From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Swig

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Swig is controlled at the headquarters level in Utah, where executives like President Todd Smith and CMO Dylan Roeder oversee operations. The franchise currently mandates specific accounting software and a designated CRM, creating a defined tech stack for its 89 locations. With 73 company-owned and 16 franchised units, the addressable market for vendors is concentrated but presents a clear path through HQ decision-makers.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
89
16 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.22M
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$608K–$1.72M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
3 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

10%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 10% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 3%. Total 10% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

YelpYelp
MarketingItem 11

, items on third party resale or auction-style websites such as eBay, Craigslist or Amazon without our prior written permission. You may not claim any web listing on sites such as Yelp. We have the ri

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use the accounting software designated by us.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information and data collected or generated by the computer and the POS system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must submit the following reports by the following due dates.

How the franchisor buys

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

176109

Item 8

In the last fiscal year, we recognized revenue from the sale of products and services to franchisees in the amount of $176,109 or 8.3% of our total revenues of $2,121,006.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliates may derive income from required purchases or leases of goods or services made by our franchisees from approved sources.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

We estimate that the proportion of required purchases or leases will represent 85% to 95% of your overall purchases in opening your franchise business and 85% to 95% of your overall purchases in operating your franchise business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must reimburse us for our costs associated with the evaluation within 10 days of notice from us.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

if you desire to use a particular supplier and if that supplier meets the specifications and requirements of our system, at our discretion, we may approve that supplier to become an approved supplier.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must gather, upload, and/or store all Customer Data in compliance with our minimum security standards

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

During the operation of your franchise business, we may: 1) Make periodic inspections of your franchise business, which may be done in person or through remote access such as video or live video conferencing and may be performed through a third-party provider.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to modify the manuals to reflect changes in the system including the development of products or services.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve your site before a lease is entered into or you begin construction.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not create a website for your franchise business.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You are required to pay Us the grand opening marketing fee listed in Exhibit “A-3”.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to participate in the loyalty, gift card, memberships, subscription, coupon, free giveaways, and fundraising programs we develop.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease the following products and services from us, other sources designated or approved by us, or according to our specifications as set forth in the manuals:

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

At your sole cost and expense, you are required to use our designed merchant services or payment processor, and to pay all monthly, annual, service, and upgrade fees.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All Fees must be paid in accordance with Our then-current electronic funds transfer, ACH or other automatic withdrawal program or as specifically directed by Us.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to participate in the loyalty, gift card, memberships, subscription, coupon, free giveaways, and fundraising programs we develop.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You must have at least one shift lead on-site during regular business hours.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Uniforms and Tumblers Yes Yes

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require the use of a point of sale system designated by us to be purchased or leased from our designated supplier at your expense.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information and data collected or generated by the computer and the POS system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We can also require your operating principal and/or other key personnel to attend additional trainings if you are in default, or if we reasonably believe such training would be in the best interest of your franchise.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Swig

Swig operates 89 quick-service restaurant locations, with a heavy tilt toward company ownership—73 units are corporate-run, and only 16 are franchised. This structure concentrates software purchasing decisions at the headquarters in Utah rather than dispersing them across a large franchisee base. The average unit volume sits at $1,216,950, and the brand pays a 7.0% royalty on a standard 10-year initial term. For a software vendor, the total addressable market is modest in unit count but potentially high in per-unit value, given the corporate control and the existing mandate for specific platforms.

Who controls software purchasing

The Franchise Disclosure Document identifies a lean executive team: Todd Smith serves as President, Dylan Roeder as Chief Marketing Officer, Shannon Swenson as Senior Vice President, and Chase Wardrop as Manager. No Chief Information Officer or Chief Technology Officer is listed, which is common for a brand of this size. In practice, technology decisions likely flow through the President and CMO, with operational input from the SVP. The operator footprint is small—32 mapped operators, only two of which are multi-unit—so franchisee influence on tech selection is minimal. The top states by unit count are Texas (6), Idaho (3), and Missouri (2), giving vendors a geographic concentration to consider for implementation and support.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates two categories of technology: accounting software and a designated CRM. The specific vendor names for these systems are not disclosed in the document, which is typical for FDD filings that reference categories rather than brands. No point-of-sale system, online ordering platform, or back-of-house technology is listed as mandated or recommended. This gap suggests either an open environment for non-accounting and non-CRM tools or a lack of standardization that a vendor could help address. When pitching Swig, a vendor should be prepared to integrate with whatever accounting and CRM platforms are already in place and to demonstrate how their solution complements that core stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, provides no extract for Swig. This absence means the franchisor’s formal purchasing controls are not publicly detailed. However, the mandate of specific accounting and CRM systems implies a top-down procurement model where HQ selects and requires certain vendors. The renewal process, detailed in Item 17, offers a clear timing signal: franchisees operate on 10-year terms and must provide notice of intent to renew between 6 and 12 months before expiration. Renewal also requires modernization to then-current standards and signing a successor agreement that may contain materially different terms. For a software vendor, these renewal windows represent natural evaluation periods when franchisees—and likely the franchisor—reassess technology needs.

How to read the Swig FDD

The full Swig 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. This legal filing contains the Item 1 executive roster, Item 11 tech obligations, Item 17 renewal conditions, and the unit and operator data cited throughout this page. Reviewing the FDD directly is the most reliable way to verify the mandated systems, understand the franchisor’s control points, and identify any additional procurement language not summarized here. For a ranked target list of franchise brands matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Swig, answered from the filing

The FDD lists President Todd Smith and CMO Dylan Roeder among key executives. While a dedicated CIO is not named, purchasing authority for mandated systems like accounting and CRM likely sits with this senior leadership team in Utah.
The 2025 FDD mandates specific accounting software and a designated CRM. The names of these vendors are not disclosed in the FDD, and no POS or other operational systems are listed as mandated.
Swig has 89 total units, with 73 company-owned and 16 franchised locations. The operator footprint is small, concentrated in Texas (6), Idaho (3), and Missouri (2), reflecting its early growth stage.
The FDD's Item 8 does not provide a procurement signal, so it is unclear whether Swig uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model. The mandate of specific accounting and CRM systems suggests a top-down, HQ-controlled approach.
With a 10-year initial term and renewal requiring modernization to then-current standards, contract windows may align with renewal cycles. Franchisees must give 6-12 months' notice, creating potential evaluation periods before a new 10-year term begins.
The Swig 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Swig2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Swig files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

31 operators run 32 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit30
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

TX4
ID3
MO2
AR2
NV1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Swig

unknown of swig stores.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.