct their outreach to Mr. Love and Ms. Cruzada, who represent the likely buying center for any technology evaluation.

Mandated and current tech stack

Home Smiles mandates two specific technology systems for its franchisees. The first is a proprietary platform called HomeSmiles CRM. The second is ServiceTitan, provided by ServiceTitan, Inc. These mandates are disclosed in the FDD and represent non-negotiable operational tools for franchisees. Any software vendor pitching into this system must articulate a clear integration path with ServiceTitan or demonstrate how their solution complements the existing CRM without conflicting with the franchisor’s mandated stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an extract for Item 8, meaning the franchisor’s procurement model—whether it uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open framework—is not disclosed in the most recent filing. This absence of data means vendors should inquire directly about supplier onboarding processes during initial conversations.

Regarding contract timing, Item 17 outlines the renewal conditions. Franchisees must provide 180 days’ prior written notice, sign the then-current form of Franchise Agreement, execute a general release in favor of the franchisor, and pay a renewal fee. The renewal term is 10 years. These long cycles and the 180-day notice window suggest that software evaluation and switching decisions are likely tied to renewal events, creating periodic, predictable opportunities for vendors who engage well in advance of those dates.

How to read the Home Smiles FDD

The full 2023 Home Smiles Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. This document is the primary source for verifying unit counts, executive names, financial performance representations, and contractual obligations. Reviewing Item 11 for mandated technology, Item 1 for decision-makers, and Item 17 for renewal timing will give any software vendor a fact-based foundation before initiating contact. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, speak to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Home Smiles Franchising, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Jesshill E. Love (Chief Executive Officer and Director) and Tanya Cruzada (Chief Administrative Officer), as listed in the 2023 FDD Item 1.
The 2023 FDD mandates two systems: a proprietary HomeSmiles CRM and ServiceTitan by ServiceTitan, Inc. for operational management.
There are 7 total units: 6 franchised and 1 company-owned, as disclosed in the 2023 FDD.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD; Item 8 contains no extract regarding designated or approved suppliers.
Renewal requires 180 days' written notice and signing the then-current agreement for a new 10-year term. Compliance and a general release are also required.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Home Smiles Franchising2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Home Smiles Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

9 operators run 9 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit9

Top states by locations

OR2
CA2
NV1
UT1
ID1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.