From the filings

+33.333% units YoYHQ-led decisions

MaLa Project

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at MaLa Project are made at the headquarters level, with CEO Ning “Amelie” Kang and Director of Operations Irene Li likely involved. The brand currently mandates QuickBooks for accounting and uses social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, and Google Ads. With 4 company-owned locations and 33% year-over-year growth, the immediate addressable market is small but expanding.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
4
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+33.333%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$547K–$950K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooksIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

ly comply with our standards and specifications for all items associated with the Computer System and any Software. Currently, we require you to use Toast for your POS System, and QuickBooks for your

ToastToast
Mandatory
POSItem 8

he right, in our sole discretion, to designate and require you to use a single supplier for any services, products, equipment, supplies, or materials. Currently, we require you to use Toast for your P

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

ng the marks or regarding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, I

Google AdsGoogle
MarketingItem 11

or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), applications, keyword or Google AdWords purch

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

arding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), ap

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

ks or regarding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, we require you to use Toast for your POS System, and QuickBooks for your accounting software system.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to any data you collect electronically.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

statements, reports and information from you during the year, and you will deliver those financial statements, reports and information to us when, and in the form and manner, we require.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

You must buy certain ingredients from our current designated suppliers, including our affiliate, MaLa Project Greenpoint, LLC.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to change the products and services that we require you to offer from your Franchised Business at any time, without limitation.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Neither we nor our affiliates received any revenue from required purchases by franchisees in the fiscal year ending December 31, 2023.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

30

Item 8

approximately 30% - 50% of your ongoing operating purchases

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay us a $500 fee upon submission of a product or supplier for our consideration.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease any supplies, materials, tools, products or services not previously approved in writing by us as acceptable or from a supplier not approved by us, you can request our approval in writing, at your sole expense.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If requested by us, you will take all further action and execute all documents necessary to convey and assign to us all telephone and fax numbers that have been used in the operation of your Franchised Business, as well as any other registrations or listings for any Technology Platforms that include the Marks or if…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to have someone conduct an inspection of your Franchised Business after you open.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may from time to time revise the contents of the Manual.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our written approval of a proposed site for your Franchised Business before signing any lease, sublease, or other document for the site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except as approved in advance in writing by us, you may not establish or maintain a separate website, splash page, profile or other presence on the Internet.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $5,000 to conduct Grand Opening Advertising in your territory.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to expend at least 2% of your Gross Sales per month on local advertising.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 8

You must fully participate in all guest loyalty or frequent customer programs now or in the future adopted or approved by us.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

All franchisees in the designated geographical area must participate in the Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must buy certain ingredients from our current designated suppliers, including our affiliate, MaLa Project Greenpoint, LLC.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must buy certain ingredients from our current designated suppliers, including our affiliate, MaLa Project Greenpoint, LLC.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We will establish a direct debit program with your bank to allow for the ACH draft of the monthly royalty.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in all gift certificate and/or gift card administration programs as we may designated from time to time.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

you must operate your franchised business in strict conformity with the methods, standards, specifications and sources of supply that we designate and prescribe in our Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, we require you to use Toast for your POS System, and QuickBooks for your accounting software system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to any data you collect electronically.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

In addition, you must purchase, enroll in or subscribe to, as applicable, all CRM, social media analytics and online and mobile ordering software or programs that we designate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We do not currently require additional training programs or refresher courses, but we have the right to do so in the future.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at MaLa Project MaLa Project is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New York. According to its 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document, the brand operates 4 locations, all company-owned. No franchised units are reported. Year-over-year unit growth stands at 33.3%, indicating expansion from 3 to 4 units in the most recent period. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is small—just 4 units—but the growth trajectory suggests potential for future scaling if the brand begins franchising or adds more company-owned stores. The average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the FDD, and the initial franchise term is not specified, which is common for emerging brands that have not yet sold franchises. Royalty is set at 5.0% of gross sales, a figure that would apply if and when franchise agreements are executed.

Who controls software purchasing With only 4 company-owned locations and no franchisees, all purchasing authority resides at the headquarters level. The FDD lists four executives: Ning “Amelie” Kang (Chief Executive Officer), Christian Castillo (Creative Director), Simona Petrovska (Director of Administrations), and Irene Li (Director of Operations). No dedicated IT or technology leadership is named, so software decisions likely fall to the CEO and the Director of Operations, who oversee day-to-day functions. The small leadership team means that a vendor’s pitch would need to reach these individuals directly. The absence of a franchisee base eliminates the need for multi-unit operator (MUO) persuasion, making this a straightforward HQ sale if the need and budget align.

Procurement, renewals, and timing The FDD does not include an extract from Item 8 (procurement obligations) or Item 17 (renewal, termination, transfer), so the formal procurement model and contract renewal windows are unknown. In practice, a 4-unit company-owned chain likely procures software on an ad hoc basis, with decisions made by HQ as needs arise. There are no franchisee contracts to renew, so software contract cycles are not tied to franchise agreement expirations. Vendors should approach MaLa Project with a consultative sale, demonstrating how their solution can support the brand’s growth from a small base to a potentially larger franchise system.

How to read the MaLa Project FDD The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators and is available in the embedded PDF viewer below. It contains the standard 23 items of disclosure, including the franchisor’s background, fees, obligations, and financial performance representations (if any). For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations) where the QuickBooks mandate appears, and Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services) which, if disclosed, would outline any approved supplier programs. Because MaLa Project has not yet sold franchises, the document may lack the depth of a mature system’s FDD, but it remains the authoritative source for understanding the brand’s requirements and structure.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software, including growth-stage concepts like MaLa Project, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

MaLa Project, answered from the filing

CEO Ning “Amelie” Kang and Director of Operations Irene Li are the likely decision-makers, as the brand operates only 4 company-owned units with no franchisees. The small leadership team suggests centralized purchasing authority.
The FDD mandates QuickBooks for accounting. No POS or other operational systems are disclosed as mandated. Marketing uses Facebook, Google Ads, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter.
As of the 2024 FDD, MaLa Project has 4 company-owned quick-service restaurants. No franchised units are reported. The brand grew 33% year-over-year.
The FDD does not disclose a procurement model (Item 8 not extracted). Given the small, company-owned footprint, purchasing is likely handled directly by HQ without a formal designated supplier program.
The FDD does not provide renewal or term details (Item 17 not extracted). With only 4 units and no franchisee contracts, software decisions are likely made on an as-needed basis by HQ.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it in the embedded PDF viewer below. It contains the legal disclosures required for franchise sales, including Item 11 tech mandates.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

MaLa Project2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment MaLa Project files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. MaLa Project’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.