From the filings

HQ-led decisions

The Oceanaire Realty

Real estate

Software purchasing at The Oceanaire Realty is controlled at the HQ level by Founder Doug Yopp. The franchise mandates a specific, modern real estate tech stack including BoomTown, DotLoop, and SISU. With only 2 company-owned units and no franchised locations reported, the addressable market is currently limited to the corporate headquarters.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$622K
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
5.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$82K–$145K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 5.5%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5.5%Ad fund 0.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

3 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

BoomTownInside Real Estate
Mandatory
CrmItem 11

speed internet. We estimate that the cost to purchase this required hardware is between $1,500 and $4,000. Additionally, we require you to use certain required software, including BoomTown client rela

dotloopZillow
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 11

ase this required hardware is between $1,500 and $4,000. Additionally, we require you to use certain required software, including BoomTown client relationship management software, Dotloop transaction

QuickBooksIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

500 and $4,000. Additionally, we require you to use certain required software, including BoomTown client relationship management software, Dotloop transaction management software, QuickBooks accountin

Constant ContactConstant Contact
MarketingItem 11

require you to use certain required software, including BoomTown client relationship management software, Dotloop transaction management software, QuickBooks accounting software, Constant Contact mark

SisuSisu
Industry softwareItem 11

nship management software, Dotloop transaction management software, QuickBooks accounting software, Constant Contact marketing subscription, Grasshopper phone system software, and SISU data analytics

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Additionally, we require you to use certain required software, including BoomTown client relationship management software, Dotloop transaction management software, QuickBooks accounting software, Constant Contact marketing subscription, Grasshopper phone system software, and SISU data analytics software.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have the free, and unfettered right to independently retrieve any data and information from your Computer Systems as we, in our sole discretion, deem appropriate, including electronically accessing your transaction data, and other data of the Business.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to amend and/or modify such specifications or supplier lists at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the last fiscal year, we did not receive any revenue from our franchisees’ required purchases or leases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

The cost of the items that you must purchase from us, our affiliates or from suppliers designated by us represents approximately 90% of your total purchases in operating your Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

New Product, Costs and Upon request If requested by you, you will pay all fees Service, or Supplier expenses and costs incurred by us to obtain the Approval Fee necessary information and evaluate new products, services, or suppliers you propose to use.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

To use a good, service, or supplier that we have not already approved, you must first submit to us information including product specifications, product components, product performance history, product samples, supplier information, and any other relevant information.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

You must also assign to us certain assets like the lease, phone number, or other directory listings and Online Presence accounts to us without compensation.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Operations, Standards of Quality, Inspections

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

Revisions to the Confidential Operations Manual will be made in our sole discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve the site location and the lease if you do not own the premises.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you to spend up to $500 per Associate per month on local marketing.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 6

No by cooperative. is established for your area, you must cooperative participate and you must pay the currently cooperative payments the cooperative established imposes.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You are required to use our designated supplier of marketing promotional items such as umbrellas, pens, jackets, and other branded items.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You are required to use the approved software systems and obtain them from our designated suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require Franchisee to remit payment of the Royalty and other fees by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”).

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the free, and unfettered right to independently retrieve any data and information from your Computer Systems as we, in our sole discretion, deem appropriate, including electronically accessing your transaction data, and other data of the Business.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to charge you for this at our then-current rates.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Franchisees are required to attend all conferences and other required training courses.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 15

The vendor opportunity at The Oceanaire Realty

The Oceanaire Realty presents a micro-target opportunity for software vendors. The system consists of just 2 total units, all of which are company-owned. No franchised units are reported in the 2022 FDD. The average unit volume (AUV) is $621,648, with a 5.5% royalty rate on a 10-year initial term. This is not a volume play; it is a relationship sale to a single corporate entity headquartered in North Carolina.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority is concentrated entirely at the headquarters level. Founder Doug Yopp is the sole executive named in the FDD. For a vendor, this means there is one clear buyer persona to engage. There is no franchisee autonomy to navigate, no operator footprint to map, and no parent company to influence the decision. The pitch must resonate with a founder-led, independent real estate brokerage.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2022 FDD mandates five specific technology systems. BoomTown is required for CRM and lead management. Constant Contact by Constant Contact, Inc. handles email marketing. DotLoop is mandated for transaction management. QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. covers accounting. SISU provides business intelligence and performance tracking. This is a modern, cloud-based stack with no legacy POS or on-premise systems mentioned. Any software pitch must demonstrate clear, additive value alongside these entrenched tools.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Specific procurement rules from Item 8 are not disclosed in the available data. However, the mandate of five named systems strongly implies a designated-supplier model for core functions. Renewal conditions from Item 17 require a franchisee to execute the then-current form of the Franchise Agreement, pay a renewal fee of 10% of the then-current initial franchise fee, and refurbish the business as required. The renewal term is 5 years. With no year-over-year unit growth reported, the primary sales trigger will be a corporate decision to replace or supplement an existing mandated vendor.

How to read the The Oceanaire Realty FDD

The 2022 FDD is the foundational document for understanding this brand's obligations. Item 11 details the mandated technology relationships listed above. Item 19 contains the financial performance representation, showing the $621,648 AUV. Item 1 identifies the single decision-maker. Reviewing the full document below will provide the precise legal language governing vendor lock-in and renewal triggers. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, explore FranCloud's research tools.

Questions vendors ask

The Oceanaire Realty, answered from the filing

Founder Doug Yopp is the key decision-maker listed in the FDD. As the sole named executive, he controls all technology procurement and vendor selection for the brand's corporate operations.
The 2022 FDD mandates BoomTown, Constant Contact, DotLoop, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., and SISU. This covers CRM, email marketing, transaction management, accounting, and business intelligence.
The system has 2 total units, all company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed in the 2022 FDD, indicating a very small, corporate-controlled footprint.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extracts. The presence of five mandated technology systems suggests a designated-supplier model for core operational software.
The initial franchise term is 10 years. Renewal terms are 5 years, requiring a 10% renewal fee and execution of the then-current agreement. Contract windows likely align with these renewal cycles or corporate strategy shifts.
The 2022 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 technology mandates and Item 19 financial performance representations.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Oceanaire Realty2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Oceanaire Realty files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. The Oceanaire Realty’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Real estate brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.