From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Reins USAGyu-Kaku

Full service restaurant

Software purchasing control at Reins USAGyu-Kaku sits at the franchisor level, given the mandated technology stack. The brand operates 60 total US locations (28 franchised, 32 company-owned) and requires franchisees to use Aloha point-of-sale hardware by NCR Voyix, a proprietary intranet, and an inventory management system. This creates a concentrated addressable market for vendors who can align with corporate-level mandates.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
60
28 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$2.27M–$4.27M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

AlohaNCR Voyix
Mandatory
POSItem 8

ITEM 8. RESTRICTIONS ON SOURCES OF PRODUCTS AND SERVICES Required Purchases of Goods or Services, including Computer and Point of Sale System You must purchase or lease an Aloha POS system. We have no

NCR AlohaNCR Voyix
Mandatory
POSItem 7

to conform to our then current specifications. (4) You must obtain and use an Aloha point-of-sale (“POS”) system and related computer hardware and software (the software includes NCR Aloha Command Cen

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

The required Information Systems includes electronic cash registers, a point-of-sale server, receipt printers and a PC-compatible back-office computer running the software we specify.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitations on our right to independent access to the information and data generated and stored on your Information Systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On or before the 3rd Friday (or the next business day if that day is a federal holiday) of each calendar month during the Term hereof, Franchisee must submit to Franchisor (i) a report of Franchisee’s operational numbers for the Licensed Restaurant for the previous calendar month using the report form entitled…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, you must purchase and maintain in stock in quantities needed to meet reasonably anticipated consumer demand proprietary products, sauces, marinades, beverages, food products and other ingredients and raw materials, which are grown, produced or manufactured in accordance with our trade secrets, proprietary…

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may make changes to these lists or other parts of the Manual, which we will provide to you.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In 2024, neither we nor any affiliate derived revenue, rebates or other material consideration based on required purchases or leases by Gyu-Kaku franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We (or our affiliates) may collect other rebates and credits from suppliers based on purchases or sales by you and other Gyu-Kaku franchisees and, in our discretion, we will either remit such amounts to you or contribute these amounts to the Brand Development Fund, notwithstanding any designation by the supplier or…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

35

Item 8

(ii) in operating your Licensed Restaurant will range from 35% to 50% of your total monthly expenses.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Payable only if you ask us to approve a Supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you desire to purchase products other than those provided by approved suppliers, you must submit to us a written request for approval of the proposed supplier together with such evidence of conformity with our specifications and program specifications as we may reasonably require.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall transfer and assign to Franchisor or its designee all telephone numbers, city on-line telephone listings and all other associated listings for the Licensed Restaurant, and Franchisee shall notify the telephone company and all listing agencies of the termination or expiration of Franchisee’s right to…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

participation in surveys and mystery shopper programs

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 6

We are not limited in the number or frequency of our inspections, but we will give you at least seven days’ notice before we conduct an inspection.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right to modify the Manuals at any time, provided that no such modification shall alter Franchisee’s fundamental status and rights under this Agreement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not enter into any Lease or purchase agreement for the Location unless Franchisor has accepted the proposed site and such site shall then be deemed to the Location as defined above.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

Unless we agree otherwise, you must spend not less than $12,600 to conduct a market introduction advertising program.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 8

At your sole cost, you must participate in the Gyu-Kaku Mobile App Rewards Program, our current customer loyalty rewards program.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all products which bear any of our trademarks, solely and exclusively from us or from a producer, manufacturer, supplier or service provider we approve (“Supplier”).

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase items bearing our trademarks only from designated vendors or approved suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay fees and other amounts due to us or our affiliates by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or other similar means.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

At your sole cost, you must participate in the Gyu-Kaku Mobile App Rewards Program, our current customer loyalty rewards program.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times that the Licensed Restaurant is open and at all times which pre-opening or post-closing activities are being undertaken at the Licensed Restaurant, the Licensed Restaurant shall be managed by a person that has successfully completed training (and if required, a person that is Certified for the…

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cause all employees, while working in the Licensed Restaurant, to: (i) wear uniforms of such color, design, and other specifications, and name tags, as Franchisor may designate from time to time

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease an Aloha POS system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitations on our right to independent access to the information and data generated and stored on your Information Systems.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

You will pay our then-current reasonable fees for any additional training courses you attend, and you bear all expenses for you and your personnel while attending (Franchise Agreement, Section 6.3).

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Attendance of at least one Principal Equity Owner at these meetings will be mandatory (and is highly recommended for all other principal equity owners).

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Reins USAGyu-Kaku

Reins USAGyu-Kaku operates 60 full-service restaurants across the US, with 32 company-owned and 28 franchised locations. The brand is headquartered in California and shows a concentrated geographic footprint: California leads with 9 units, followed by Florida (3), New York (3), Hawaii (2), and Texas (2). All 30 mapped operators are single-unit franchisees—there are zero multi-unit operators in the system. For a software vendor, this means a single corporate buyer controls the tech stack for the entire network, and the addressable market is exactly 60 units.

The brand does not disclose an average unit volume (AUV) in the most recent FDD. The royalty rate is 5.0%, and the initial franchise term is 11 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. Despite the modest unit count, the full corporate mandate over technology makes this a high-efficiency sales target: one decision, 60 locations.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD names Akitsugu Yamaguchi as the Agent for Service of Process, but no CIO, CTO, or VP of Technology is listed in Item 1. The absence of a named technology executive in the disclosure does not mean the function is absent—it simply means the role is not required to be listed. Given that the franchisor mandates three specific technology systems, purchasing authority almost certainly resides at the corporate level, not with individual franchisees. Vendors should direct outreach to the HQ office in California and expect a centralized evaluation process.

With 30 single-unit operators and no multi-unit franchisees, there is no secondary buying center among large franchisee groups. The entire system is dependent on corporate technology decisions.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates three systems. First, Aloha point-of-sale hardware by NCR Voyix is required for all locations. This is a mature, widely deployed POS platform in full-service restaurants, and any vendor pitching a replacement or add-on must demonstrate seamless integration with the Aloha environment. Second, the Gyu-Kaku Intranet is mandated—this proprietary system likely handles internal communications, operational workflows, or reporting. Third, an inventory management system software is mandated, though the specific vendor is not named in the FDD extract.

For software vendors, the mandated stack creates both barriers and opportunities. The Aloha POS mandate means NCR Voyix is the incumbent for core point-of-sale. Vendors selling adjacent solutions—labor scheduling, guest management, catering, business intelligence—must integrate with Aloha. The unnamed inventory management system represents a potential replacement or augmentation target if you can identify the current vendor through discovery.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier framework is not publicly disclosed. This is a gap you will need to fill through direct discovery. What is clear is the renewal structure: the initial term is 11 years, and a compliant franchisee may renew for a single additional 5-year term by entering the then-current Renewal Franchise Agreement, provided they give written notice at least 120 days before expiration. During the fourth year of that renewal term, the franchisee has a one-time option to terminate without cause on 30 days' written notice. After the second renewal term, no further renewals are granted, though the franchisee may apply for a new agreement.

This renewal cadence creates natural technology review points. As franchisees approach the 120-day notice window, they are likely evaluating the full cost of compliance with the then-current agreement—including any updated technology mandates. Vendors should align outreach with these windows, particularly for franchisees entering the final year of their initial 11-year term.

How to read the Reins USAGyu-Kaku FDD

The 2026 FDD is the primary source for every fact cited here. It discloses the 60-unit system, the 28/32 franchised-to-company-owned split, the California HQ, the single-unit operator footprint, and the three mandated technology systems. The document is filed with state franchise regulators and is available in the embedded viewer below. When you read it, focus on Item 11 (the source of the tech mandates), Item 17 (renewal and termination terms), and Item 20 (the state-level unit table that confirms the geographic footprint).

For vendors building a target list, Reins USAGyu-Kaku represents a small but centralized opportunity: one corporate buyer, 60 units, and a mandated stack that signals where integration points exist. Talk to FranCloud if you want a ranked target list built around these FDD signals.

Questions vendors ask

Reins USAGyu-Kaku, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Akitsugu Yamaguchi as Agent for Service of Process, but no CIO or CTO is named. Given mandated tech, purchasing decisions are centralized at the franchisor level, not by individual operators.
The 2026 FDD mandates Aloha point-of-sale hardware by NCR Voyix, the Gyu-Kaku Intranet, and an inventory management system. All three are required for franchisees.
There are 60 total units: 32 company-owned and 28 franchised. The brand is a full-service restaurant concept headquartered in California.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not disclosed in the most recent filing.
Franchise agreements run 11 years, with a single 5-year renewal option. Renewal requires 120 days' written notice. The renewal window and any tech-refresh cycles tied to new terms are the most predictable openings.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to verify mandates, unit counts, and executive disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Reins USAGyu-Kaku2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Reins USAGyu-Kaku files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

30 operators run 30 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit30

Top states by locations

CA9
FL3
NY3
HI2
TX2

Ownership

The portfolio behind Reins USAGyu-Kaku

unknown of reins international usa.

Related Full service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.