From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Dixie's Franchising

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Dixie's Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by a small executive team including CEO Michael T. Colby and COO Scott Adams. The franchise currently mandates a point of sale computer system and point of sale software, though specific vendors are not named in the 2023 FDD. With only 3 total units (1 franchised, 2 company-owned), the addressable market is extremely limited, but early vendor relationships could lock in a growing concept.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
1 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
—
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
—
Item 19
Royalty
5.5% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
2%
percentage component
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$716K–$2.66M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

5.5% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2023)

Recorded percentage components (FY2023)Ad fund 2%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 technology requirements are recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.

BrinkPAR Technology
Mandatory
POSItem 8

You must purchase certain kitchen supplies and equipment only from a supplier approved by us in writing. Paper Products You must purchase certain paper products only from a supplier approved by us in writing. POS System You must purchase and use the Brink point-of-sale system meeting our standards and specifications {00302162-1 } -18- Changes to Designated Suppliers We reserve the right to add, remove or otherwise change designated sources for any products or services in our sole discretion at any time. Therefore, the lists of designated suppliers and approved products and services may be modified by us from time to time, at our option, upon written notice to you.

SyscoSysco
Mandatory
InventoryItem 8

As of the date of this Disclosure Document, we have identified the following designated sources for certain products and services that you must purchase and use in connection with the establishment and operation of your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant. Food Products (generally) You must purchase certain food products for your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant only from Sysco Foods, based in Houston, Texas, and U.S. Foods Inc., based in Rosemont, Illinois. Bakery Products You must purchase certain bakery products for your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant only from a supplier approved by us in writing.

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

29 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

including the designation of specific brands or models of accounting software or other software used for word processing, spreadsheets and other office functions, that you must use in the operation of your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

and computer hardware used at Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurants are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system at all times, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain from your point of sale and…

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not later than March 1st after the end of each calendar year during the term of this Agreement, your complete annual financial statement (which may be unaudited), including a balance sheet, profit and loss statement, and statement of cash flows, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate ourselves or our affiliates as approved or designated suppliers of any item.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to add, remove or otherwise change designated sources for any products or services in our sole discretion at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Neither we nor our affiliates had any revenues from the sale of products or services to franchisees in the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022, nor did we or our affiliates receive any rebates, refunds or other payments from any designated sources because of transactions with our franchisees during such time period.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate your required purchases for the operation of the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant will range between 90% and 95% of your annual purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You or the proposed supplier will be required to pay for the cost of the inspection and the test (including our administrative expenses) and reimburse us for any costs or expenses we incur in connection with the evaluation of your proposed supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If we require that an item be purchased from an approved supplier and you wish to purchase it from a supplier we have not approved, you must submit to us a written request for approval.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At our option, assign to us all rights to the telephone numbers of the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant and any related business listings and execute all forms and documents required by us to transfer such service and numbers to us.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You must, at your expense, comply with all payment card infrastructure (“PCI”) industry and government security standards and requirements designed to protect cardholder data.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct periodic evaluations of your operations.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to add to or modify the Manuals from time to time, although the Manuals shall not contain any provisions now or in the future that would render us as your joint employer or otherwise make us responsible for your acts or omissions relating to your employees.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must accept the site as meeting our standards before you may begin any construction or renovations or use such site for your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not advertise, promote, post or list information relating to the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant on the Internet (through the creation of a Website or otherwise)

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must spend at least Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) on advertising and promoting your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant during the Grand Opening Period.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Initially, you must spend at least two percent (2%) of the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant’s Gross Sales for advertising and promotion of the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant in the Protected Area

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At your expense, you must fully participate in gift card programs, loyalty programs, credit card programs, customer tracking programs, incentive programs, reward programs, and other types of programs ("Customer Card Programs") that we develop or designate to support and promote the System.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative is established for an area that includes your Protected Area, you must become a member of the Cooperative and participate in the Cooperative by contributing the amounts required by the Cooperative's governing {00302162-1 } -28- documents.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase certain food products for your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant only from Sysco Foods, based in Houston, Texas, and U.S. Foods Inc., based in Rosemont, Illinois.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase certain food products for your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant only from Sysco Foods, based in Houston, Texas, and U.S. Foods Inc., based in Rosemont, Illinois.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to execute Exhibit E to this Agreement and all other documents necessary to permit us to withdraw funds from your designated bank account by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) in the amount of the royalty fee, the Advertising Fund contribution (described in Section IX.C.), and any other amounts due under…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At your expense, you must fully participate in gift card programs, loyalty programs, credit card programs, customer tracking programs, incentive programs, reward programs, and other types of programs ("Customer Card Programs") that we develop or designate to support and promote the System.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At least 30 days before the Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant opens for business, you must designate at least the number of Assistant Managers we require, but in no event less than two Assistant Managers.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Before opening your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant (and from time to time as needed during operation of your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant), you must purchase from approved suppliers certain items required for the operation of a Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant, including, among…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase, install and at all times use our designated point of sale computer system at your Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

and computer hardware used at Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurants are designed to enable us to have independent access to the information generated and stored by the system at all times, and there is no contractual limitation on our access to, or use of, the information we obtain from your point of sale and…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon your reasonable request or if we determine it to be necessary during the term of this Agreement, we will provide you with on-site remedial training; provided that remedial training will be conducted subject to the availability of our personnel, and provided further, that we may require you to pay the per diem…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In addition, we may, at our option, conduct periodic franchisee conventions at a location designated by us, and your Operating Partner and/or General Manager must attend such conventions.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Dixie's Franchising

Dixie's Franchising is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New Jersey with a footprint of just 3 total units — 1 franchised and 2 company-owned — as disclosed in the 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand operates under the trade name Colbie’s Southern Kissed Chicken Restaurant, with locations scattered across five states: South Dakota (2 units), Indiana (1), California (1), Rhode Island (1), and Hawaii (1). For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is tiny. However, early-stage franchise systems often lack entrenched vendor relationships, meaning a well-timed pitch to HQ could establish a long-term technology partnership if the brand scales.

No average unit volume (AUV) is reported in the FDD, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. These metrics suggest a standard QSR economic model, but the lack of growth data signals a concept still in its infancy. Vendors should weigh the risk of a small prospect against the potential to become a preferred supplier before competitors enter.

Who controls software purchasing

All signs point to centralized control at headquarters. The 2023 FDD lists three executives in Item 1: Michael T. Colby (Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder), Craig W. Colby (President, Chief Development Officer and Co-Founder), and Scott Adams (Chief Operating Officer). No separate IT, procurement, or technology leadership roles are identified, meaning software purchasing decisions likely rest with this small leadership group. For a vendor, the COO or CEO is the probable entry point for any operational or point-of-sale technology discussion.

The operator footprint reinforces this centralized model. All six mapped operators are single-unit franchisees — there are zero multi-unit operators. No franchisee has the scale or leverage to drive independent technology decisions. Any software sale will need HQ approval, and likely HQ-driven implementation.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD is explicit on one point: franchisees must use a mandated point of sale computer system and mandated point of sale software. These requirements appear in the franchise agreement's operating standards. However, the document does not name specific vendors or software products. This is a critical gap for vendors — you cannot assume an incumbent. The mandate creates an opening to propose a POS solution that meets the brand's operational needs, provided you can demonstrate value to the Colby brothers and their team.

Beyond POS, no other technology mandates (e.g., inventory management, scheduling, loyalty, or online ordering platforms) are mentioned in the available FDD extracts. The absence of detail could mean the system is still defining its tech stack, or that those decisions are made on a case-by-case basis. Vendors in adjacent categories should treat this as a greenfield opportunity and prepare to educate the buyer.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines designated or approved supplier programs, contains no extract in the available data. This means the procurement model — whether franchisees must buy from specific suppliers, choose from an approved list, or operate freely — is not publicly known. Vendors should clarify this directly with HQ during initial outreach.

Renewal terms, drawn from Item 17, offer a potential trigger for technology upgrades. Franchisees seeking to renew after the 10-year term must sign the then-current franchise agreement, which may have materially different terms, and must remodel and update equipment to meet then-current standards. For a vendor, this means that as the initial term approaches its end for the single franchised unit, HQ may mandate new POS hardware or software as part of the renewal conditions. However, with only one franchised location and no disclosed renewal timeline, the immediate sales window is narrow.

How to read the Dixie's Franchising FDD

The full 2023 FDD is embedded below for your review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 11 (franchisee obligations, where the POS mandate lives), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because the system is so small, every detail matters — verify unit counts, ownership structure, and any updates to the tech mandate before building your pitch. If you need a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize opportunities based on real FDD data.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

Dixie's Franchising, answered from the filing

The executive team controls purchasing. Key contacts include Michael T. Colby (CEO and Co-Founder), Craig W. Colby (President, CDO and Co-Founder), and Scott Adams (COO). No dedicated CIO or CTO is listed in the 2023 FDD.
The 2023 FDD mandates a point of sale computer system and point of sale software. Specific vendor names or product brands are not disclosed in the filing.
There are 3 total units: 1 franchised and 2 company-owned. Units are spread across South Dakota (2), Indiana (1), California (1), Rhode Island (1), and Hawaii (1).
The 2023 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement signal, so the designated vs. approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should inquire directly with HQ about purchasing requirements.
With a 10-year initial term and renewal conditions requiring updated equipment and compliance with then-current standards, contract windows may align with renewal cycles. However, given only 1 franchised unit, near-term opportunities are minimal.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below to verify tech mandates, executive contacts, and unit data.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Dixie's Franchising2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for Dixie's Franchising is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

5 operators run 6 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit4
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

SD2
IN1
CA1
RI1
HI1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.