From the filings

+33.333% units YoYHQ-led decisions

The Rock Underground

Education

Software purchasing at The Rock Underground is controlled by a small HQ team led by CEO Steve Eplan and CFO Edward Shoulson. The franchisor has not disclosed any mandated or recommended technology systems in its 2025 FDD. With only 6 total units (4 franchised, 2 company-owned), the addressable market is extremely small, concentrated entirely in New York.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
6
4 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+33.333%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$71K–$188K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

FacebookMeta
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

ool, which must be updated at least monthly. You must maintain a Facebook page according to our standards. You must provide us with the user ID and password you establish for your Facebook account. We

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

the internet. You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Business or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as FourSquare, Instagram, LinkedIn

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

t. You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Business or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as FourSquare, Instagram, LinkedIn or Twitter,

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

ot permitted to promote your Franchised Business or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as FourSquare, Instagram, LinkedIn or Twitter, without our

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall use a bookkeeping, accounting, inventory control, and record-keeping system for the business of the Franchised School that is approved by us, including, but not limited to, the chart of account and statement formats we specify.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right to access your computer system to obtain any data stored on it, including sales and inventory information, schedules, and your customer database.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall furnish to us throughout the term of this Agreement, in the form and in the manner from time to time prescribed by us and in addition to the monthly Gross Sales report described above: (a) on or before the twentieth (20th) day of each month, an income statement for the Franchised School for the preceding…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently we are the sole approved supplier for logoed merchandise, guitars, accessories, forms and printed documents.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may periodically modify our standards, programs, products or services, and you must comply with any changes we require.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the last fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, we did not derive any revenue from required purchases or leases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

70

Item 8

The cost of the items that you must purchase from us, our affiliates or from suppliers designated by us represents between 70% and 80% of your total purchases in operating your School.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You or the proposed supplier must pay our costs related to our evaluation (but not more than $1,000).

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use any product, material or render any service that does not comply with the standards of the System or is to be purchased from a supplier that has not yet been approved, you must first submit a written request for approval of the proposed supplier and obtain our approval of the supplier before…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(i) to transfer all Franchisee’s interest in such Telephone Listings to Franchisor; and (ii) to execute such documents and take such actions as may be necessary to effectuate such transfer.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We or our designees shall have the right, during normal business hours, to review, audit, examine and copy any or all of your books and records as we may require at the Franchised School.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

We may revise the contents of the Manual, and you must comply with each new or changed standard, at your own expense.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You may not operate the Franchised School from any location other than the Approved Location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

In connection with any Website, apps the Franchise Agreement provides that you may not establish a Website or apps related to the Proprietary Marks or the System, nor may you offer, promote, or sell any products or services, or make any use of the Proprietary Mark, through the Internet without our prior written…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend between $2,500 and $5,000 for your grand opening campaign.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must conduct local advertising in your Territory, and you must spend not less than $500 each month on local advertising (Franchise Agreement – Section 5.3).

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in any cooperative established for the area that includes your Territory, but you will not have to participate in more than one cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must purchase all products, materials and supplies only from distributors and other suppliers approved by us from time to time.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all fixtures, furnishings, signs, equipment, inventory, uniforms, advertising materials, and other supplies, products and materials required for the establishment and operation of your Franchised School solely from suppliers who demonstrate, to our continuing reasonable satisfaction, the ability to…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All Royalty Fees and other fees payable hereunder shall be made by electronic funds transfer or automatic debit of funds, by check, or by another method determined by us, in our sole discretion.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

conduct such promotions and special events, offer such local and national promotional items and accept such coupons and gift certificates as we may from time to time require.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall at all times maintain a sufficient number of trained employees to service your customers.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall adopt as a standard for performance and operation of your Franchised School our standards and conform to all specifications relating to construction, décor, design, equipment, packaging, products, services, uniforms, signs, displays or decorations, and other identifying materials, uniform record keeping…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease fixtures, equipment, including signage, computerized point of sale system, business stationery, marketing materials, furnishings, inventory, retail merchandise and related supplies that meet our minimum standards and specifications or are from suppliers that we approve.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must make sure that we have independent access at all times to your computer system, at your expense.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

If the training is optional, we may charge a reasonable fee for the training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

We may hold periodic regional or national franchisee meetings to discuss ongoing changes in the industry, operational techniques, new music programs, service developments, personnel training, bookkeeping, accounting, advertising programs and new service procedures, and you must attend these meetings.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at The Rock Underground

The Rock Underground operates an education franchise system headquartered in New York. According to the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of 6 total units—4 franchised and 2 company-owned. Year-over-year unit growth stands at 33.3%, indicating recent expansion from a very small base. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 6 locations, all of which are concentrated in New York state. The operator footprint shows 3 mapped operators, none of whom are multi-unit operators, with all located units falling into the 1-to-3-unit band. This is a compact, centralized system where a single sale to the franchisor could cover the entire network.

No average unit volume (AUV) is disclosed in the FDD. The royalty rate is 6.0% of gross revenue. The initial franchise term length is not disclosed. Vendors should approach this account with the understanding that the total contract value will be modest given the unit count, but the centralized decision-making may shorten sales cycles.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority at The Rock Underground sits with the corporate leadership. The FDD lists two executive officers: Steve Eplan, who serves as Chief Executive Officer and Vice President, and Edward Shoulson, who serves as Chief Financial Officer and President. With no additional executives on file and no parent company, these two individuals constitute the entire known buying center. A vendor pitching any operational, financial, or educational technology should expect to engage directly with Eplan and Shoulson. There is no indication of a separate IT or procurement function, which is consistent with a system of this size.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. No point-of-sale vendor, learning management system, scheduling platform, or other operational tool is named in the document. This absence of a mandated tech stack means the franchisor either does not require franchisees to use specific systems or has not chosen to disclose those requirements in the FDD. For a vendor, this represents either a blank-slate opportunity or a need to uncover the incumbent tools during the discovery process. Do not assume the absence of a mandate means the absence of a tool; the existing 6 units are almost certainly running on something.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The procurement model at The Rock Underground is not described in the available FDD extracts. Item 8, which typically details whether the franchisor designates approved suppliers or requires franchisees to purchase from specific sources, did not yield any information. Similarly, Item 17, which covers renewal, termination, and transfer terms, provided no extract. Without these data points, vendors cannot determine whether the franchisor exerts tight control over vendor selection or leaves it to individual franchisees. The initial term length is also not disclosed, so there is no contractual renewal window to target. Given the system's small size and recent growth, the leadership team is likely accessible, but vendors should not count on a predictable procurement calendar.

How to read the The Rock Underground FDD

The full 2025 FDD is embedded below for your own analysis. This document is the primary legal disclosure that The Rock Underground provides to prospective franchisees and is filed with state franchise regulators. When reviewing it, focus on Item 11 (the franchisor's obligations) for any technology or support commitments, Item 8 for procurement restrictions, and Item 19 for financial performance representations, though note that AUV is not disclosed in the summary data. The executive team listed in Item 1 is your target buying group. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

The Rock Underground, answered from the filing

The buying center is concentrated at HQ. The FDD lists Steve Eplan (CEO/VP) and Edward Shoulson (CFO/President) as the sole executive officers, making them the likely decision-makers for any software evaluation.
The 2025 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended point-of-sale, operational, or other technology systems. Vendors should assume a greenfield opportunity or a need to discover the incumbent during discovery.
There are 6 total units: 4 franchised and 2 company-owned. All mapped operator locations are in New York. The system grew 33.3% year-over-year, adding units from a very small base.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. Item 8, which typically outlines designated or approved supplier requirements, did not yield an extract, so the franchisor's stance on supplier restrictions is unknown.
Timing is difficult to predict. The initial term length and Item 17 renewal signals are not disclosed in the FDD. With rapid recent growth, the system may be open to new tools, but the window is not contractually defined.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to conduct your own technology and procurement due diligence.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Rock Underground2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Rock Underground files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

3 operators run 3 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit3

Top states by locations

NY3

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.