From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park

Real estate

Software purchasing at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park is controlled at the corporate level, with President Robert E. Schutter, Jr. and COO Bruce Thelen among the key executives. The franchise mandates a system-wide reservation program powered by Campspot across its 77-unit network. For software vendors, this represents a compact but uniform addressable market of 77 franchised locations, all operating under a single tech mandate.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
77
77 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.532%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
4.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$75K
per unit
Investment range
$324K–$2.37M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 4.5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4.5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

CampspotCampspot
BookingItem 11

n its website, or at the direction of Franchisor publish a Franchisor approved privacy policy on its website, which discloses to customers that reservation data may be accessed by Campspot, CJS, any a

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

16 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 15 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Items, including identification signs, statues and any other franchise identifying items, inventory or souvenir items, and other items containing or using any trademark, trade name, logo, sign or symbol owned or used by CJS for its Network of franchised Camp-Resorts, are available only from CJS, from suppliers…

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

CJS and its Franchisees have established and endorsed a franchisee advisory council known as the Yogi Advisory Council (“YAC” or “Franchise Advisory Council”).

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

531734

Item 8

In the year ended December 31, 2024, CJS received $531,734 from the sale of goods and products that are required to be purchased from CJS’s suppliers by franchisees, or 4.8% of CJS’s total revenues of $11,073,995.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

SUI may then derive revenue from such vendor based on purchases by CJS franchisees, the amount or percentage of which would be negotiated by SUI with such vendor.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must implement and maintain reasonable security measures to protect its Users’ personal information from unauthorized access, disclosure, alteration, and destruction.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

FRANCHISEE shall present to its customers such evaluation forms and customer comments cards as are prescribed from time to time by CJS and shall participate in any survey performed by or on behalf of CJS.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

CJS or its designee shall have the right at all reasonable times to inspect, examine, audit and copy records, accounts and books.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

CJS may modify the Brand Standards Manual and your obligations to reflect changes in the System provided these additions or modifications will not alter your fundamental status and rights under the Franchise Agreement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Your Franchise Agreement requires your Camp-Resort to be located at a specific location approved in advance by CJS.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are also required to spend 5.0% of gross revenues for the marketing and advertising of your franchise; 3.0% which is for local advertising and 2.0% that you pay to us for the Marketing, Advertising , Rewards Program and Promotion Fee.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

Accordingly, you must purchase products bearing the Marks only from CJS or suppliers approved by CJS or the Licensor.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Items, including identification signs, statues and any other franchise identifying items, inventory or souvenir items, and other items containing or using any trademark, trade name, logo, sign or symbol owned or used by CJS for its Network of franchised Camp-Resorts, are available only from CJS, from suppliers…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

All franchisees utilizing the Reservation Program will be required to use a specific card card processor, currently Card Connect, and active enrollment in the approved online travel agency (“OTA”), Marketplace.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You will pay royalty, advertising and other periodic payments payable to us by electronic or similar funds transfer in the appropriate amounts from your primary bank account to our bank accounts in the manner that we specify.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

FRANCHISEE shall cooperate in any Network or System-wide promotions funded and implemented by CJS for the purpose of promoting the System, including participation in the Jellystone Park™ Consumer Gift Card Program.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

Additional training or training of additional persons requested by you will be provided at the quoted daily rate.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park operates 77 franchised units, all under a single brand umbrella owned by Sun Communities, Inc. The network is entirely franchised, with no company-owned locations disclosed in the 2024 FDD. Unit growth has contracted slightly, with a year-over-year change of -2.532%. For software vendors, the addressable market is exactly 77 locations. The franchise fee royalty is 4.5%, and the initial term runs 7 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

The operator footprint shows 74 mapped operators across roughly 74 located units. All operators fall into the single-unit band, with zero multi-unit operators recorded. Top states by unit count are New York (7), Texas (7), Ohio (6), Pennsylvania (5), and Michigan (5). This geographic spread suggests a distributed network without dense regional clusters, which may influence deployment and support considerations for software vendors.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the corporate level. The FDD lists Robert E. Schutter, Jr. as President and Bruce Thelen as Chief Operating Officer of SUI, the operating entity under parent Sun Communities, Inc. Jon P. Burek serves as Executive Vice President, and Lisa D. Courtney is Director of Operations. Steve M. Stafford handles franchise sales. For a software vendor, the likely buying center includes the President and COO for strategic decisions, with the Director of Operations influencing day-to-day operational tools. The absence of multi-unit franchisees simplifies the sales process: there are no large franchisee groups with independent purchasing power.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only mandated technology disclosed in the FDD is a system-wide reservation program. The named vendor is Campspot. This is a hard mandate across all 77 franchised units. No other operational software—POS, property management, accounting, or marketing platforms—is identified as mandated or recommended in the available FDD extracts. Vendors offering complementary solutions that integrate with Campspot may find a receptive audience, but any pitch should acknowledge the existing mandate and demonstrate clear integration paths.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not disclose a procurement model. There is no extract indicating designated suppliers, approved supplier lists, or open procurement language. This means vendors must engage HQ directly to understand purchasing processes. Renewal terms offer one additional 5-year period if the franchisee is in good standing, following the initial 7-year term. With 77 units and a recent negative growth trend, contract renewal cycles are likely distributed across the network. Vendors should inquire about upcoming renewal clusters or system upgrade cycles directly with HQ.

How to read the Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park FDD

The 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document is the primary source for all data on this page. It details the franchise structure, fees, obligations, and executive team. Key items for software vendors include Item 11 (franchisor's obligations), which surfaces the Campspot mandate, and Item 1 (the franchisor and any parents), which names the executives and reveals Sun Communities, Inc. as the parent. Item 17 covers renewal terms. The FDD does not provide AUV or detailed procurement rules in the available extracts. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park, answered from the filing

President Robert E. Schutter, Jr. and COO Bruce Thelen are the top executives listed in the FDD. Operations Director Lisa D. Courtney likely influences operational tech decisions.
The FDD mandates a system-wide reservation program. Campspot is the named vendor for this mandated reservation system. No POS or other operational tech mandate is disclosed.
There are 77 total units, all franchised. No company-owned units are disclosed. Top states include New York (7), Texas (7), and Ohio (6).
The FDD does not disclose a specific procurement model in Item 8. No designated or approved supplier language was extracted from the most recent filing.
Initial franchise terms run 7 years. Renewals add one 5-year term if in good standing. With 77 units and recent negative unit growth, contract cycles may be staggered.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below on this page.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

74 operators run 74 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit74

Top states by locations

NY7
TX7
OH6
PA5
MI5

Ownership

The portfolio behind Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park

strategic_multibrand of Sun Communities.

Related Real estate brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.