From the filings

HQ-led decisions

California Tortilla Group

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at California Tortilla Group are made at the franchisor level, with executives like President Keith Goldman and Treasurer Robert A. Phillips overseeing operations. The brand mandates Olo, PAR, and QSROnline across its 22-unit system (15 franchised, 7 company-owned).

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
22
15 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
—
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
$972K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
2%
percentage component
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$444K–$937K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

5% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2026)

Recorded percentage components (FY2026)Ad fund 2%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 2%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to require that Franchisee retain and utilize an accounting and bookkeeping service or company that is designated, specified or approved by Franchisor, from the Effective Date of this Agreement through the period that is ninety (90) days after the completion of Franchisee’s second full…

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to that data from the QSRonline system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, at its expense, provide to Franchisor, in a format specified by Franchisor, monthly, quarterly, and annual financial and operating reports.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We may be a supplier of any product, and we may be the sole approved supplier of any product.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have created a Franchisee Advisory Council, and the members are elected by franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to designate ourselves or our affiliates as approved suppliers in the future.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

which, together with revenues received from the sales or leases of products to franchisees in 2025 (which were $0)

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may collect and retain certain manufacturing allowances, marketing allowances, rebates, credits, monies, payments and benefits (collectively, “Allowances”) offered to us or to our affiliates by manufacturers, suppliers and distributors based upon your purchases of products and other goods and services.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases from approved suppliers or according to our specifications will represent approximately 70% to 85% of your total purchases in the establishment of the Restaurant, and 75% to 90% of your total purchases in the continuing operation of the Restaurant.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

Either you or the proposed new supplier must pay us a charge (which will not exceed the reasonable cost of the inspection and the actual cost of the tests).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to buy any products or any other items from an unapproved supplier, you first must submit to us a written request asking for our approval to do so.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cease use of, and if Franchisor requests shall transfer to Franchisor, all telephone numbers, customer “loyalty” lists, and any domain names, websites, e-mail addresses, and any other identifiers, whether or not authorized by California Tortilla Franchise Agreement (2026) Page 46 81577642v2…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must comply with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (“PCI DSS”) as they may be revised and modified by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (see www.pcisecuritystandards.org), or such successor or replacement organization and/or in accordance with other standards as…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may conduct, as we deem advisable, periodic inspections of the Restaurant, and may evaluate the products sold and services rendered by your Restaurant.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may from time to time revise the contents of the Manuals, and Franchisee expressly agrees to make corresponding revisions to its copy of the Manuals and to comply with each new or changed standard immediately upon receipt of such revision.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall lease, sublease, or acquire a site for the Restaurant, subject to Franchisor’s written consent in accordance with the Site Selection Addendum attached as Exhibit B (the “Site Selection Addendum”).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not establish a Website or permit any other party to establish a Website that relates in any manner to its Restaurant or referring to the Proprietary Marks.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must have its Grand Opening Advertising Program in place, with funds committed to the program, prior to and as a pre-condition to opening the Restaurant.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the Advertising Contribution, we also require that you spend at least $10,000 each year on local advertising and promotion as the Minimum Local Advertising Expenditure.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Market Cooperative for your area was established before you began to operate your Restaurant, then when you open your Restaurant, you must immediately join that Market Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase all products, ingredients, supplies, materials, and other products used or offered for sale at the Restaurant solely from suppliers that Franchisor has approved in writing.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

The types of products and services that you must purchase from approved suppliers, designated sources, us or an affiliate, or according to our specifications, include (among other things): restaurant design and image items, such as décor, color schemes, signs, fixtures, and furniture; cash register and POS; food and…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee must maintain credit-card relationships with the credit- and debit-card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial-center services, and electronic-funds-transfer systems that Franchisor designates as mandatory, and Franchisee must not use any such services or…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

All payments must be made by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”), and you must establish an appropriate EFT and sign the EFT authorization forms that we specify.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to maintain a competent, conscientious, trained staff in numbers sufficient to promptly service customers, including at least one (1) manager on duty at all times

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To promote a uniform System image, Franchisee shall require all of its Restaurant personnel to dress during business hours in the attire specified in the Manuals.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We currently require that you purchase the POS System specified for use in California Tortilla Restaurants.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to that data from the QSRonline system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

If you request additional training, or if you ask us to provide initial training to more than three of the Highly Trained Personnel, you must pay for all of our travel, meal, and payroll expenses associated with providing the additional training, whether it is delivered and performed at one of our training…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

In addition, your Highly Trained Personnel may be required, at our discretion, to attend the annual convention for the California Tortilla system, for up to three days per year.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at California Tortilla Group

California Tortilla Group is a quick-service restaurant chain headquartered in Maryland, operating 22 total units—15 franchised and 7 company-owned. For software vendors, the addressable market is 22 locations across five states: Pennsylvania (12), Maryland (9), DC (6), New Jersey (6), and Virginia (6). All 53 mapped operators are single-unit franchisees, meaning no multi-unit complexity, but also no large-scale rollouts. The brand is part of yeeha, though the nature of that ownership is not disclosed in the FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits squarely at the franchisor level. The FDD lists five directors, with Keith Goldman serving as President and Robert A. Phillips as Treasurer and Chairman of the Board. Jeffrey Axelson is Assistant Secretary, while Pam Felix and Joseph Barone are directors. In a system with no multi-unit operators, these executives—particularly Goldman and Phillips—are the likely decision-makers for any technology mandate or recommendation. Vendors should target HQ contacts rather than individual franchisees, as the franchisor dictates the tech stack.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates three core systems: Olo for online ordering, PAR for point-of-sale, and QSROnline for back-office management. These are non-negotiable for franchisees. Additionally, the brand lists Paytronix, DoorDash, Grubhub, Facebook, and Instagram as recommended or used platforms, though not mandated. This stack suggests a focus on digital ordering, delivery integration, and loyalty, with social media presence. Any vendor pitching a replacement or add-on must address integration with these existing mandates.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD provides no extract on procurement, so the supplier model—whether designated, approved, or open—remains unknown. Vendors should inquire directly with HQ about their process. The initial franchise term is 10 years, and renewal requires notice, satisfaction of monetary obligations, compliance with the franchise agreement, a release, signing a new agreement (which may differ materially from the original), and payment of a renewal fee. With no year-over-year unit growth reported, contract windows are likely tied to these renewal cycles or any future expansion. The absence of growth data means vendors should monitor for new unit announcements or leadership changes that might trigger tech evaluations.

How to read the California Tortilla Group FDD

The 2026 FDD is embedded below for full review. It contains the mandated technology list in Item 11, the executive roster in Item 1, and the renewal terms in Item 17. For software vendors, the key sections are the tech mandates, the procurement signals (or lack thereof), and the unit economics that define the total addressable market. Use the PDF to verify the facts cited here and to identify additional contacts or obligations. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software, talk to FranCloud.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

California Tortilla Group, answered from the filing

The buying center includes President Keith Goldman and Treasurer Robert A. Phillips. As a small franchisor with 22 units, decisions are centralized. No multi-unit operators exist, so all 53 single-unit franchisees follow HQ mandates.
The FDD mandates Olo for online ordering, PAR for POS, and QSROnline for back-office. Additional platforms like Paytronix, DoorDash, Grubhub, Facebook, and Instagram are recommended but not mandated.
There are 22 total units: 15 franchised and 7 company-owned. All are single-unit operations concentrated in Pennsylvania (12), Maryland (9), DC (6), New Jersey (6), and Virginia (6).
The most recent FDD does not disclose an Item 8 procurement signal, so the model is unclear. It may be a designated supplier or open market, but vendors should verify directly with HQ.
The initial franchise term is 10 years, with renewal conditions including notice, compliance, and a new agreement. No recent unit growth is reported, so contract windows may align with renewal cycles or new openings.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below. It contains all mandated tech, fees, and executive contacts needed for vendor research.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

California Tortilla Group2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for California Tortilla Group is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

20 operators run 20 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit20

Top states by locations

MD4
PA4
NJ3
DC2
SC2

Ownership

The portfolio behind California Tortilla Group

Ownership: Yeeha! LLC.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.