ual or otherwise in writing and only in accordance with our specifications and standards. If your Restaurant is located in an area that is serviced by a delivery aggregator (e.g., Uber Eats) you must
From the filings
Burger King
Quick service restaurantSoftware purchasing at Burger King is controlled at the corporate level by executives including President Thomas B. Curtis IV and the legal leadership team under Restaurant Brands International. The system currently mandates the ROYAL PERKS Loyalty Program, and with 5,518 total units, the addressable market for vendors is substantial, though the exact split between franchised and company-owned locations is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
intiff leave to amend the complaint, and Plaintiff filed an amended complaint on January 29, 2026. The case is in early stages of discovery. We are not a party to this litigation. ADP Direct Poultry L
d its U.S. subsidiary, Restaurant Brands International US Services LLC. The complaint alleges that www.bk.com secretly allowed third-party advertising and analytics firms (Google, Meta/Facebook, Micro
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
We have the right to review and access all records and reports generated by the Restaurant POS system and all other Restaurant systems.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees to keep true, accurate and complete records of Franchisee’s business in such form as BKC now or hereafter may require and to furnish BKC with a monthly and fiscal year to date profit and loss statement in the format prescribed by BKC.
How the franchisor buys
Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?
YesFranchise agreement
BKC shall, on a periodic basis, consult with representatives of an independent association whose membership is comprised of at least fifty-one percent (51%) of all BURGER KING franchise-owned and operated restaurants in the U.S.A. (the “Franchisee Association”) relative to those matters expressly described in…
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesFranchise agreement
If BKC determines that additional or replacement equipment is needed because of a change in menu items or method of preparation and service or because of health or safety considerations, Franchisee will install the additional equipment or replacement equipment within the reasonable time specified by BKC.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
Various suppliers make payments to us in consideration of purchases and payments made by Franchisees and us.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
Approved and proposed suppliers pay for the testing, audit and other costs associated with the evaluation and monitoring of the supplier, its products and services.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you ask us to approve a new proposed supplier, we will consider the current or potential need for a new supplier.
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Our current requirements include creation and maintenance of records of all sales transactions (known as “t-log’s”), secure PCI compliant internet access;
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees that BKC or its representatives, at BKC's expense, shall, at all reasonable times, have the right to examine or audit the books, records, state sales tax returns or accounts of Franchisee.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees that changes in the standards, specifications and procedures may become necessary and desirable from time to time and agrees to accept and comply with such modifications, revisions and additions to the MOD Manual which BKC in the good faith exercise of its judgment believes to be desirable and…
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 12
If you exercise the option, you must obtain site approval and secure property control and open the Restaurant by the date specified by us.
Marketing
Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?
YesItem 11
We require you to participate in the loyalty program, currently referred to as the ROYAL PERKS Loyalty Program, for all new and existing BURGER KING® restaurants.
Operations
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesFranchise agreement
Only equipment approved by BKC which meets the criteria and performance standards of the BURGER KING System may be used in the Franchised Restaurant.
Payments
Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Your Restaurant must use the computers, point of sale (“POS”) equipment and systems including self-serve kiosks, mobile apps, broadband internet access, credit card, debit card and gift card processing systems, systems which take, process, route and deliver orders or receive payment, and technology for communicating…
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
BKC may, at its option, require payment of the Royalty or Advertising Contribution or both by making direct monthly withdrawals in the form of an electronic or similar funds transfer in the appropriate amount(s) from Franchisee's bank account.
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesItem 11
Your Restaurant must use the computers, point of sale (“POS”) equipment and systems including self-serve kiosks, mobile apps, broadband internet access, credit card, debit card and gift card processing systems, systems which take, process, route and deliver orders or receive payment, and technology for communicating…
People
Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee shall implement a training program for Franchised Restaurant employees in accordance with training standards and procedures prescribed by BKC and shall staff the Franchised Restaurant at all times during the Term of this Agreement with a sufficient number of trained employees to ensure that the BURGER KING…
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
All employees shall only wear uniforms of such design and color as are from time to time specified by BKC.
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee must, at its sole cost and expense: (a) at all times operate at the Franchised Restaurant POS Systems (as hereinafter defined) approved by BKC;
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We have the right to review and access all records and reports generated by the Restaurant POS system and all other Restaurant systems.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee shall be responsible for reasonable charges and costs of any sort associated with such training but not limited to all travel and living expenses, compensation of and worker's compensation insurance for the Operating Partner and/or the Restaurant Manager enrolled in the training program, any other personal…
The filing answers no to 3 questions
- Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
- Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
- Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
Who buys here
The buyer at this brand
The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.
Formal HQ procurement; C-suite sponsor + cross-functional committee + IT/security/legal; often PE-backed.
- 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
- 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
- Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
The vendor opportunity at Burger King
Burger King operates 5,518 total units across the United States, with a significant operator footprint of 2,397 mapped operators covering approximately 5,605 located units. The operator base skews heavily toward single-unit operators—2,173 run just one location—while 224 multi-unit operators control the rest, including 34 with 25 or more units. Top states by unit count include North Carolina (330), New York (268), Connecticut (264), Tennessee (243), and Ohio (222). Average unit volume sits at $1,153,063, signaling healthy per-location revenue that can support technology investment. For software vendors, the scale is clear: thousands of locations, a mix of single- and multi-unit operators, and a corporate structure that centralizes key technology decisions.
Who controls software purchasing
Purchasing authority for software at Burger King rests at the headquarters level. The 2026 FDD lists Thomas B. Curtis IV as President and director, Vicente A. Tome as director and Vice President of Legal US & LAC, and Jill Granat as director and General Counsel. Above them, Restaurant Brands International Inc. provides executive oversight through CEO Joshua Kobza and Executive Chairman Patrick Doyle. For vendors, the buying center likely involves legal, operations, and executive leadership, with RBI’s corporate team holding final say on system-wide technology mandates. The absence of a parent company beyond RBI on file suggests a direct reporting line from brand leadership to the international parent, not a layered franchise holding structure.
Mandated and current tech stack
The only technology system explicitly mandated in the 2026 FDD is the ROYAL PERKS Loyalty Program. No POS, back-office, or other operational systems are named as required in the most recent disclosure. This does not mean other systems are absent—only that the FDD does not list them as franchisor mandates. Vendors selling complementary or replacement technology should note that the loyalty program is a fixed point in the tech stack, and any integration with ROYAL PERKS will be a practical requirement for operators. Beyond that, the tech landscape appears open, though corporate approval processes are likely given the HQ-driven decision-making model.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, leaving the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or fully open—undisclosed. Similarly, Item 17 renewal data is absent, and the filing does not specify royalty rates or initial term lengths. This lack of disclosure makes it difficult to pinpoint contract renewal windows or procurement cycles from the FDD alone. Vendors should approach Burger King with the understanding that corporate-level vetting is probable, and that timing may align with RBI’s broader strategic planning cycles rather than franchisee-level renewal dates.
How to read the Burger King FDD
The Burger King Franchise Disclosure Document for 2026 is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the full legal and operational disclosures for the system. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 8 (procurement, if included in future filings). The operator footprint data and unit counts cited on this page are drawn directly from the FDD. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize the highest-fit brands.
Questions vendors ask
Burger King, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Burger King files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
2,438 operators run 5,646 mapped locations. 224 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| NC | 330 |
|---|---|
| NY | 268 |
| CT | 265 |
| TN | 243 |
| OH | 222 |
Related Quick service restaurant brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.