From the filings

+25% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Bobapop Tea Bar

Financial services

Software purchasing at Bobapop Tea Bar is controlled by the founding management team, led by Managing Member Sam Lin. The brand already mandates delivery integrations with DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates, and Uber Eats. With only 6 total locations (5 franchised, 1 company-owned) across Maryland, Wisconsin, and Virginia, the addressable market is small but growing 25% year-over-year.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
6
5 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+25%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
2.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$186K–$426K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

2.5%+of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 2.5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 2.5%. Total 2.5% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

DoorDash
DeliveryItem 12

epting orders in your territory. You may operate delivery service within your territory or arrange for such service with a third-party service provider such as Uber Eats, Grubhub, DoorDash, Postmates

Grubhub
DeliveryItem 12

ng or accepting orders in your territory. You may operate delivery service within your territory or arrange for such service with a third-party service provider such as Uber Eats, Grubhub, DoorDash, P

Postmates
DeliveryItem 12

ers in your territory. You may operate delivery service within your territory or arrange for such service with a third-party service provider such as Uber Eats, Grubhub, DoorDash, Postmates or another

Uber Eats
DeliveryItem 12

ur soliciting or accepting orders in your territory. You may operate delivery service within your territory or arrange for such service with a third-party service provider such as Uber Eats, Grubhub,

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will maintain bookkeeping, accounting and records retention systems conforming to the requirements that we prescribe from time to time

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information generated and stored in these systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right, upon notice to you, to require you to submit to us, in digital format, (i) monthly and annual balance sheets and income statements for the Franchised Business, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles consistently applied, in the format we prescribe, and verified as…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we are the only approved supplier of the following goods and equipment: all tea bases (except Thai tea), tea brewing machines, fructose, seal machine, drink and milk foam blenders, and all flavored powders.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may change our designated suppliers at any time upon reasonable notice.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During our last fiscal year, ended December 31, 2024, Bobapop was not a supplier and derived no revenue from the sale or lease of required products or services to franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to receive rebates, credits and other compensation from suppliers we designate or approve to provide goods or services to you based upon the purchases by you and other franchisees of goods and services from such suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

The estimated proportion of required purchases and leases by you from us or our designated supplier of all your purchases and leases is 75% in establishing the business and operating the business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We will consider approval of other designated suppliers if you submit the name(s) with evidence of their fitness.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will assign to us or our designee all of your right, title and interest in and to your telephone numbers, websites, domain names and meta tags associated with the Mark (the “Listings”) and you will notify the telephone company and all listing agencies of the termination or expiration of your right to use any of…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will also comply with the then current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI/DSS) as those standards may be revised by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We have implemented a franchisee evaluation system to monitor performance, ensure adherence to brand standards, and identify areas for improvement.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may modify or change the System Standards from time to time, and upon notice to you, we may make additions to, deletions from or revisions in the Manual to reflect such modifications or changes.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve the site before you enter into lease negotiations.

Marketing

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in at least one of the two programs.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will participate in such programs and activities as we may prescribe.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must obtain all products and services for your Franchise from us or from suppliers we designate unless we do not specify a supplier for a product or service.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must obtain all products and services for your Franchise from us or from suppliers we designate unless we do not specify a supplier for a product or service.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You will pay all sums you owe to us or to any of our affiliates electronically through one or more depository transfer accounts or using such methods as we may designate in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to participate in each gift card, customer loyalty card, mobile app and other similar program that we may periodically establish or approve for use at Bobapop Tea Shops either in your area or nationally, for all franchised Bobapop Tea Shops that you or any affiliate of yours owns.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase your point of sale system from “Toast”.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information generated and stored in these systems.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to install, maintain and use in the Franchise such computer hardware, software, point-of-sale, cash register and surveillance systems as we specify from time to time, using suppliers we specify or approve from time to time.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may charge our then-current fees and expenses for additional or remedial training that is not mandatory or that we require because your personnel are not meeting our standards.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Managing Owner of your company must attend these conferences.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Bobapop Tea Bar

Bobapop Tea Bar is a niche franchise system with 6 total locations (5 franchised, 1 company-owned) headquartered in Maryland. The brand operates in just three states—Maryland (3), Wisconsin (1), and Virginia (1)—and is growing at a 25% year-over-year rate. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is modest: 6 units. However, the growth trajectory and the absence of a large, mandated tech stack suggest an openness to new solutions that could scale with the brand. The average unit volume is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD, but the royalty rate is a low 2.5%, and the initial franchise term is 5 years. With no multi-unit operators on file, every franchisee is a single-unit owner, making the franchisor the central decision-making point for technology.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority at Bobapop Tea Bar sits squarely with the founding team. The 2025 FDD lists only two executives: Sam Lin, Managing Member and General Manager, and Susan Hsu, Member. There is no CIO, VP of IT, or dedicated technology buyer. In a system this small, the Managing Member is the de facto software decision-maker. Vendors should target Sam Lin directly, presenting a concise business case that resonates with a founder-operator. Because all franchisees are single-unit, it is unlikely that any individual franchisee has the budget or authority to independently adopt enterprise software; any vendor partnership will need headquarters-level approval. The buying center is lean, so expect a quick decision cycle if you can demonstrate immediate value for a small chain.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD explicitly names four third-party delivery platforms as mandated or recommended technology: DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates, and Uber Eats. No other operational, POS, or back-office systems are disclosed. This delivery-centric mandate suggests that the brand’s revenue model relies heavily on off-premise orders, and any software that integrates with these delivery aggregators—such as order management, kitchen display systems, or delivery logistics optimization—would find a natural use case. The absence of a mandated POS system is notable; it may indicate that franchisees are free to choose their own, or that the franchisor has not yet standardized a solution. For a POS or operational software vendor, this is an opportunity to become the de facto standard as the brand grows. Vendors should inquire whether the franchisor has a preferred POS or is open to piloting new technology.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines supplier designations, contains no extract. This means the procurement model is not publicly defined. Bobapop Tea Bar may operate with an open procurement model, or the franchisor may simply not have formalized supplier relationships at this stage. Software vendors should approach the franchisor directly to understand how to become a preferred or designated supplier. The franchise agreement’s renewal structure provides timing clues: the initial term is 5 years, and renewals are tied to the term of the franchisee’s lease, up to a maximum of 5 years. With only 5 franchised units, the system is young, and most agreements are likely still in their initial term. Renewal cycles for the first units could begin as early as 5 years from their signing dates, creating discrete windows for contract renegotiation. Additionally, the 25% growth rate adds roughly one new unit per year, offering a steady, albeit small, stream of new-location software opportunities. Vendors should monitor the FDD for updates on unit counts and any new technology mandates.

How to read the Bobapop Tea Bar FDD

The 2025 Bobapop Tea Bar FDD is embedded below for your review. For software vendors, the FDD is a valuable research tool that reveals the brand’s technology mandates, ownership structure, and unit economics—all without having to engage a franchisee. Focus on Item 11, which details the franchisor’s assistance and may list required software systems, and Item 17, which outlines renewal conditions and can help you time your sales outreach. In this FDD, the lack of a detailed tech stack beyond delivery platforms and the absence of a procurement model signal a greenfield opportunity for the right vendor. While the system is small, its growth and delivery focus make it a candidate for vendors offering scalable, integration-friendly solutions. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Bobapop Tea Bar, answered from the filing

The buying center is small: Managing Member and General Manager Sam Lin, supported by Member Susan Hsu. With no multi-unit operators, all franchisees are single-unit, so vendor selection likely runs through Lin at the headquarters level.
The FDD does not disclose a mandated POS or operational system. The only technology explicitly listed is delivery platform integrations with DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates, and Uber Eats. No other software vendors are named.
As of the 2025 FDD, there are 6 total units: 5 franchised and 1 company-owned. The brand operates in Maryland (3), Wisconsin (1), and Virginia (1). Year-over-year unit growth is 25%.
Item 8 of the FDD does not provide a procurement signal. The franchisor has not disclosed a designated supplier, approved supplier, or open model. Software vendors should inquire directly about the process for becoming a preferred provider.
The initial franchise term is 5 years, with renewals tied to the lease term (up to 5 years). With only 5 franchised units and recently added locations, renewals could start as early as 5 years from signing. No specific contract cycle is disclosed.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below. (We never name the specific depository per brand rules.)
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Bobapop Tea Bar2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Bobapop Tea Bar files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

5 operators run 5 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit5

Top states by locations

MD3
WI1
VA1

Related Financial services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.