From the filings

HQ-led decisions

The Roof Resource Franchising

Home services

Software purchasing at The Roof Resource Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level, with key executives including the CEO, CFO, and VP of Operations likely involved in technology decisions. The most recent Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does not list any mandated or recommended technology systems, presenting a greenfield opportunity for vendors. The total addressable market is small, with only 7 total units (6 franchised, 1 company-owned) across three states.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
7
6 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
10%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$45K
per unit
Investment range
$89K–$115K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

11%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 11% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 10%, Ad fund 1%. Total 11% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 10%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Google Business ProfileGoogle
Mandatory
MarketingItem 7

Multi-State FDD June 21, 2024 our designated business management system (the “Business Management System”). We also require that you use Google Business Profile Management for at least 12 months. The

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and the Business Management System Data and to duplicate and evaluate the data;

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business including, but not limited to, income statement, statement of cash flows, balance sheet, and other operational reports designated…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business Judgment, may, from time to time, modify the list of approved brands, suppliers and distributors of System Supplies, Service Vehicles, and approved equipment, supplies and services to be used by the Franchised Business

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

3830

Item 8

During the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, we received $3,830 in rebates from franchisee purchases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliates may receive rebates, payments and other material benefits from suppliers based on franchisee purchases and we reserve the right to institute and expand rebate programs in the future.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

55

Item 8

We estimate that your purchase of goods and services from suppliers according to our specifications, including your purchase of goods or services from our designated exclusive suppliers to represent approximately 65% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately 55% of…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

shall pay to Franchisor a supplier evaluation fee per requested product, service, equipment, supply, supplier and/or distributor to be considered

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All rights in and to telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Item 6

You must subscribe to and participate in the customer review tracking and reputation management services and providers that we designate.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right at any time during business hours, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s non-residential Administrative Office, and System Supplies.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must obtain Franchisor’s written approval of the location of Franchisee’s Administrative Office.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

We strictly control how you may or may not use websites and digital media and you must assign all website media and digital media accounts to us.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business and during the initial three month period following the Actual Opening Date, Franchisee shall spend not less than $3,000 to market and promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During months four, five and six after the earlier of the Actual Opening Date or the Scheduled Opening Date, Franchisee must spend, or pay to Franchisor or Franchisor’s designated marketing vendor as Franchisor directs, not less than $3,500 per month plus $3,500 per month for each Additional Marketing Territory Zone…

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

customer service and satisfaction standards including, customer rewards programs, refund policies, gift card policies, special promotions and other customer incentive and goodwill programs

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we elect to form a local or regional cooperative or if a cooperative already exists as to the area of your Roof Resource Business, you will be required to participate in the cooperative in accordance with the provisions of our operations manual which we may supplement and modify from time to time.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall exclusively purchase the System Supplies from the supplier and/or suppliers and vendor and/or vendors designated by Franchisor from time to time.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must install and use, at your expense, the pre-authorized payment, point of sale, credit card processing, automatic payment, automated banking, electronic debit and/or electronic funds transfer systems that we designate and require in the operation of your Roof Resource Business.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must use our designated supplier and vendor for the ability to access and use online, point of sale integrated, web based, and/or app based, ordering, customer rewards, and/or gift card systems.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Managing Owner must at all times be actively involved in the operation of the Franchised Business unless Franchisee delegates management functions to an authorized Operating Manager who, among other things, satisfactorily completes Franchisor’s Training Program, and otherwise meets the criteria and conditions for…

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

exclusively purchase and use equipment, supplies, promotional materials, point of sale systems and Business Management Systems designated by Franchisor

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisor shall possess direct live access and storage based access to the Business Management System for the Franchised Business and to Franchisee’s Business Management System Data.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

“Business Management System” refers to and means the software, internet, web based and/or cloud based system or systems, point of sale system or systems and customer relationship management system or systems as same may be individually or collectively designated by Franchisor, in Franchisor’s Reasonable Business…

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor provides instructors and training materials for those programs and seminars, but Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we offer a franchisee annual conference in a given year you will be required to attend the conference on the dates and at the location that we designate.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at The Roof Resource

The Roof Resource Franchising presents a very small, concentrated opportunity for software vendors. With only 7 total units—6 franchised and 1 company-owned—the addressable market is limited. The system is heavily concentrated in Michigan, which hosts 9 of the 11 mapped operators, with single units also in New Jersey and Colorado. All operators are single-unit owners; there are no multi-unit operators in the system. This flat structure means any software sale would likely need to be a system-wide adoption driven from the top. The royalty rate is 10.0% on gross revenue, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology purchasing decisions are centralized at the headquarters level. The 2025 FDD lists five key executives: Michael Harvey (Chief Executive Officer), Robert Schlotterer (Chief Financial Officer), Adam Helfman (Chief Strategic Officer), Audrey Isrow (Vice President of Communications and Marketing), and Kathy Kobel (Vice President of Operations). For a software vendor, the most direct paths are likely through the CEO for strategic tools, the CFO for financial and back-office systems, and the VP of Operations for field service or project management platforms. Given the small leadership team, the buying group is compact and likely collaborative.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD does not identify any mandated or recommended technology vendors. There are no named POS systems, CRM platforms, or operational tools that franchisees are required to use. This absence of a prescribed tech stack means the brand is either technology-agnostic or has not formalized its digital infrastructure. For a vendor, this represents a blank slate, but it also means you must build a case from scratch, demonstrating clear ROI to a leadership team that may not have a line-item budget for new software.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Details on the procurement model are scarce. The available FDD extract contains no signal from Item 8, which typically outlines designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or open purchasing. This lack of disclosure suggests a less formalized procurement process. Renewal terms are more defined: franchisees must provide 180 days' written notice to renew, sign the then-current franchise agreement, and pay a renewal fee. The renewal term is 10 years. With only 7 units and no recent unit growth data available, natural contract renewal cycles will be rare events. Vendors should not rely on a calendar of expirations and instead focus on proactive, value-driven outreach to HQ.

How to read the The Roof Resource FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document provides the legal and operational framework for the franchise system. It includes detailed information on fees, territory, obligations, and the franchisor's financial performance representations, if any. For a software vendor, the most critical items are Item 8 (procurement restrictions), Item 11 (franchisor's assistance, including technology), and Item 17 (renewal and termination). The embedded viewer below allows you to search and review the complete filing. For a ranked target list of franchise brands based on tech-maturity and procurement signals, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

The Roof Resource Franchising, answered from the filing

The buying center likely includes CEO Michael Harvey, CFO Robert Schlotterer, and VP of Operations Kathy Kobel, based on their executive roles listed in the 2025 FDD.
The 2025 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended point-of-sale or operational technology systems for franchisees.
There are 7 total units: 6 franchised and 1 company-owned. All 11 mapped operators are single-unit operators, concentrated in Michigan (9), New Jersey (1), and Colorado (1).
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extract. Item 8, which would specify designated or approved suppliers, provided no signal in the data.
With a 10-year initial term and a renewal requiring 180 days' notice, contract windows are infrequent. Given the small, stable unit count, timing is unpredictable without direct outreach.
The 2025 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Roof Resource Franchising2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Roof Resource Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

11 operators run 11 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit11

Top states by locations

MI9
NJ1
CO1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.