From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Smashburger

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at Smashburger are driven by the executive team at the Denver, CO headquarters, including CEO James Sullivan and CFO Charlie Sayre. The brand has not disclosed any mandated technology systems in its most recent FDD, leaving the tech stack open for vendor discovery. With 172 total units and a 15-year initial franchise term, the addressable market for vendors is primarily the 53 franchised locations.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
172
53 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-18.462%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2.25%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$1.24M–$2.26M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.75%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7.75% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5.5%, Ad fund 2.25%. Total 7.75% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5.5%Ad fund 2.25%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree that we will have access to your Technology Systems from time to time, including the right to access collect, and retain data concerning your Restaurant.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(c) within 90 days after the end of each fiscal year, annual profit and loss and source and use of funds statements and a balance sheet for your Restaurant as of the end of that calendar year, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles or, at our option, international accounting standards…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may add, remove, and/or otherwise modify our designated and approved suppliers at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

456

Item 8

During our 2025 fiscal year, Smashburger Purchasing derived $456 from direct purchases by franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

However, during this period, our affiliates received $1,281,448 (Smashburger Purchasing - $1,233,448; Smashburger AF Trust - $48,000) in rebates from approved vendors based on purchases made by franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

95

Item 8

We estimate that 95% to 100% of your initial investment and 95% to 100% of your ongoing expenditures will be directed to purchase products and services that will be restricted by us in some manner.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Product or Supplier Our direct costs As incurred Paid if you request approval of a new product or Testing (estimated to be supplier. between $0 to $250) Additional $250 per diem charge As incurred Payable if:

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like us to consider approving a vendor that is not then approved, you must submit your request in writing before purchasing any items or services from that vendor.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

cease using all telephone numbers, listings and Online Presences, or transfer to us

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

force throughout the Term all required licenses, permits and certificates relating to the operation of your Restaurant and operate your Restaurant in full compliance with all applicable laws, ordinances and regulations, including PCI compliance standards.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(11) participation in quality assurance and customer satisfaction programs;

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We and/or our designees may at all times and without prior notice to you: (1) inspect your Restaurant; (2) observe, photograph, and record (audio and/or video) your Restaurant and its operation for consecutive or intermittent periods we deem necessary;

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may modify the Standards of Operations Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards, including in the form of memoranda and newsletters.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain and maintain a site acceptable to us for your Restaurant.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except as approved by us in writing or in the Standards of Operations Manual, you may not develop, maintain or authorize any website, domain name, email address, social media account, user name, other online presence or presence on any electronic, virtual, or digital medium of any kind (“Online Presence”) that…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

you must spend at least $10,000 for a grand opening marketing program for your Restaurant to take place on the dates we designate before and after your Restaurant opens.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We may require that you spend, beginning after you complete your grand opening advertising obligations discussed below, at least 1% of your Gross Sales each calendar quarter to advertise and promote your Restaurant

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If, as of the time you sign the Franchise Agreement, we have established a Local Advertising Cooperative for the geographic area in which your Restaurant is located, or if we establish a Local Advertising Cooperative in that area during the Franchise Agreement’s term, you must sign the documents we require to become…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we require you to use our designated vendors for (i) music services, (ii) pest control services, (iii) customer satisfaction surveys, (iv) gift card management and replenishment services, (v) online ordering system management services, (vi) cleaning solutions, (vii) computer hardware and software, (viii)…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we require you to use our designated vendors for (i) music services, (ii) pest control services, (iii) customer satisfaction surveys, (iv) gift card management and replenishment services, (v) online ordering system management services, (vi) cleaning solutions, (vii) computer hardware and software, (viii)…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Currently, we require all payments to be made through an electronic funds transfer system that allows us to debit a business account you designate for all amounts you owe us on their due dates or the next business day if the due date is a national holiday or a weekend day.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, we require you to use our designated vendors for (i) music services, (ii) pest control services, (iii) customer satisfaction surveys, (iv) gift card management and replenishment services, (v) online ordering system management services, (vi) cleaning solutions, (vii) computer hardware and software, (viii)…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must acquire and use all hardware, software, technology, and other systems that we specify from time to time, including computer, point-of-sale systems, financial and reporting software, telecommunications, security and similar systems, together with the associated hardware, software, applications, integrations…

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the ability to access your cash system and computer.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

(a) you request additional training and we Training (subject to change), agree to provide such additional training, (b) we require plus our direct costs, additional training because you have failed to comply including travel with our System Standards, (c) you fail to complete our initial training program to our…

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Besides attending these courses, you (or your Managing Owner), your Designated Manager, and any other Mandatory Trainees (if applicable) must attend an annual meeting of all Smashburger Restaurant franchise owners at a location we designate.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderRegional 100 499

HQ leadership: CEO/President + VP Ops/Franchise + a first dedicated IT/systems owner.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Smashburger

Smashburger presents a mixed addressable market of 172 total units. With 53 franchised locations and 119 company-owned stores, vendors have a direct path to the HQ buying center rather than a fragmented multi-unit operator base. The brand reported a -18.462% year-over-year unit decline, signaling contraction in the franchise network. No parent company is on file, suggesting the system is independently owned.

Who controls software purchasing

The C-suite at the Denver headquarters holds the keys. CEO James Sullivan and CFO Charlie Sayre are the named executives in the 2026 FDD. With no multi-unit operators mapped across 13 located units, the entire franchisee base consists of single-unit owners. This centralized control structure means vendors must engage HQ directly rather than navigating a diffuse operator landscape.

Mandated and current tech stack

Smashburger has not captured any mandated or recommended technology systems in its 2026 FDD. The tech landscape is a blank slate for vendors. No POS, back-office, or operational platforms are named, leaving the stack open for discovery and integration.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The Item 8 procurement signal is absent from the FDD extract. Franchisees must give 180 to 270 days' prior written notice to renew. They must maintain possession of the premises and agree to repair, replace, and update equipment to current system standards. A 15-year renewal term is available upon signing the then-current Franchise Agreement and a general release, unless prohibited by law.

How to read the Smashburger FDD

Access the full 2026 FDD embedded below. This document is filed with state franchise regulators and contains the brand's complete franchise disclosure.

Questions vendors ask

Smashburger, answered from the filing

The executive team controls purchasing. Key contacts include CEO James Sullivan and CFO Charlie Sayre, based in Denver, CO.
The 2026 FDD does not name any mandated or recommended technology systems, leaving the tech stack open for vendor evaluation.
The system has 172 total units, split between 53 franchised and 119 company-owned restaurants.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated or approved supplier framework is not publicly disclosed.
The 15-year initial franchise term requires 180 to 270 days' prior written notice for renewal. Recent unit growth has been negative, but renewal windows may align with term expirations.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF on this page.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Smashburger2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Smashburger files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

13 operators run 13 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit13

Top states by locations

CA1
MI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Smashburger

unknown of smashburger finance.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.