From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Western Sizzlin Franchise

Full service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at Western Sizzlin Franchise are controlled by Sardar Biglari, Chairman and CEO, at the brand's South Carolina headquarters. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated technology systems, presenting a greenfield opportunity for vendors. The addressable market consists of 35 total units, 34 of which are franchised, with operators concentrated in Arkansas, Alabama, and North Carolina.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
35
34 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.857%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2020
Royalty
2%
of gross sales
Ad fund
—
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$1.06M–$4.50M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

2%+of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 2% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 2%. Total 2% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

During the term of this Agreement, Franchisee shall maintain and preserve, for the time period specified in the Manual, full, complete and accurate books, records and accounts in accordance with the standard accounting system prescribed by Franchisor in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have unlimited access to all of your data, systems and related information either independently or by direct access, whether in person or by telephone/modem.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

Within forty-five (45) days following the end of each calendar quarter during the term hereof, Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor financial statements for the preceding quarter, including a balance sheet and profit and loss statement, prepared in the form and manner specified by Franchisor and in accordance with…

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

by a council of franchisee members; 1 member is elected from each regional cooperative.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may require you to contract with designated vendors or suppliers of vending machines, which may include us and/or its affiliates.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Certain suppliers may make payments to us because of transactions with franchisees.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall reimburse Franchisor for all product testing costs paid by Franchisor to third parties in determining whether to approve a supplier selected by Franchisee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may purchase authorized Non Proprietary Products from (i) Franchisor; (ii) suppliers designated by Franchisor; or (iii) suppliers selected by Franchisee and approved in writing by Franchisor prior to Franchisee’s making such purchase(s).

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 1

upon termination or expiration of this Agreement, Franchisee shall assign to Franchisor or its designee, all Franchisee’s right, title and interest in and to Franchisee’s telephone numbers and facsimile numbers and Internet and e-mail addresses

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

Franchisee must take steps necessary to comply with the “Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard” (“PCI DSS”), must validate compliance with the PCI DSS annually and subject its point of sale network to quarterly vulnerability scans.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 1

Franchisor shall have the right from time to time, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to send representatives to the Franchised Restaurant, to inspect Franchisee’s operations, business methods, service, management, financial records and administration, and to determine the quality thereof and the faithfulness of…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 1

Franchisor shall have the right to modify the Manual at any time and from time to time by the addition, deletion or other modification to the provisions thereof.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Our approval of the site is required.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall spend a minimum of TEN THOUSAND DOLLARS ($10,000.00) during the first sixty (60) days of operation of the Franchised Restaurant on newspaper, direct mail advertising or promotional items through other media (“Grand Opening Advertising”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend on local advertising and promotions an amount equal to 2% of your Gross Sales each week.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase Proprietary Products from our designated suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 1

All Royalty Fees, advertising contributions, amounts due for purchases by Franchisee from Franchisor and other amounts which Franchisee owes to Franchisor shall be paid through an electronic depository transfer account (“Electronic Transfer”) as further described in the Manual.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 1

Franchisor shall have the right at any time to remotely retrieve via electronic data transfer (“Polling”) and use such data and information from Franchisee's point of sale system and back- office systems as Franchisor deems necessary or desirable.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may periodically make available to you additional training courses or programs during the term of the Franchise Agreement.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 1

The vendor opportunity at Western Sizzlin

Western Sizzlin operates a small, 35-unit full-service restaurant system, with 34 of those locations franchised and a single company-owned store. The brand’s unit count contracted by 2.857% year-over-year, signaling a mature footprint rather than an aggressive growth story. For software vendors, the total addressable market is capped at these 35 locations, with operators mapped across 41 units—all single-unit franchisees, as no multi-unit operators are recorded. The top states are Arkansas (9 units), Alabama (6), North Carolina (6), Georgia (4), and Tennessee (4). Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD, and the royalty rate sits at a modest 2.0% on a 20-year initial term.

Who controls software purchasing

All purchasing authority flows through the brand’s headquarters in South Carolina. Sardar Biglari is listed as the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, and no other executives are named in the FDD’s Item 1. This concentration of control means a vendor’s path to a system-wide deal runs directly through Mr. Biglari. There is no parent company on file, and the operator base is entirely composed of single-unit franchisees with no multi-unit operators to influence group purchasing decisions. A pitch must address the economics and operational simplicity for a legacy, full-service steakhouse concept with a lean corporate structure.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems. This absence of a named POS, back-office, or operational platform suggests that franchisees currently select their own tools independently. For a vendor, this represents a blank slate: there is no incumbent to displace at the brand level, but also no centralized procurement mandate to force adoption. Any sales strategy must win over both the CEO and individual franchisees, as the franchisor has not exercised its power to standardize technology.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement signals are not extracted in the available data, leaving the formal purchasing rules—whether designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or open market—unknown. Renewal conditions, outlined in Item 17, require franchisees to be in compliance, have no more than one default event in any 24-month period, and provide notice 8 to 12 months before expiration. The renewal term is 10 years. With a 20-year initial term and negative unit growth, system-wide refresh cycles are unlikely; vendors should target new ownership transitions or individual franchisee renewals as their primary windows of opportunity.

How to read the Western Sizzlin FDD

The full 2023 FDD is embedded below for your due diligence. It contains the legal and financial disclosures filed with state regulators, including the franchise agreement, fee schedule, and territory rights. Review Item 1 for the full list of executives, Item 8 for any purchasing obligations not captured in our extract, and Item 19 for any financial performance representations. This document is your primary source for verifying the claims made here and identifying any additional software mandates that may have been omitted from the summary data.

For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, connect with FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Western Sizzlin Franchise, answered from the filing

Sardar Biglari, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, is the key executive listed in the FDD. With no other named officers, he is the primary decision-maker for any enterprise-level software pitch.
The 2023 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems. Vendors should assume a completely open tech stack across the system's 35 locations.
There are 35 total units: 34 franchised and 1 company-owned. This is a small, full-service restaurant chain with a footprint concentrated in AR (9), AL (6), and NC (6).
The FDD does not provide an extract for Item 8 procurement signals. The specific purchasing requirements, such as designated or approved supplier mandates, are not publicly disclosed.
Renewal terms are 10 years, with notice required 8-12 months before expiration. With a 20-year initial term and -2.857% unit growth, renewal-driven evaluation windows will be infrequent and tied to individual franchisee cycles.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the legal and operational disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Western Sizzlin Franchise2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Western Sizzlin Franchise files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

41 operators run 41 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit41

Top states by locations

AR9
AL6
NC6
GA4
TN4

Related Full service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.