From the filings

HQ-led decisions

The Smoky Grass Station

Retail non food

The Smoky Grass Station is a retail non-food franchise with 11 company-owned locations and no franchised units disclosed in the 2024 FDD. Software purchasing is controlled at HQ by CEO/owner Zack Green and partner/owner Alex Valley. The addressable market is currently 11 locations, with no multi-unit operators mapped.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
11
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$376K
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
3.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$96K–$121K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 3.5%, Ad fund 3.5%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 3.5%Ad fund 3.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

ible, you may do cooperative advertising with other The Smoky Grass Station franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, L

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

operative advertising with other The Smoky Grass Station franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube or

QuickBooksIntuit
AccountingItem 11

following hardware and software. Hardware: Laptop or desktop, POS System, Router, Cash Register, Receipt Printer, High Speed Internet, Surveillance Equipment Software: Square and QuickBooks There are

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

may do cooperative advertising with other The Smoky Grass Station franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Y

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

advertising with other The Smoky Grass Station franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube or any other

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to use the hardware, software, system tools and processes as stated in the Operations Manual.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to your sales information and customer data generated by and stored in your system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within thirty (30) days after the close of each calendar quarter and within ninety (90) days after the close of each fiscal year, Franchisee will furnish Franchisor a full and complete written statement of income and expense and a profit and loss statement for the operation of the Franchised Business during said…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Our affiliate, Gold Spectrum CBD LLC is the designated supplier of Farm Bill compliant CBD/THC products for franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

These suppliers can change with notice.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Our affiliate, Gold Spectrum CBD LLC is the designated supplier of Farm Bill compliant CBD/THC products for franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

We estimate that required purchases make up approximately twenty to thirty percent (20%-30%) of the purchases and leases to be made by the franchisee in establishing the business and approximately seventy five percent (75%) of the purchases and leases required for ongoing operations.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

In addition, you must pay a fee of $100, which may be refundable if the supplier is approved.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like us to consider another item or supplier, you must make such request in writing to us and have the supplier give us samples of its product or service and such other information that we may require, such as Certificate of Analysis for products.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon the expiration or termination of this Agreement, Franchisor may exercise its authority, pursuant to such documents, to obtain any and all of Franchisee’s rights to the telephone numbers of the Franchised Business and all related telephone directory listings and other business listings, and all Internet listings…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

conduct inspections of your Franchised Business, at the frequency and duration that we deem advisable.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 17

Modification of the agreement Sections 9.4, 14.6, No oral modifications generally, but we may 19.1.4 and 22.4 change the Operations Manual and System standards at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Before you open your Franchised Business, we will: a. approve the location for your Franchised Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube or any other social media and/or networking site without our prior written approval.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During the Grand Opening period, approximately two weeks prior to opening and four weeks after opening Franchisee shall spend a minimum of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) on Grand Opening marketing activities.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to spend one percent (1%) of gross revenue per quarter on local advertising.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

Our affiliate, Gold Spectrum CBD LLC is the designated supplier of Farm Bill compliant CBD/THC products for franchisees.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase any equipment or materials bearing the Marks in accordance with our specifications.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Franchisor’s request, Franchisee must execute documents that allow Franchisor to automatically take the Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Contribution due as well as other sums due Franchisor, from business bank accounts via electronic funds transfers.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to use the hardware, software, system tools and processes as stated in the Operations Manual.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to your sales information and customer data generated by and stored in your system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

You will be required to pay $500 - $3,000 for the additional training programs, including the annual business meeting or conference.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we require it, you must attend mandatory additional training offered by us, and/or attend an annual business meeting or franchisee conference for up to five (5) days each year at a location we designate.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at The Smoky Grass Station

The Smoky Grass Station operates 11 locations, all company-owned, with no franchised units disclosed in the 2024 FDD. Average unit volume is $375,860.66. Royalty is 3.5% and the initial franchise term is 10 years. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is small: 11 locations, one mapped operator in Wisconsin, and no multi-unit operators. The parent company is greenbean ventures, though its structure is not detailed in the FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

HQ controls software purchasing. The named executives in the FDD are Zack Green (CEO/owner), Alex Valley (partner/owner), and Joe Griffith II (Franchise President). There is no CIO, CTO, or dedicated IT buyer listed. For a vendor pitch, Zack Green and Alex Valley are the likely economic buyers, while Joe Griffith II may influence operational tools. Because all units are company-owned, there is no franchisee-level purchasing autonomy to navigate.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD does not disclose a mandated POS or operational tech stack. Named systems are limited to QuickBooks for accounting and Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, and YouTube for social media and marketing. No inventory, HR, scheduling, or loyalty platforms are mentioned. This suggests either a lean tech footprint or that the franchisor has not formalized technology requirements in the FDD. Vendors should treat the current stack as minimal and open to replacement or expansion.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement signals are not extracted in the FDD, so there is no designated supplier or approved vendor program to work around. Renewal terms allow one additional 10-year term if the franchisee is in good standing, with a renewal fee of 50% of the then-current franchise fee. Because no franchised units exist yet, software contract windows are tied to HQ-driven initiatives or future franchise recruitment. Vendors should monitor franchise sales activity and any HQ announcements about new technology rollouts.

How to read the The Smoky Grass Station FDD

The 2024 FDD is embedded below. Focus on Item 11 for any technology obligations, Item 8 for procurement restrictions, and Item 17 for renewal and transfer conditions. The FDD does not name a specific POS or operational software, so treat the named systems (QuickBooks, Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube) as the only confirmed tech footprint. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that fit your software, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

The Smoky Grass Station, answered from the filing

CEO/owner Zack Green and partner/owner Alex Valley are the named executives. Franchise President Joe Griffith II may also influence operational tools. No dedicated CIO or CTO is listed in the FDD.
The FDD does not disclose a mandated POS. Named systems are QuickBooks for accounting and Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, YouTube for social media. No other operational tech is specified.
11 total units, all company-owned. No franchised units are disclosed. One mapped operator runs one location in Wisconsin. No multi-unit operators.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract. No designated or approved supplier program is disclosed. Assume open procurement unless the franchisor communicates otherwise.
Renewal is possible for one additional 10-year term if the franchisee is in good standing. No franchised units exist yet, so contract windows depend on future franchise sales and HQ-driven tech changes.
The 2024 FDD is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators in 2024. Review Item 11 for tech obligations and Item 17 for renewal terms.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Smoky Grass Station2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Smoky Grass Station files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind The Smoky Grass Station

unknown of greenbean ventures.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.