From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Gym Skills Franchising

Fitness

Gym Skills Franchising's most recent FDD, from 2023, discloses 3 locations — 2 company-owned and 1 franchised — in the fitness segment; average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The only person on file from Item 1 is Kenneth W. Crump, Agent for Service of Process, so no officer, CIO, or CTO is disclosed and the buying center cannot be named from this filing. The FDD mandates one system, iClassPro, and names Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Square, Twitter and YouTube without requiring any of them.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
1 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$38K
per unit
Investment range
$188K–$297K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 1%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

iClassProiClassPro
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 11

vices and electronic cash register/point-of-sale system (i.e., the “POS System”) we require, which we have the right to change at any time. Currently, our designated POS System is IClassPro CRM and Sq

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 13

c media, including the Internet, or any social media, for viewing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, MySpace®,

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 13

ing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, MySpace®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on You

SnapchatSnapchat
MarketingItem 13

e Internet, or any social media, for viewing by the public that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, MySpace®, SnapChat®, or simila

SquareBlock
POSItem 7

s we require in the Manual or otherwise in writing from Approved Suppliers. This estimate includes the initial cost of our POS System A-11 Gym Skills FDD – 2023 (IClassPro CRM and Square Register), on

TwitterX
MarketingItem 13

, MySpace®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on YouTube®, or utilize other, similar social media, without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Twitter® feed or oth

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 13

that contains our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, MySpace®, SnapChat®, or similar page, post through Instagram® or on YouTube®, or utilize

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Gym Skills has the right to independently access any and all information on your POS System, at any time, without first notifying you.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall submit to Gym Skills, on or before the fifteenth (15th) day following the end of each month, financial reports on the income and expenses of the Gym Skills Business in the format specified in the Manual.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may become an approved supplier, and/or the only supplier, for any item, product, good and/or service at any time.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to designate one supplier for any given item or service.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In our last fiscal year, ending on December 31, 2022, we received $0 in revenue from all required purchases and leases of products and services by franchisees, including purchases of items to be resold in the Business, and rebates we receive from third-parties.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliate(s) may receive payments or other compensation from Approved Suppliers or any other suppliers on account of these suppliers’ dealings with us, you, or other Franchised Businesses in the System, such as rebates, commissions or other forms of compensation.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

Required Purchases, purchases from Approved Suppliers and purchases that must meet our specifications in total will be about 75-85% of your total purchases to establish the Business and about 75-85% of your purchases to continue the operation of the Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The current Supplier and Product Evaluation Fee is one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each alternative supplier request You submit to Us.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to undertake either of these actions, you must request and obtain our approval in writing before: (i) using or offering the non-approved product or service in connection with your Franchised Business; or (ii) purchasing from a non-approved supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 11

you acknowledge and agree that we will own all rights and interest in each telephone number (regardless of whether such telephone number pre-existed any Franchise Agreement) and telephone directory listing, email address, domain name, social media platform, and comparable electronic identify that is associated in any…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall at all times be compliant with all Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, any and all requirements imposed by all applicable payment processors and payment networks, including credit card and debit card processors, and any and all state and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to data…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must present customers with such evaluation cards or forms as the Franchisor may periodically prescribe, for return by the customers to Gym Skills

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Gym Skills and/or its designated agents or representatives may conduct periodic quality control and records inspections of the Gym Skills Business at any time during the Term.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

Update the manuals to incorporate improvements and new developments in the System. These revisions may be made at any time (See Section 5.4 of the Franchise Agreement);

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 14

We must approve your site before you open your Gym Skills Business franchise.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless otherwise approved in writing by Gym Skills, You shall not establish a separate Website.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall spend at least $1,500 on a grand opening advertising program conducted in accordance with the guidelines for such a program in the Manual, in addition to Your regular monthly Local Advertising pursuant to Section 7.5.2 of this Agreement.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to spend at least 1% of Gross Revenue per month on local advertising each month, as outlined in Item 7 of this Franchise Disclosure Document.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless we specify otherwise in writing, you may be required to purchase all goods, items, products, equipment and services required for the development and operation of the Business from our approved or designated suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Payment of royalties and fees shall be made by electronic funds transfer or direct deposit.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

However, another employee who has successfully completed Gym Skills’ initial training program shall be present at the Business whenever the Gym Skills Business is open for business.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the complete computer software services and electronic cash register/point-of-sale system (i.e., the “POS System”) we require, which we have the right to change at any time.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Gym Skills has the right to independently access any and all information on your POS System, at any time, without first notifying you.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, our designated POS System is IClassPro CRM and Sqaure register; however, this POS System is subject to change at any time.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

fees) Technology Fee $99 Monthly We may charge you for training newly hired personnel; for refresher training courses; for the Currently, we charge annual convention; and $250 per person, per for additional or special day plus expenses for assistance or training you Additional Training training at our location, When…

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 14

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 78.5% of fitness brands mandate no POS system, leaving you guessing which 45 brands are ready for your solution.Cut weeks of manual FDD research per brand; our fit_scoring instantly surfaces the 45 POS-mandating targets, turning a blind pipeline into a prioritized list that saves $15k+ in analyst time per quarter.
  2. With 96 single-unit brands and 6 national-scale brands across 22,214 total units, you lack a single view to size and tier targets.Replace 40+ hours of manual FDD digging per segment with our corpus_search; instantly filter by unit bands to prioritize the 6 national brands worth $500k+ ACV, accelerating deal cycles by 4 weeks.
  3. Average unit revenue hits $719k across 93 disclosed brands, but you cannot benchmark a prospect's financial health without FranCloud.Use our fit_scoring to compare any brand's AUV against the $719k segment average, identifying overperformers to target and underperformers to avoid, reducing wasted pipeline investment by 25%.

The vendor opportunity at Gym Skills Franchising

Gym Skills Franchising is a fitness brand headquartered in Ohio, and the most recent FDD on file is from 2023. That filing reports 3 total locations — 2 company-owned and 1 franchised. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, and year-over-year unit growth is not available, so neither system revenue nor momentum can be read from this document. The royalty is 7.0% and the initial term runs 10 years. Three units is a design-partner footprint, not a volume play.

Who controls software purchasing

Item 1 yields one name, and it is not a buyer. Kenneth W. Crump is listed as Agent for Service of Process, the legal contact a franchisor must designate — no chief executive, no operations lead, no CIO or CTO is disclosed in the most recent FDD. That means the buying center cannot be named from this filing, and any outreach has to start with discovery rather than a named title. No parent company is on file either, so Gym Skills appears independently owned with nothing above the franchisor to route a decision through.

Structurally the decision is a headquarters decision by elimination. With 2 of 3 units company-owned and a single franchised unit, there is no franchisee association and no multi-unit operator with the scale to buy independently. Our operator mapping finds 1 operator, not multi-unit, across roughly 1 located unit, in Ohio.

Tech named in the FDD, and what is actually required

One system is mandated: iClassPro. The FDD obliges the franchisee to use it, which puts class scheduling and member management under contract and makes that the one category with a contractual incumbent. Six further names appear without that obligation — Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Square, Twitter and YouTube — and the filing requires none of them. Square deserves the same care here as anywhere: it is named in the document, which shows the drafter had it in mind, not that the brand runs it, so payments and point of sale should be read as open on the face of this filing rather than as an incumbent to displace. The six social platforms are mentions, not commitments.

For a vendor that shape is workable: the franchisor is willing to write technology into the agreement, while everything adjacent to iClassPro — payments, marketing, workforce — sits uncommitted, with no contractual obligation to argue with.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 is where designated-supplier and approved-supplier obligations normally sit, and this filing produced no Item 8 extract, so whether Gym Skills runs a designated, approved, or open procurement model is not established by the data we hold. Item 17 sets the renewal shape: a 10-year successor term, conditioned on good standing, timely advance notice, payment of any then-current renewal fee, signing a new franchise agreement that may contain materially different terms and conditions than the one attached to this disclosure document, being current in payments, signing a release, and modernizing the business to meet then-current standards. That modernization condition is the vendor-relevant one — renewal is when the standards, and the systems that satisfy them, get respecified.

How to read the Gym Skills Franchising FDD

The 2023 document was filed with state franchise regulators, and the full PDF is embedded in the viewer below. Item 1 gives the entity chain and the agent for service of process named above; Item 8 covers supplier obligations; Item 11 covers computer systems and required technology, which is where the iClassPro mandate is enforced and where the absence of any other requirement can be confirmed; Item 17 covers renewal and the 10-year successor term; Item 20 carries the unit tables behind the 3-unit count. If you want Gym Skills Franchising scored against the rest of the US franchise corpus and returned as a ranked target list, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Gym Skills Franchising, answered from the filing

Not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The only person on file from Item 1 is Kenneth W. Crump, Agent for Service of Process — a legal contact, not a buyer. No officers, CIO, or CTO are listed, and no parent company is on file, so the franchisor itself is the buying center by elimination.
One system: iClassPro, which the FDD obliges the franchisee to use — class and member management is the category under contract. Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Square, Twitter and YouTube appear in the filing but it requires none of them, so payments and social are open rather than incumbent-held.
The 2023 FDD reports 3 locations in the fitness segment: 2 company-owned and 1 franchised. Year-over-year unit growth is not available. Our mapping places 1 operator, not multi-unit, at roughly 1 located unit, in Ohio.
Not established. Item 8, where designated-supplier and approved-supplier requirements live, produced no extract from this filing, so we cannot say whether Gym Skills runs a designated, approved, or open model. The only hard supplier signal is the iClassPro mandate.
The initial term is 10 years with a 10-year successor term. Renewal requires good standing, timely advance notice, a then-current renewal fee, a new franchise agreement with possibly materially different terms, current payments, a release, and modernizing the business to then-current standards — that last condition is where technology gets respecified.
It was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. The full PDF is embedded in the viewer below — read Item 1 for the entity chain, Item 8 for suppliers, Item 11 for computer systems and required technology, Item 17 for renewal, and Item 20 for the unit counts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Gym Skills Franchising2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Gym Skills Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

OH1

Related Fitness brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.