From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Pizza Resource

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Pizza Resource is controlled at the headquarters level, where the executive team—including Chief Technology Officer Nathan Horchem—oversees technology decisions. The brand currently mandates Foodtec Solutions POS System Software across its 13-unit system (10 franchised, 3 company-owned). For vendors, this is a small but concentrated account with a clear tech mandate and a leadership team that can be directly engaged.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
13
10 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
4%
of gross sales
Ad fund
—
national + local
Initial fee
$45K
per unit
Investment range
$489K–$1.14M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Standards based
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

4%+of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 4% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 4%. Total 4% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

FoodTec SolutionsFoodTec Solutions
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 11

in and use any hardware and software programs we designate. (Franchise Agreement, Section 12.5) Presently, we require you to purchase the following hardware and software: HARDWARE Foodtec Solutions PO

FoodTecFoodTec Solutions
POSItem 11

ources for your hardware, you will be required to comply with FoodTec specifications for compatible hardware. Franchisees are encouraged to purchase equipment and hardware through FoodTec to help ensu

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitation on Monical Pizza Corporation’s right to independently access all information you collect or complete at any time without first notifying you.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Although you are not required to buy anything from franchisor or our affiliates, there are certain branded items that you may purchase from the franchisor.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may introduce new requirements or modify our specifications and requirements for computer and point-of-sale systems.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of the date of this Disclosure Document, we have not derived any revenue from the sale of goods and services by third party suppliers to our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

25

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 25% to 30% of your expenditures on an ongoing basis will be for goods and services that must be purchased from an approved supplier and according to our standards and specifications.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay our expenses to evaluate goods, services or suppliers.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If you would like to use any goods or services in establishing and operating the franchised restaurant that we have not approved (for goods and services that must meet our standards, specifications or that require supplier approval), you must first send us sufficient information, specifications and samples for us to…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

assign your telephone, facsimile numbers and on-line identifiers to us;

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 8

We communicate our standards and specifications to you when we evaluate your proposed location for the franchised restaurant, during training, before you conduct your grand opening advertising, during on-site opening assistance, during periodic visits to your franchise location and through the Confidential Operations…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 17

We may modify the Confidential Operations Manual without your consent if

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You will operate the franchise from one location that we approve.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Under the Franchise Agreement, you are restricted from establishing a presence on, or marketing using, the Internet or by cellphone in connection with the franchised restaurant except under a Franchisor designated program or our prior written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

We will determine a minimum amount that you must spend on grand opening advertising during the first 3 months of operation.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Each month, you must spend at least 2% of the previous month’s gross sales on advertising, promotions and public relations in the local area surrounding the franchised restaurant.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in any cooperative advertising program established in your region.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your furniture, fixtures, equipment, including computer equipment, inventory and signage as specified in the MPC “Confidential Operations Manual”).

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 25% to 30% of your expenditures on an ongoing basis will be for goods and services that must be purchased from an approved supplier and according to our standards and specifications.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We may require that all fees payable to us be paid through an electronic depository transfer account.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase, update, maintain and use any hardware and software programs we designate.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitation on Monical Pizza Corporation’s right to independently access all information you collect or complete at any time without first notifying you.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

Periodically, we may require that previously trained and experienced franchisees, managers or employees attend refresher-training programs to be conducted at our headquarters.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Pizza Resource

Pizza Resource is a small quick-service restaurant brand based in Illinois with 13 total units—10 franchised and 3 company-owned—as disclosed in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand operates without a parent company and appears independently owned. For software vendors, the addressable market is limited to these 13 locations, but the concentration of decision-making at headquarters means a single sales cycle can cover the entire system.

Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The royalty rate is 4.0%, and the initial franchise term is 5 years. Year-over-year unit growth is not reported, suggesting either a stable footprint or a lack of recent expansion data. Vendors should approach this as a niche, relationship-driven account rather than a high-volume play.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority sits squarely at the headquarters level. The 2026 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: Dennis Wittenborn (Chairman and Director), Sean Wittenborn (President and Director), Matthew Wittenborn (Director), Stacy Davenport (Vice President, Franchise Business Director and Director), and Nathan Horchem (Chief Technology Officer, Vice President and Director).

For technology vendors, Nathan Horchem is the primary buyer to engage. As CTO, he owns the tech stack and likely evaluates any software that touches operations, POS, or back-office functions. Sean Wittenborn, as President, and Stacy Davenport, who oversees franchise operations, are also relevant stakeholders for any tool that impacts franchisee workflows or unit-level economics. The Wittenborn family’s control of the board suggests decisions may require buy-in from multiple family members.

Mandated and current tech stack

Pizza Resource mandates one technology system: Foodtec Solutions POS System Software. This is the only named vendor in the FDD’s technology disclosures. Foodtec is a POS provider known in the pizza and quick-service segment, and its mandate means every location—franchised or company-owned—runs on this platform.

No other mandated or recommended systems are disclosed. There is no mention of online ordering, loyalty, inventory management, labor scheduling, or accounting software in the FDD. This absence creates potential openings for vendors in adjacent categories, but it also means you will need to map the existing stack through direct discovery conversations with Horchem or Davenport. The Foodtec mandate signals that the brand is willing to standardize technology across its system, which is a positive indicator for vendors selling platforms that integrate with or complement Foodtec.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the brand’s supplier model—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly known. This lack of disclosure is not unusual for a small system, but it means vendors must clarify procurement rules early in the conversation.

Franchise agreements run for 5 years, with the option to renew for three additional 5-year terms. Renewal is conditional: the franchisor may refuse to renew if the franchisee fails to meet any of the conditions outlined in Item 17. These renewal windows are natural trigger points for technology evaluation, especially if the franchisor ties renewal to system compliance or upgrades. Without year-over-year unit growth data, contract cycles are the most reliable timing signal for outreach.

How to read the Pizza Resource FDD

The full 2026 Pizza Resource FDD is available below. Item 1 lists the executives and directors who control purchasing. Item 11 discloses the Foodtec POS mandate. Item 17 outlines the 5-year term and renewal conditions. For software vendors, these three sections are the most actionable. The absence of an Item 8 extract means you will need to ask directly about procurement rules. Use the embedded viewer to verify the facts cited here and to identify any additional disclosures that may be relevant to your product category.

For a ranked target list of franchise brands that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize accounts by tech mandates, decision-maker structure, and unit growth.

Questions vendors ask

Pizza Resource, answered from the filing

The CTO, Nathan Horchem, is the key technology decision-maker, supported by President Sean Wittenborn and VP Stacy Davenport. The Wittenborn family controls the board.
Foodtec Solutions POS System Software is the sole mandated system disclosed in the 2026 FDD. No other operational or back-of-house tech mandates are listed.
13 total units: 10 franchised and 3 company-owned. The brand is a small quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Illinois.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether the brand uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open model is not publicly disclosed.
Franchise agreements run 5 years with three optional 5-year renewals. No recent unit growth data is available, so contract cycles are the primary timing signal.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to review the full document directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Pizza Resource2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Pizza Resource files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

8 operators run 8 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit8

Top states by locations

IL5
IN3

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.