From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Facialworks Franchising

Personal services

Software purchasing at Facialworks Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by a small executive team including Co-Founder and CEO Jason Gilboa. The system currently operates 4 company-owned units with no franchised locations reported, and mandates Zenoti by Zenoti, Inc. as its core operational platform. The addressable market is limited to these 4 existing locations, with growth dependent on future franchising activity.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
4
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$60K
per unit
Investment range
$436K–$854K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ZenotiZenoti
Mandatory
POSItem 6

the point of sale systems that we designate from time to time, currently Zenoti. The POS system fee is the current monthly license fee to access the point of sale systems that we designate. The POS s

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

29 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the information and data that is electronically transmitted on your point of sale system and will have access to all data related to the financial performance of your Studio.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Our affiliate, Skintologist, LLC is currently designated as an approved supplier of skincare products that you must use and sell at your Studio Location.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, may from time to time modify the list of approved brands, suppliers and distributors of System Supplies and approved equipment, supplies and services to be utilized by the Franchised Business

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, we have not received revenue from suppliers from franchisee purchases of source restricted products or services.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliates may receive rebates, payments and other material benefits from suppliers based on your purchases and we reserve the right to institute and expand rebate programs in the future.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

35

Item 8

We estimate that your purchase of goods and services from us or our approved suppliers, or that must conform to our specifications, will represent approximately 80% of your total purchases in establishing your Studio and approximately 35% of your total purchases in the continuing operations of your Studio.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a fee equal to the costs and expenses that we incur in reviewing and evaluating an alternate supplier, product, and/or service requested by you.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information, samples, and testing data that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In the event of the termination of this Agreement, for any reason, that the accounts related to all telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business and all rights in and to the telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right at any and all times during business hours, throughout the terms of this Agree and 43 Facialworks FDD January 18, 2024, amended June 27, 2024 without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s Studio.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Although you are responsible for selecting a site for your Studio Location you must obtain our approval of your Studio Location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not use any websites, web-based media or digital media unless expressly approved by us in writing.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

You must spend a minimum of $25,000 to $30,000 prior to the opening your Studio to promote your grand opening.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On-going, and on a monthly basis, Franchisee must spend not less than $1,000 per month on the local marketing of the Franchised Business within and/or targeted to Franchisee’s Designated Territory.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

participate in, offer, redeem, and honor, without the offset to any fees due to Franchisor, all Gift Card and customer loyalty programs designated by Franchisor

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we elect to form a local or regional cooperative or if a cooperative already exists as to the area of your Studio, you will be required to participate in the cooperative in accordance with the provisions of our operations manual which we may supplement and modify from time to time.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(c) exclusively purchase all System Supplies, including, but not limited to, merchandise, inventory, and supplies, from Franchisor or Franchisor’s designated suppliers;

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Royalty Fee payments will be paid monthly and sent by ACH, electronic funds transfer, or as otherwise designated by Franchisor and shall be due on the 3rd of each monthly Accounting Period (for the preceding month and each month thereafter throughout the entire Term of this Agreement) or such other specific day of…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

issue, sell, redeem, honor, and accept, without the offset to any fees due to Franchisor, all Gift Cards designated by Franchisor and participate in, offer, redeem, and honor, without the offset to any fees due to Franchisor, all Gift Card and customer loyalty programs designated by Franchisor

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

For the protection of the System, you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize a Zenoti point of sale system with one configured hardware terminal.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to all of the information and data that is electronically transmitted on your point of sale system and will have access to all data related to the financial performance of your Studio.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Business Management System” means the software, internet, web based and/or cloud based system or systems, point of sale system or systems and customer relationship management system or systems as same may be individually or collectively designated by us, in our Reasonable Business Judgment, as being required for use…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we offer a franchisee annual conference in a given year you will be required to attend the conference on the dates and at the location that we designate.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 68.6% of brands mandate no accounting system, meaning 93 brands are ripe for displacement, but I lack the unit-count and financial context to prioritize them.Focusing on the wrong 10 brands costs a rep 2+ deals per quarter. FranCloud's fit_scoring layers AUV and unit growth onto tech gaps, so reps chase only the 93 with real revenue potential.
  3. Even when I know which brands to target, I can't get reliable decision-maker contacts for the 277 brands with disclosed unit counts.SDRs spend 5+ hours/week hunting contacts. FranCloud's contact_enrichment delivers verified contacts in-line, saving 260 hours/year per rep and adding 15% more meetings.

The vendor opportunity at Facialworks

Facialworks Franchising presents a nascent opportunity for software vendors. The system, headquartered in California, operates 4 company-owned units with no franchised locations reported in the most recent FDD. The total addressable market for a vendor today is therefore limited to these 4 existing locations. The franchise offering is active, however, and any future franchise sales would expand the unit count and create new technology onboarding events. The royalty rate is set at 6.0% of gross revenue, and the initial franchise term runs for 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the 2024 FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology purchasing decisions at Facialworks are centralized at the headquarters level. The FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Jason Gilboa, Co-Founder, Chief Executive Officer, and Manager; Meghan Ellis Gilboa, Co-Founder, President, and Manager; Scott Pho, Director of Operations; and Brooke Gross, Director of Training and Education. For a software vendor, the primary buying center likely includes the CEO and President as ultimate decision-makers, with the Director of Operations influencing tools that affect studio workflows and the Director of Training and Education evaluating platforms that support staff onboarding and ongoing education. No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, meaning there is no separate franchisee buying layer to navigate at this time.

Mandated and current tech stack

Facialworks mandates a single technology system according to the 2024 FDD: Zenoti by Zenoti, Inc. Zenoti serves as the operational platform, likely covering point-of-sale, appointment scheduling, and business management functions typical of personal services franchises. No other mandated or recommended systems are named in the filing. For vendors selling complementary or replacement software, this means any pitch must address integration with or displacement of Zenoti. The absence of other named vendors in areas such as payroll, marketing automation, or HRIS suggests open greenfield for those categories, though any purchasing would still require HQ approval.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether Facialworks uses designated suppliers, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement process—is not disclosed. Vendors should clarify this directly during discovery conversations. On the renewal side, Item 17 provides a clear window: franchisees must give 180 days' prior written notice to renew, sign the then-current form of Franchise Agreement, pay a renewal fee, and remodel or upgrade their studio to meet current standards. The renewal term is 10 years. Because no franchised units are yet reported, the initial vendor selection cycle for new franchisees will be the first meaningful window for software vendors to engage. Monitoring franchise sales activity will be key to timing outreach.

How to read the Facialworks FDD

The 2024 Facialworks Franchise Disclosure Document is the foundational research tool for any vendor evaluating this brand. Key sections for software sales professionals include Item 1 (the franchisor and its executives), Item 11 (franchisor's obligations, where mandated technology often appears), and Item 17 (renewal and termination, which signals contract windows). The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full filing. Use it to verify the decision-makers, confirm the current tech stack, and identify any additional procurement requirements not captured in this summary. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Facialworks Franchising, answered from the filing

The buying center is led by Co-Founder and CEO Jason Gilboa and Co-Founder and President Meghan Ellis Gilboa. Director of Operations Scott Pho and Director of Training and Education Brooke Gross are also likely influencers for operational and training technology decisions.
The 2024 FDD mandates Zenoti by Zenoti, Inc. as the operational platform. No other mandated or recommended technology systems are disclosed in the filing.
The system consists of 4 total units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed, suggesting the franchise program may be in its early stages.
The FDD does not contain an Item 8 extract detailing procurement requirements. The procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not disclosed in the available data.
The initial franchise term is 10 years. Renewal requires 180 days' written notice and signing the then-current Franchise Agreement. With no franchised units yet reported, initial vendor selection windows may align with new franchisee onboarding.
The Facialworks 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the full document for procurement, technology, and decision-maker details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Facialworks Franchising2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Facialworks Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

CA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Facialworks Franchising

unknown of facialworks holdings.

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.