From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Top Shot Franchising

Retail non food

Software purchasing at Top Shot Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by a lean executive team, including CEO Mike Wilson and CFO/In-House Counsel Michael Nellinger. The franchise currently mandates Mindbody by Mindbody, Inc. as its core operational platform. With only 1 total unit disclosed in the 2024 FDD, the immediate addressable market is extremely small, making this a niche target for vendors.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$47K
per unit
Investment range
$170K–$284K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

MindbodyMindbody
Mandatory
BookingItem 7

lator is included in the costs of the simulator. You must purchase a computer and printer to manage your Unit Franchise. (9) You must use our approved POS and Scheduling Software (Mindbody). Currently

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

28 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must establish and maintain, at your sole expense, a bookkeeping, accounting and recordkeeping system that complies with our requirements and specifications at all times during the Term.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to the information that is generated and stored on your Computer System.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At our option, in addition to the Monthly Reports, you must submit to us, no later than 90 days after the end of each fiscal year, the following information concerning the fiscal year, which you must certify as correct: (a) A statement of Gross Revenues for the year as finally adjusted and reconciled after the close…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We, or our designated vendor, are the required vendor for all firearms simulators and related equipment, enclosures for portable equipment, firearms and accessories used on the simulators, camera systems for monitoring and retrieval of customer session, back-office support for scheduling, CRM and financial reporting…

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to change the System Suppliers at any time during the Term.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the year ending December 31, 2023, revenues from sale of required products and services to franchisees was $0 or representing 0% of our total revenues of $0.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may receive revenue or other consideration from any other suppliers for goods and services that we require or advise you to purchase.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

30

Item 8

We estimate the cost of purchasing required products and services will represent about 60% of your total purchases in establishing your franchise and about 30% of your total purchases during the operation of your franchise.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a supplier evaluation fee (the reasonable cost of the inspection and the actual cost of the test) to make the evaluation.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to purchase any items from any unapproved supplier, then you must submit to us a written request for approval of the proposed supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

This assignment becomes effective automatically on termination or expiration of Assignor’s franchise.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You also are solely responsible for compliance with all laws and payment card provider standards relating to the security of customer and member information, including information generated through the Computer System, including the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may periodically coordinate or conduct market research studies and/or similar programs and you agree to assist us in collecting and disclosing to us or our designee, information from your customers or members, including surveys and other questionnaires or similar information gathering methods.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

As we deem advisable, conduct inspections and/or audits of your Unit Franchise, including evaluations of its training methods, techniques, and equipment; its staff; and the services rendered to its customers (Franchise Agreement – Sections 7.6 and 9.5).

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree that, to ensure that the System remains competitive and responds to changes in technology, customer and member preference, and other factors, we may, by written notice to you, add to, delete from, modify, or otherwise change the System and the Manual, including without limitation by adding new or enhanced…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Unless we agree otherwise, you must locate and select a proposed site for the Premises that is acceptable to us as suitable for the operation of a Unit Franchise.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Except as we approve in advance in writing, you must not establish or maintain a separate website, splash page, profile or other presence on the Internet, or otherwise advertise on the Internet or any other social media platform or other public computer network in connection with the Unit Franchise, including any…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $12,000 to $24,000 on grand opening marketing beginning no later than 30 days before the opening of your Unit Franchise and ending 60 days after the opening date (the “Grand Opening Period”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to your contributions to the Ad Fund, you must spend $500 each month during the term of your Franchise Agreement (the “Minimum Local Advertising Requirement”).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree that we have the right to require you to offer and participate in member programs, including charitable promotions, loyalty programs, reciprocity and transfer programs, discounts and other promotions at your sole expense.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must join and participate in any Advertising Cooperative (“Co-op”) covering your Unit Franchise that we establish.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase these products, supplies, insurance, etc. solely from suppliers (including distributors, manufacturers, and other sources) who we have approved in writing.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase these products, supplies, insurance, etc. solely from suppliers (including distributors, manufacturers, and other sources) who we have approved in writing.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We require that all fees payable to us or our affiliates be paid through an electronic funds transfer, including automatic debits from your bank account, unless we specify otherwise.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use our approved POS Software and Scheduling Software (Mindbody) which is currently $600 per month.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to the information that is generated and stored on your Computer System.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use the computer hardware and software (collectively, “Computer System”) that we periodically designate to operate your Unit Franchise.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We also may offer additional or refresher training courses periodically.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Top Shot Franchising

Top Shot Franchising presents a minimal addressable market for software vendors. The 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) reports a total of 1 unit, which is company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed, and our corpus maps no multi-unit operators. For a vendor, this means the entire sales opportunity rests on a single location and its headquarters. The royalty rate is set at 6.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. No average unit volume (AUV) is reported, so unit-level economic health cannot be benchmarked from the FDD alone.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing decisions are centralized at the headquarters level. The FDD's Item 1 lists two executives: Mike Wilson, Chief Executive Officer, and Michael Nellinger, who serves as both Chief Financial Officer and In-House Counsel. In a system of this size, these two individuals are the entire buying center. A vendor pitch would need to engage Mr. Wilson for strategic buy-in and Mr. Nellinger for financial and legal review. No other operational or IT leadership is named in the filing.

Mandated and current tech stack

The technology landscape at Top Shot Franchising is defined by a single mandate: Mindbody by Mindbody, Inc. This is the only system explicitly required by the franchisor, according to the 2024 FDD. Mindbody is a well-known platform for business management in the wellness and fitness space, handling scheduling, point of sale, and client management. For a software vendor, this means any product must either integrate with or displace Mindbody at the sole operating unit. No other mandated or recommended vendors are disclosed, leaving the rest of the tech stack undefined or open.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an extract for Item 8, so the formal procurement model—whether the franchisor designates specific suppliers, maintains an approved list, or allows open purchasing—is not publicly known. On the renewal side, Item 17 provides clear conditions. A franchisee in good standing may acquire a successor franchise for one additional 10-year term. The renewal process requires written notice between 9 and 12 months before expiration, execution of the then-current franchise agreement, and payment of a renewal fee equal to 25% of the then-current initial franchise fee. With only one unit and a 10-year term, these renewal windows are not a near-term catalyst for software re-evaluation.

How to read the Top Shot Franchising FDD

The full 2024 FDD is available for review in the embedded viewer below. This document is the primary source for all data points cited here, including the executive roster, unit count, mandated technology, and renewal terms. It was filed with state franchise regulators and provides the legal and operational blueprint for the system. For vendors, the FDD is the starting point for understanding the franchisor's control points and the limited scale of this opportunity. Use the viewer to verify claims and search for any additional supplier requirements not captured in our extracts.

For a ranked list of franchise systems that match your ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help you prioritize targets beyond single-unit systems.

Questions vendors ask

Top Shot Franchising, answered from the filing

The buying center is small. The FDD lists Mike Wilson (CEO) and Michael Nellinger (CFO and In-House Counsel) as the key executives, making them the likely decision-makers for any software procurement.
The 2024 FDD mandates Mindbody by Mindbody, Inc. as the core operational system. No other mandated or recommended technology vendors are disclosed in the filing.
The 2024 FDD discloses 1 total unit, which is company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed, indicating a very early-stage or single-unit franchise system.
The FDD does not provide an extract for Item 8, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed in the most recent filing.
With a single unit and a 10-year initial term, renewal-driven contract windows are not a near-term factor. The renewal requires notice 9–12 months before expiration and a 25% fee of the then-current initial franchise fee.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2024. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to conduct your own detailed analysis.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Top Shot Franchising2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Top Shot Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Top Shot Franchising’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.