From the filings

+14.286% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Town Square Franchising

Real estate

Town Square Franchising's most recent FDD, from 2025, discloses 9 US locations — 8 franchised and 1 company-owned — at an average unit volume of $1,312,615, with unit count up 14.3% year over year. No Item 1 executives are on file in our extract, so the named buying center is unknown; the brand sits under shf holding, and the nature of that parent relationship is not disclosed. Unusually for a system this size, the filing mandates two systems outright — FranConnect and Sagely — while Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Twitter are named only and are not required.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
9
8 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+14.286%
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.31M
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$100K
per unit
Investment range
$945K–$1.64M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 1%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

SagelySagely
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 8

or IT equipment such as desktops, printers, support and maintenance, and email platform. Single Throw Marketing will be an approved vendor for website management and SEO services. Sagely will be an ap

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

her communications that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, L

FranConnectFranConnect
CrmItem 6

ge you a monthly or a minimum of $500 per other fee for certain month and maximum of information technology $1,500 per month, but we related costs such as may increase or decrease FranConnect access,

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, You Tube,

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

tronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, You Tube, Google Plus, Pinterest, etc.), bl

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

ications that can be accessed through electronic means, including, but not limited to, the Internet, World Wide Web, webpages, microsites, social networking sites (e.g., Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Y

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We may independently access the Computer System as we deem appropriate (including on a continual basis) and retrieve all information concerning your Town Square Franchised Business’s operation.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to prepare and provide to us, in the manner and format that we prescribe from time to time (which may include reporting through the Computer System and/or maintaining the Computer System to enable us to access your records to obtain the following reports): (1) a report on the Franchised Business’s Gross…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to add to, modify, or eliminate approved, recommended, or required products, services, or suppliers at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We derived no revenue from franchisee required purchases or leases during 2024.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

70

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases or leases from approved suppliers or in accordance with our specifications will represent approximately 40% to 60% of your total purchases in the establishment of the Franchised Business, and 70% to 90% of your total purchases in your continuing operation of the Franchised Business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We expect that we will notify you of approval or disapproval of suppliers, specifications, or products within 90 days of your written request for approval.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards as those standards may be revised and modified by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC (see www.pcisecuritystandards.org), or any successor organization or standards that we may reasonably specify.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To determine whether you and the Franchised Business are complying with this Agreement and to assess your operations and adherence to System Standards, we and designated agents or representatives of us, may at all times and without prior notice to you: (1) inspect and observe the operation of the Franchised Business;

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may modify the Operations Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to obtain our written approval of the Franchised Business’s proposed Center location before signing any lease, sublease, or other document for the site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless we have otherwise approved in writing, you agree to neither establish nor permit any other party to establish an Online Site relating in any manner whatsoever to the Franchised Business or referring to the Marks.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to your Marketing Fund contribution, you must spend, beginning 60 days before you commence operations, the greater of $1,000 per month on community-based marketing and a minimum of $500 per month on digital marketing, or 3.0% of Gross Sales per month, to advertise and promote your Town Square Franchised…

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

Pursuant to Section 9.3 of the Franchise Agreement, we may require you to participate with other Town Square Franchised Businesses in joint, collective, or market-wide advertising, marketing, or promotional campaigns or programs as part of your marketing strategy, and to pay your share of that joint, collective, or…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to maintain, always, credit-card relationships with the credit- and debit-card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial-center services, merchant service providers, and electronic-fund-transfer systems (together, “Credit Card Vendors”) that we may periodically designate as…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Type of Fee (Note 1) Amount Date Due Remarks Continuing Service and 7% of the Gross Sales By the 10th day The Royalty is payable to Royalty Fee (see Note 2) from the immediately following the us by an automatic, preceding month. previous monthly period, electronic debit of funds. or as stated in the…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may require that you hire prior to opening, and retain, a full-time Activities Director, Enrollment Director, an RN/LPN, and administrative assistant/receptionist.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We may independently access the Computer System as we deem appropriate (including on a continual basis) and retrieve all information concerning your Town Square Franchised Business’s operation.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to charge for training personnel that have been decertified.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

Attendance at the national conference is required of all franchisees.

The filing answers no to 8 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 7
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Town Square Franchising

Town Square Franchising is a real estate segment brand headquartered in Maryland, and the most recent FDD on file is from 2025. That filing reports 9 total locations — 8 franchised and 1 company-owned — with average unit volume of $1,312,615, a 7.0% royalty, and a 10-year initial term. Unit count grew 14.3% year over year. At that AUV, nine units imply roughly $11.8M of annual system volume, and the 7.0% royalty is at the heavy end — HQ collects enough per unit to fund system-wide software. The distinguishing feature is that a nine-unit system already mandates two named technology vendors, a level of central control most brands this small have not reached.

Who controls software purchasing

This is the gap in the record. No Item 1 executives are on file in our extract of the most recent FDD, so we cannot name a CEO, CIO, or operations lead, and outreach will have to establish the buying center directly. What the document does establish is where authority sits: a franchisor that writes two specific vendors into the franchise agreement sets technology standards centrally rather than ratifying operator choices. Town Square Franchising is part of shf holding, and the nature of that parent relationship is not disclosed in the most recent FDD — worth checking, because a holding company above a nine-unit brand often means the decision is made one level up. Our operator mapping finds 18 operators, 2 of them multi-unit, across roughly 20 located units: New Jersey (6), Florida (3), Georgia (2), California (2), South Carolina (2). Those two multi-unit operators are the only franchisee-side concentration, but the mandate power is at HQ.

Tech named in the FDD, and what is actually required

Two systems carry mandates: FranConnect and Sagely, both of which the FDD obliges the franchisee to use. That changes the shape of the sale. If your product overlaps either one, this is a displacement: the incumbent is written into the contract, and replacing it means amending the agreement's technology requirement, not winning a bake-off. If your product sits beside them, the same fact helps — a franchisor that has compelled two vendors will compel a third, and the precedent for a system-wide rollout exists. The other four names are Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Twitter, each named only. The FDD mentions them; nothing in it requires anyone to adopt them, and a platform named in a filing is not evidence of an installed vendor. Outside the two mandated systems, the categories a nine-unit service brand needs — payments, scheduling, unit-level CRM, reporting — are uncommitted here.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 — where designated-supplier and approved-supplier requirements normally sit — produced no extract from this filing, so the model is not established by the disclosure text. Item 17 sets the timing. The initial term is 10 years with a 10-year successor term, and renewal requires substantial compliance, notice, maintaining or substituting the Center location, execution of the then-current successor agreement, and a release — with the explicit warning that it may contain terms materially different from the original, including different fees. For a vendor that clause is the mechanism, not the obstacle: a mandate swap reaches the installed base through the next agreement revision, so the HQ conversation is about the next version of the franchise agreement, not any operator's renewal date.

How to read the Town Square Franchising FDD

The 2025 document was filed with state franchise regulators, and the full PDF is embedded in the viewer below. Item 1 gives the entity chain up to shf holding and the officers our extract is missing; Item 8 covers supplier obligations; Item 11 covers computer systems, where the FranConnect and Sagely obligations should be read in full including who pays; Item 17 covers renewal; Item 20 carries the unit tables behind the 9-unit count. If you want Town Square Franchising scored against the rest of the US franchise corpus and returned as a ranked target list, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Town Square Franchising, answered from the filing

No Item 1 executives are on file in our extract of the most recent FDD, so we cannot name the buying center. What the filing does show is that HQ mandates technology — FranConnect and Sagely are both required — so the standard is set centrally. Town Square Franchising sits under shf holding.
Two systems: FranConnect and Sagely, each of which the 2025 FDD obliges the franchisee to use. Those are incumbents to displace, not greenfield. Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest and Twitter also appear in the filing, but nothing requires any of them — no POS or payments platform is mandated.
The 2025 FDD reports 9 total locations — 8 franchised and 1 company-owned — in the real estate segment, up 14.3% year over year. Our mapping finds 18 operators, 2 of them multi-unit, across roughly 20 located units, led by New Jersey (6), Florida (3), Georgia (2), California (2) and South Carolina (2).
Not established from the disclosure text — Item 8, where designated-supplier and approved-supplier requirements live, produced no extract from this filing. The two mandated systems show the franchisor names specific vendors as requirements, which points to a designated posture, but the Item 8 language itself is not disclosed in our extract.
The initial term is 10 years with a 10-year successor term. Renewal requires substantial compliance, notice, maintaining or substituting the Center location, a release, and signing the then-current successor agreement, which may carry materially different terms and fees. That successor-agreement clause is how a replacement mandate would reach the base.
It was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. The full PDF is embedded in the viewer below — read Item 1 for the entity chain and officers, Item 8 for suppliers, Item 11 for computer systems and the FranConnect and Sagely obligations, Item 17 for renewal, and Item 20 for unit counts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Town Square Franchising2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Town Square Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

17 operators run 18 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit16
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

NJ4
FL3
GA2
CA2
SC2

Ownership

The portfolio behind Town Square Franchising

unknown of shf holding.

Related Real estate brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.