From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Papa Saverio's

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Papa Saverio's is controlled at the headquarters level, where President Michelle Fortin and COO Donald Fortin lead a small executive team. The brand mandates Arrow for its point-of-sale, online ordering, and rewards programs across all 13 franchised locations. With a 20-year initial term and a single 10-year renewal option, the addressable market is compact but presents a clear, tech-mandated environment for vendors who can align with the existing stack.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
13
13 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-7.143%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$149K–$1.25M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitations on our right to independent access to information and other data generated by your POS System or any other computer system, software or web-based platforms that we may require you to have.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may periodically modify the list of approved brands and/or suppliers, and you must not, after receipt in writing of the modification, reorder any brand from any supplier which is no longer approved.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

90063

Item 8

In 2024, we derived revenue of $90,063 from purchases or leases by our franchisees, which represents 21.96% of our annual total gross revenue of $410,111.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Certain suppliers currently pay us rebates based on a percentage based on your purchases which range from less than 1% to 16% of the amount purchased.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

70

Item 8

Collectively, the purchases and leases described above are approximately 70% to 80% of your overall purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately 70% to 80% of your overall purchases and leases in operating the Franchised Business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You must notify us and submit to us the information, specifications, and samples as we request if you propose to purchase any food products, ingredients, spices, seasonings, coatings, mixes, beverages, materials and supplies used in the preparation of the food products, equipment, merchant processing services, menus…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

assign to us your telephone and facsimile numbers, and e-mail and internet addresses, websites, domain names and search engine identifiers

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Your system must be compliance with the Merchant Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 6

Inspection Fees Cost of inspection. Upon demand. Payable if we inspect your operations and find deficiencies.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

The Franchise Operations Manual may be modified periodically to reflect changes in the specifications, standards, operating procedures and other obligations in operating PAPA SAVERIO’S Franchised Businesses (Franchise Agreement - Section 7.D.).

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our prior approval of the site location and the lease.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 13

You are prohibited from establishing your own independent website using the Marks.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

currently, you will contribute the greater of one percent (1%) of the Gross Sales of your Franchised Business or not less than eighty- one dollars ($81.00) per week (Franchise Agreement - Section 9.B.)

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

only from us or a designated supplier licensed by us to prepare and sell such products (currently supplied to franchisees by a third party); and (2) purchase from distributors and other suppliers approved by us all other goods, food products, ingredients, spices, seasonings, coatings, mixes, beverages, materials and…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease or use only those accounting firms and software, architecture services and providers, real estate services and providers, construction and general contractor services and providers, financial analysis and management product(s) or service(s), online ordering and/or delivery providers and/or…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase a brand and type of point of sale computer system that we specify.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

All Royalty Fees, Advertising Fund contributions and any other amounts which you owe to us must be paid by electronic transfer of funds as further described in the Franchise Operations Manual.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

This POS system also facilitates the use of gift cards which you are required to offer and accept and online ordering which you are required to offer to customers.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you use the Arrow point-of-sale (POS) system which we have used since March 2009.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

There are no contractual limitations on our right to independent access to information and other data generated by your POS System or any other computer system, software or web-based platforms that we may require you to have.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge you a fee to attend refresher training and to attend an annual convention.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

We may also require you to attend a national business meeting or convention for PAPA SAVERIO’S franchisees for up to 3 days each calendar year at a location we select.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Papa Saverio's

Papa Saverio's is a quick-service restaurant brand headquartered in Illinois with a total footprint of 13 units, all of which are franchised. The number of company-owned locations is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The brand's unit count contracted by 7.143% year-over-year, signaling a period of consolidation rather than expansion. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is small, but the mandated technology stack creates a captive environment where the franchisor's HQ controls the core operational systems.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not reported in the 2025 FDD. The royalty rate is 5.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term runs for 20 years. These economics suggest a mature, stable operating model where franchisees are locked into long-term agreements, making any HQ-mandated software change a significant event that ripples across the entire system.

Who controls software purchasing

The buying center at Papa Saverio's is lean and centralized. The FDD lists three key executives: Michelle Fortin, who serves as President, Secretary, and Director; Donald Fortin, the Chief Operating Officer and Director; and Darren Schmitt, the Business Administrator. With no parent company on file, the brand appears to be independently owned, meaning these individuals likely have direct authority over technology decisions without needing approval from a larger corporate entity.

There are no multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus, which suggests that all 13 franchised locations are either single-unit operators or that operator data is not publicly available. This further concentrates software purchasing power at the HQ level, as individual franchisees are unlikely to have the leverage or scale to negotiate independent technology contracts.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD is explicit about the technology franchisees must use. Three systems from Arrow are mandated: the Arrow point-of-sale (POS) system, Arrow online ordering, and the Arrow Rewards program. This is a wall-to-wall mandate covering in-store transactions, digital ordering, and customer loyalty. For a vendor selling into this brand, the path to adoption runs through displacing or integrating with Arrow, which would require a compelling value proposition that the franchisor's leadership deems worth the switching cost across 13 locations.

No other mandated or recommended technology vendors are named in the available FDD extracts. The absence of additional systems—such as back-of-house, inventory, or HR platforms—may represent white space, but it could also mean those functions are handled by Arrow or are not mandated at the franchisor level.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The procurement model at Papa Saverio's is not detailed in the Item 8 extracts available to us. Without a designated supplier list or approved vendor language, it is unclear whether franchisees have any autonomy in purchasing non-mandated technology or if all procurement flows through HQ. Vendors should assume a centralized model given the small system size and the explicit mandates for core operational tech.

Renewal timing is governed by Item 17 of the franchise agreement. Franchisees who have substantially complied with the agreement can renew for one additional 10-year term. The renewal process requires signing a new franchise agreement—which may contain materially different terms, including fee structures and territorial rights—as well as a general release, a renewal fee, and compliance with then-current standards for training, remodeling, and equipment. This forced renegotiation point is the most likely window for a franchisor to introduce new technology mandates, as franchisees are already required to update their premises and equipment to current standards.

How to read the Papa Saverio's FDD

The full Franchise Disclosure Document for Papa Saverio's, filed with state franchise regulators in 2025, is embedded below. For software vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 11 (franchisor's obligations), which details the mandated Arrow systems, and Item 17 (renewal), which outlines the contractual trigger points for system-wide changes. Item 1 identifies the executives who control purchasing, and Item 8, while not detailed in our extracts, typically contains supplier restrictions that may affect your ability to sell directly to franchisees.

To build a ranked target list of franchise brands that match your software's ideal customer profile, reach out to FranCloud for a data-driven analysis of the franchise market.

Questions vendors ask

Papa Saverio's, answered from the filing

The buying center is small. Key contacts from the FDD include Michelle Fortin (President), Donald Fortin (COO), and Darren Schmitt (Business Administrator).
The 2025 FDD mandates Arrow for the point-of-sale system, online ordering platform, and the Arrow Rewards program across all franchised locations.
There are 13 total units, all of which are franchised. The number of company-owned units is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extracts. Item 8 signals regarding designated or approved suppliers are not disclosed.
With a 20-year initial term and a 10-year renewal requiring a new agreement with potentially different terms, windows are infrequent. The recent -7.1% unit decline may also influence timing.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full legal text and disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Papa Saverio's2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Papa Saverio's files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

16 operators run 17 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit15
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

IL16
WI1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.