From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

BeaverTails

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at BeaverTails is controlled at the headquarters level by co-founders Grant Hooker and Pam Hooker. The franchise currently mandates Panasonic and Clearview POS terminals across its system. With only 2 franchised units in operation, the addressable market is extremely small, making this a niche target for vendors seeking quick-service restaurant accounts.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
2 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$494K–$1.15M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we deem prudent, you agree to use, at your own expense, the bookkeeper, accountant or computerized system backup service providers, we specify, to maintain the financial and other records of the Franchised Business

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

Through the POS System, we will have independent access to information and data produced on the POS System, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access the information and data.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you must provide us with annual financial statements within one hundred eighty (180) days following the end of your fiscal year

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

As of the issuance date of this disclosure document, we and our affiliates are the only authorized suppliers for Units, proprietary ingredients, and certain food items and related packaging materials with our brand name.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

Our affiliate BeaverTails Canada established a franchise advisory council in January 2017.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

In the future, we reserve the right to change the point-of-sale system that we have selected for use in the Store.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

114303

Item 8

During our last fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, we had total revenue of $114,303, of which 100% was as a result of United States franchisees’ and licensees’ purchases of products and services from us.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may receive rebates from designated suppliers.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may require you to pay the actual cost of the inspection and evaluation, including the cost of our time spent evaluating the alternative item or supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use any unapproved Product, material, fixture, equipment, sign or other item, or purchase any items from any supplier that we have not approved, you must first notify us in writing and must submit to us, at our request, sufficient specifications, photographs, drawings or other information or samples…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

immediately cease using all telephone numbers, email addresses, web sites, social media accounts and others listings used in connection with the Franchised Business and direct the applicable service providers to transfer all registrations and other rights to use such numbers, addresses, web sites, accounts and other…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We and/or our designee shall have the right at all times to inspect the operation of the Franchised Business, Vehicle (if any), Equipment, Fixed Location and Products and Services, and otherwise to examine the manner in which you are conducting your business, and in the event of any such inspection, you and your…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

You must comply with all changes to the Operations Manual at your cost.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

If you operate a Store from a permanent location, we must approve the location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You further acknowledge and agree that you shall not, without our prior written permission, create and/or operate your own website, internet domain name, or participate in internet-based social media, which contains any reference to the System, the Marks, the Products and Services, us or the Franchised Business.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

No later than 30 days after the opening of your Store, you must have spent a minimum of $5,000 on approved grand opening advertising, as directed by us.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within at least the first thirty (30) days from the opening of your Franchised Business, you must spend at least five thousand dollars ($5,000.00) or any other amount designated by us, from time to time, on local advertising and promotion that we approve to promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase for use or sale at your Store those food products used in or sold at your Store including the Units (“Products”) and other services or products we designate from us, our designees or from other suppliers we approve.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all uniforms from our designated supplier, but we or our affiliates also may occasionally supply uniforms.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to cooperate fully and comply with any system we implement for the transfer of funds directly from a designated bank account to us or other designated bank account, including the execution of any pre-authorized payment forms periodically required by your bankers.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

ensure your employees wear the uniforms we require when offering and performing the Products and Services, which uniforms may be modified by us from time to time;

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase a point-of-sale system that meets our standards and specifications.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

Through the POS System, we will have independent access to information and data produced on the POS System, and there are no contractual limitations on our right to access the information and data.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require that you (or the Principal Owner of a franchisee that is an entity) and any manager attend supplemental and refresher training programs during the term of the Franchise Agreement.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

In addition, you (or a Principal Owner of a franchisee that is an entity) and, upon our request, a manager, must attend any conventions we host.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at BeaverTails

BeaverTails is a quick-service restaurant concept based in Quebec, Canada, with a minimal US franchised footprint of just 2 units. The franchisor does not disclose any company-owned locations in the most recent FDD. For software vendors, the total addressable market is therefore limited to these 2 franchised outlets, both of which operate under direct HQ oversight. No average unit volume (AUV) or royalty percentage is published, making it difficult to model per-unit software spend or ROI. Year-over-year unit growth is also not disclosed, so there is no signal of near-term expansion that would widen the opportunity.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2025 FDD, the franchisor is led by co-founders Grant Hooker and Pam Hooker. In a system this small, software evaluation and purchasing authority almost certainly sits with these two individuals rather than a dedicated IT or procurement department. Vendors should prepare to engage directly with the co-founders and frame their pitch around operational simplicity and low overhead, given the lean management structure.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD explicitly mandates Panasonic and Clearview terminals for franchisees. This is the only technology requirement surfaced in the document. No additional back-office, inventory, HR, or marketing platforms are named as mandatory or recommended. For a vendor selling complementary or replacement software, the Clearview/Panasonic POS environment represents the primary integration or displacement target. Any pitch should acknowledge this existing mandate and demonstrate compatibility or a clear migration path.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

BeaverTails does not provide an Item 8 procurement disclosure in its 2025 FDD, so the formal purchasing model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open market—remains unknown. The franchise agreement runs for an initial term of 5 years, and franchisees in good standing can renew for three additional 5-year terms. Each renewal requires signing a new agreement that may contain materially different terms, as well as a renovation of the premises or vehicle and payment of a renewal fee. These renewal windows are natural inflection points where technology changes could be considered, especially if the franchisor updates system standards in the new agreement.

How to read the BeaverTails FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and operational disclosures that govern the BeaverTails franchise system. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (the franchisor and its executives), Item 11 (mandated technology and equipment), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, if any), and Item 17 (renewal and termination provisions). Because the system is small and the FDD is thin on procurement detail, direct outreach to HQ may be the only way to fill gaps in the public record. For a ranked list of franchise targets matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

BeaverTails, answered from the filing

Co-founders Grant Hooker and Pam Hooker are the named executives in the FDD. As a small franchisor, purchasing decisions likely rest with them directly.
The 2025 FDD mandates Panasonic and Clearview terminals. No other operational or back-office technology requirements are disclosed.
The system consists of 2 franchised units. Company-owned unit counts are not disclosed in the FDD.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not publicly disclosed.
Initial terms are 5 years, with three additional 5-year renewal options. Renewals require a new agreement and possible renovations, creating periodic re-evaluation points for technology.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to review the full document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

BeaverTails2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment BeaverTails files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

143 operators run 143 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit143

Top states by locations

AR1
WI1
PA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind BeaverTails

unknown of les entreprises twin25 inc 1737973 ontario inc and 9005 0790 quebec.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.