From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Mochidoki

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at Mochidoki are controlled at the HQ level by executives including CEO Claudio LoCascio and Director of Franchise Sales Melissa Wallace. The brand currently mandates Bite for its tech stack. The addressable market is extremely small, with only 2 company-owned units disclosed in the 2023 FDD.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$45K
per unit
Investment range
$349K–$905K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

SquareBlock
Mandatory
POSItem 8

cess and use online, point of sale integrated, web based, and/or app based, ordering, customer rewards, and/or gift card systems. Currently our designated vendor for these systems is Square. As you ac

BiteBite
POSItem 13

ve trademark, which may increase your expenses. Serial Number for Registration Application Mark Application Type Application Date Filed with USPTO Application Imagination in Every Bite 98166281 1A Sep

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and Franchisee shall electronically transfer and transmit to Franchisor all Business Management System Data;

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within 30 days of the end of each calendar month Franchisee shall submit to Franchisor monthly financial statements and other reports related to the operations of the Franchised business

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Our affiliate Totowa Desserts, LLC is currently designated as an approved supplier of mochi ice cream and packaging to franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a supplier, including ourselves or our affiliates, as the exclusive supplier for the System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of the Issuance Date of this Disclosure Document we have not received revenue from suppliers from franchisee purchases of source restricted products or services.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

to represent approximately 90% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Franchised Business and approximately 85% of the on-going operating expenses of the Franchised Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you a fee equal to the costs and expenses that we incur in reviewing and evaluating an alternate supplier, product, and/or service requested by you.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease a source restricted item from a supplier that has not been previously approved or designated by us in writing, you must send us a written request for approval and submit additional information, samples, and testing data that we may request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In the event of the termination of this Agreement, for any reason, that the accounts related to all telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business and all rights in and to the telephone numbers associated with the Franchised Business, shall, at Franchisor’s election, be transferred to Franchisor.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

has the right at any and all times during business hours, throughout the terms of this Agree and without prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect Franchisee’s Shop.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

At all times, we reserve the right to supplement, modify and update the Manuals.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Within 120 days of signing your Franchise Agreement you must secure a Shop Location and lease that we approve (Franchise Agreement, Article 3.A.).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not use any websites, web-based media or digital media unless expressly approved by us in writing.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Not less than 30 days prior to the opening of the Franchised Business, Franchisee shall spend not less than $5,000 to market and promote the grand opening of the Franchised Business in accordance with Franchisor’s standards and specifications;

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

On an on-going and monthly basis, you must spend not less than 2% of your monthly Gross Sales on the local marketing of your Shop.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

customer service and satisfaction standards including, customer rewards programs, refund policies, gift card policies, special promotions and other customer incentive and goodwill programs

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee’s Shop or Designated Territory is located within the geographic area of an Advertising Cooperative, franchisee must participate in and contribute to the Advertising Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the System Supplies, as designated by us, from us, our affiliates, and/or our designated suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You may only use those products, supplies, equipment, technology systems, and services that we authorize and designate in writing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Credit Card Processing – You must use our designated supplier and vendor for credit card processing which may be integrated with the point of sale system that we designate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

ITEM 6 OTHER FEES Type of Fee Amount Due Date Remarks (Note 1) Royalty (Notes 2 and 3) 5% of Gross Sales Weekly on the Will be debited automatically from Thursday of each your bank account by ACH or other week for the means designated by us. preceding week Brand Development Up to 2% of Gross Weekly on the Will be…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must use our designated supplier and vendor for the ability to access and use online, point of sale integrated, web based, and/or app based, ordering, customer rewards, and/or gift card systems.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At all times, your Shop must be managed and supervised on-site by either a Managing Owner or Operating Manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

you must ensure that all employees wear and maintain the proper uniforms with our approved System branded apparel and uniforms including, but not limited to, the apparel and uniforms comprising System Supplies.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently you are required to purchase, license and utilize a Square point of sale system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times, Franchisee shall provide and permit Franchisor to maintain direct and independent access to the Business Management System and Franchisee shall electronically transfer and transmit to Franchisor all Business Management System Data;

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to assess Franchisee reasonable charges for such training.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Mochidoki

Mochidoki is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New York and part of Mochidoki Franchising. The brand’s most recent Franchise Disclosure Document, filed in 2023, reveals a very small operational footprint: just 2 total units, both of which are company-owned. The number of franchised units was not disclosed in the FDD. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is therefore limited to these 2 locations. The FDD maps 1 operator across approximately 1 located unit, with that single unit falling into the 1-unit band. No multi-unit operators (2+ locations) are recorded. The top state by unit count is Wisconsin, with 1 unit. There is no disclosed year-over-year unit growth rate, and average unit volume (AUV) is not available. The royalty rate is 5.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term runs for 10 years.

Who controls software purchasing

With only 2 company-owned units and no disclosed franchised locations, software purchasing is centralized at the headquarters level. The FDD’s Item 1 lists two executives: Claudio LoCascio, who serves as Chief Executive Officer and President, and Melissa Wallace, the Director of Franchise Sales. In a structure this small, the CEO is the most likely ultimate decision-maker for any technology investment, potentially with input from the Director of Franchise Sales if the tool supports franchise development. There is no separate CIO, CTO, or VP of Technology named in the filing. Vendors should direct their outreach to this tight leadership group.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD signals that Mochidoki mandates or recommends Bite as part of its technology stack. No other named systems or vendors are disclosed in the available data. For a vendor selling complementary or replacement software, Bite represents both the incumbent to understand and a potential integration point. Any pitch should acknowledge this existing mandate and clearly articulate how a new solution would coexist with or improve upon the current Bite deployment across the 2 operating units.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD’s Item 8, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, provided no extract in the available data. The procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is therefore not disclosed. On the renewal side, Item 17 details strict conditions: a franchisee must be in compliance with the agreement, provide 180 days’ prior written notice, sign the then-current form of Franchise Agreement (which may contain materially different terms), execute a general release, pay a renewal fee, remodel the shop to current standards, and secure the legal right to occupy the premises. The renewal term is 10 years. For a software vendor, these long terms and the tiny unit count mean that any sales cycle will be infrequent and entirely dependent on a strategic initiative from the CEO’s office rather than a predictable franchisee renewal calendar.

How to read the Mochidoki FDD

The full 2023 Mochidoki Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. When reviewing it, pay close attention to Item 11 for any additional details on the franchisor’s obligations regarding technology and Item 8 for procurement rules that may not have been captured in the extract. Given the brand’s small size, the FDD is likely concise, but every clause governing required systems or approved vendors is critical for a software sales strategy. For a ranked target list of franchise brands that match your software’s ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Mochidoki, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Claudio LoCascio (CEO & President) and Melissa Wallace (Director of Franchise Sales) as key executives. As a tiny HQ-controlled chain, purchasing authority likely rests with this leadership group.
The 2023 FDD indicates that Bite is a mandated or recommended technology system for the brand.
The 2023 FDD discloses 2 total units, both company-owned. The number of franchised units was not disclosed. One operator is mapped in Wisconsin.
The FDD provided no extract for Item 8, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not disclosed in the available data.
With a 10-year initial term and a renewal requiring 180 days' notice, windows are infrequent. Given only 2 units exist, any tech change would likely be a single, HQ-driven event rather than a rolling franchisee cycle.
The Mochidoki FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Mochidoki2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Mochidoki files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Mochidoki

unknown of mochidoki franchising.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.