From the filings

+100% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Breakaway BA

Financial services

Software purchasing at Breakaway BA is controlled at the headquarters level, with Co-Founder and CEO Shea Keats and Chief of Staff Kristin Bradley among the executives listed in the 2026 FDD. The franchise already mandates Gusto, QuickBooks, and Xero, signaling a standardized, cloud-based financial operations stack. With 39 total units and 100% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is small but expanding rapidly for vendors offering complementary or replacement financial services tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
39
34 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+100%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
25%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0%
national + local
Initial fee
per unit
Investment range
$11K–$35K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Standards based
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

25%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 25% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 25%, Ad fund 0%. Total 25% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 25%Ad fund 0%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Bill.com
AccountingItem 11

onal) Fathom Training (Optional) 1-3 hours N/A Online FreshBooks Training (Optional) 4 hours N/A Online Other recommended software Varies pending N/A Online (optional; may include Bill.com, interest,

Gusto
PayrollItem 11

) 1-3 hours N/A Online FreshBooks Training (Optional) 4 hours N/A Online Other recommended software Varies pending N/A Online (optional; may include Bill.com, interest, 1-10 hours Gusto, A2X, Hubdoc,

QuickBooks Online
AccountingItem 11

Room Training Job Training Introduction to Productivity & 1-5 hours N/A Online Admin Tools (Slack, Asana, GSuite, Ignition) Xero Partner Training (Optional) 8-10 hours N/A Online QBO Pro-Advisor Train

Xero
AccountingItem 11

PROGRAM Subject Hours Of Class Hours Of On The Location Room Training Job Training Introduction to Productivity & 1-5 hours N/A Online Admin Tools (Slack, Asana, GSuite, Ignition) Xero Partner Trainin

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have full ability to poll your data, computer system and related information by means of direct access whether in person or by electronic means.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will keep a complete and accurate set of books and records of the operation of the franchised business, produce monthly financial statements in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles for each calendar month, and furnish copies of these statements to us within ten (10) days of our request.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliate may derive revenue from providing products and services directly to our franchisees.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

118205.14

Item 8

During our last fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, our affiliate, Cadencia, received such revenue in the amount of $118,205.14, which was 8.72% of its total revenue of $1,355,559.96.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliate reserve the right to receive rebates, price adjustments, or discounts on products or services sold to you by recommended or approved suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

30

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases from us, our affiliates, exclusive suppliers, approved suppliers, or subject to our specifications and standards will be from 0% to 30% of the total purchases you make to operate your franchise.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Subject to our right to designate one or more exclusive suppliers, with advance written notice, you may request our approval to obtain products, equipment, supplies, materials, or services from sources that we have not previously approved.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You authorize the transfer of your directory listings and internet addresses, branded email addresses, domain names and locators to us or our designated franchisees.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Computer hardware and software must comply with our security protocols (for virus protection, etc.), be dedicated to business, be up-to-date, and meet our other minimum standards and specifications.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Inspect the Franchise and conduct activities to ensure compliance with the terms of the Franchise Agreement and Operations Manual to assure consistent quality and service throughout our franchise system.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Operations Manual, but the modifications will not alter your basic status and rights under the Franchise Agreement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will operate the Franchise only at the Office you select, which may be a home office and which is subject to our prior approval (which we will not unreasonably withhold).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You will not have the right to create an independent website that includes our Marks or promotes your franchise.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must purchase all goods and services needed for the operation of your Franchise either from us, our affiliates, one or more exclusively designated suppliers, our approved suppliers, or subject to our standards and specifications, as we will designate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must purchase all goods and services needed for the operation of your Franchise either from us, our affiliates, one or more exclusively designated suppliers, our approved suppliers, or subject to our standards and specifications, as we will designate.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have full ability to poll your data, computer system and related information by means of direct access whether in person or by electronic means.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to charge our then-current rates for training, coaching, or support above and beyond that which is included in the Desk Fee.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 7
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Item 6
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 6

The vendor opportunity at Breakaway BA

Breakaway BA operates 39 total units, of which 34 are franchised and 5 are company-owned. The system grew units by 100% year-over-year, indicating an active expansion phase. For software vendors, this means a small but growing installed base. The franchise is in the financial services sector and is headquartered in Oregon. No parent company is on file; the brand appears independently owned. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The royalty rate is 25.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: Co-Founder Kristen Keats, Co-Founder and CEO Shea Keats, Co-Founder Michelle Röse, Co-Founder Martin Moll, and Chief of Staff Kristin Bradley. With a lean HQ team and mandated technology, purchasing decisions likely rest with the CEO and Chief of Staff. Vendors should direct outreach to this group, focusing on how their software integrates with or improves upon the existing mandated stack.

Mandated and current tech stack

Breakaway BA mandates three specific software platforms for its franchisees: Gusto by Gusto, Inc. for payroll and HR, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. for accounting, and Xero by Xero Limited as an additional accounting platform. This is a purely financial operations stack. No point-of-sale, CRM, scheduling, or other operational systems are disclosed as mandated or recommended in the FDD. Vendors selling adjacent tools—such as expense management, FP&A, or compliance software—may find an opening if they can demonstrate seamless integration with Gusto, QuickBooks, or Xero.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not provide an extract describing the procurement model. It is unclear whether Breakaway BA uses a designated supplier, approved supplier, or open procurement approach. Vendors should clarify this directly with HQ. On renewals, Item 17 specifies that franchisees in good standing may renew for additional 10-year terms under the then-current Franchise Agreement. Franchisees must provide notice at least three and not more than six months before expiration. Renewal conditions include refurbishment to current system standards, signing a general release, paying a renewal fee, and potentially undergoing retraining. These renewal events, combined with rapid unit growth, create periodic windows when franchisees may evaluate new software.

How to read the Breakaway BA FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It contains the full legal and operational disclosures filed with state franchise regulators. Review Item 1 for executive names, Item 11 for the mandated technology list, and Item 17 for renewal and transfer conditions. The FDD is the single source of truth for all facts cited on this page. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Breakaway BA, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Co-Founder and CEO Shea Keats and Chief of Staff Kristin Bradley among HQ executives. Purchasing authority likely sits with this leadership group, given the mandated tech stack.
Breakaway BA mandates Gusto by Gusto, Inc., QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., and Xero by Xero Limited, per the 2026 FDD. No POS or other operational systems are disclosed as mandated.
There are 39 total units: 34 franchised and 5 company-owned. This is a small, early-stage franchise system with 100% year-over-year unit growth.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a specific procurement model in Item 8. The franchisor may designate or approve suppliers, but no extract is available to confirm the approach.
Franchisees renew for 10-year terms and must give notice 3–6 months before expiration. With 100% unit growth, new location openings may create additional software evaluation windows.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can read it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below to verify all cited facts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Breakaway BA2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Breakaway BA files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

41 operators run 41 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit41

Top states by locations

OR17
CA3
WA2
PA2
NC2

Ownership

The portfolio behind Breakaway BA

unknown of breakaway bookkeeping advising.

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.