From the filings

+11.538% units YoYNo mandated tech stackOperator-led decisions

The Meadows Original Frozen Custard - VAThe Meadows Original Frozen Custard

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing authority at The Meadows Original Frozen Custard sits with individual franchisees, as the 2025 FDD does not mandate any specific technology systems or name a centralized IT buyer at the Pennsylvania headquarters. With 29 franchised locations across five states and 11.5% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is small but expanding. Vendors should prepare for a direct-to-operator sales motion targeting single-unit owners.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
29
29 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+11.538%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
2%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$134K–$512K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

3%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 3% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 2%, Ad fund 1%. Total 3% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

14 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 15 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In addition to furnishing the Monthly Operating Statement required by Section 4.A. hereof, Franchisee shall, within sixty (60) days after the end of each calendar year, furnish Franchisor compiled financial statements as defined by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Statement on Standards for…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may add suppliers to or remove suppliers from the list of designated suppliers at any time in Franchisor’s sole discretion.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

215887

Item 8

in the year ending November 30, 2024, Meadows' revenue from required purchases, namely revenue from Meadows' designated supplier of frozen custard and frozen yogurt formula mixes, was $215,887 or 73.5% of Meadows' total revenues of $293,553.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Meadows may also receive rebates from product manufacturers under certain conditions such as volume thresholds and growth programs.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

We estimate that these required purchases are 3% of the cost you will incur in the establishment of your Custard Stand and 25-30% of the cost you will incur in the operation of your Custard Stand.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

A charge not to exceed the actual cost of the test may be made by Franchisor or by an

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

The franchisor will approve or disapprove within 30 days alternate suppliers if the franchisee requests such approval in writing.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor intends to periodically conduct inspections (both announced and unannounced) of the Custard Stand to evaluate compliance by Franchisee with The Meadows Original Frozen Custard System and this Agreement ("Inspection").

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may revise the Operating Manual periodically (see Franchise Agreement, § 12.).

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You select the site for your Custard Stand after you sign the Option Agreement, subject to our approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must, however, advertise your Custard Stand locally, spending each month, at a minimum, 2% of the Gross Sales of your Custard Stand for local advertising and promotion.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase the formula mix for the frozen custard and frozen yogurt solely from Franchisor or such supplier(s) as has(have) been designated by Franchisor.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase the formula mixes for the frozen custard and the frozen yogurt, the frozen custard machines, cones, disposables (napkins, spoons, bowls, lids, bags, straws), add-ins (nuts, candies, toppings), syrups, and all items bearing the Meadows logo solely from suppliers that we designate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

Additional Training $50 per day Prior to commencement of training.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at The Meadows Original Frozen Custard

The Meadows Original Frozen Custard operates 29 franchised quick-service restaurants, with no company-owned locations disclosed in the 2025 FDD. The brand grew units by 11.5% year-over-year, adding locations in its core Pennsylvania market and expanding into Virginia, Maryland, Texas, and Massachusetts. For software vendors, the total addressable market is 29 individually owned locations, all run by single-unit operators. No multi-unit franchisees appear in the operator footprint. This is a small, fragmented account base where every sale is a one-at-a-time conversation with an owner-operator.

The royalty rate is 2.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD. Vendors should model deal sizes against a small footprint with low system-wide spend concentration. The absence of a parent company or private equity backing suggests independent, founder-led governance, which often means slower technology adoption but less bureaucratic purchasing friction at the unit level.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD does not name any headquarters executives, and no IT, procurement, or operations leadership is on file. With no mandated technology systems and no centralized purchasing function described in the disclosure document, software buying authority defaults to the franchisee. All 29 operators are single-unit owners, so there is no multi-unit decision-maker consolidating purchases across locations. A vendor selling into this system must reach each franchisee directly. Pennsylvania, with 19 units, represents the densest territory for field sales or localized digital outreach.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD contains no Item 11 technology mandates or recommended vendor list. No point-of-sale system, online ordering platform, loyalty provider, payroll processor, or back-office tool is named. This does not mean the brand is technology-free; it means the franchisor does not require or formally endorse specific systems. Franchisees likely select their own tools independently. For a vendor, this is a greenfield: no incumbent to displace by franchisee mandate, but also no top-down adoption lever. Proof-of-concept with a single location and peer referrals among the franchisee community would be the likely path to penetration.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD provides no Item 8 extract, so the franchisor’s procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open market—is not disclosed. Renewal terms offer a clear timing signal: franchisees in good standing may renew for an additional 10 years by giving timely notice, signing a new agreement, paying a renewal fee, remodeling, and signing a release. The remodel requirement in particular can trigger operational reassessments, including technology upgrades. New store openings, given 11.5% unit growth, also create greenfield deployment opportunities. Vendors should monitor new franchise sales and renewal windows in Pennsylvania, where the bulk of the system operates.

How to read the The Meadows Original Frozen Custard FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for the brand’s legal and operational structure. Key sections for technology vendors include Item 1 (the franchisor and any parents), Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and required technology), and Item 17 (renewal, termination, and transfer). In this FDD, Item 1 does not list parent companies or named executives, Item 8 is absent from the extract, and Item 11 contains no technology mandates. The embedded PDF viewer below provides the full document for your own due diligence. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

The Meadows Original Frozen Custard - VAThe Meadows Original Frozen Custard, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD does not identify a centralized technology buyer. With no mandated tech and all units franchised, purchasing decisions appear to rest with individual franchisees.
The most recent FDD does not list any mandated or recommended point-of-sale, back-office, or operational technology systems for franchisees.
There are 29 franchised locations. The brand operates in Pennsylvania (19), Virginia (3), Maryland (2), Texas (1), and Massachusetts (1). No company-owned units are reported.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether the franchisor designates suppliers, maintains an approved list, or allows open purchasing is not disclosed.
Initial franchise terms run 10 years. Renewals add another 10 years and require a new agreement, remodel, and release. New-unit openings and renewal cycles create natural evaluation windows.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

The Meadows Original Frozen Custard - VAThe Meadows Original Frozen Custard2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment The Meadows Original Frozen Custard - VAThe Meadows Original Frozen Custard files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

29 operators run 29 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit29

Top states by locations

PA19
VA3
MD2
TX1
MA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind The Meadows Original Frozen Custard - VAThe Meadows Original Frozen Custard

single_brand_holdco of The Meadows Original Frozen Custard.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.