to other franchisees. You may, but are not required, to maintain a physical location. We require only that you maintain a GOOGLE MY BUSINESS virtual storefront in accordance with GOOGLE MY BUSINESS re
From the filings
Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy
Personal servicesSoftware purchasing authority at Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy sits with Chief Executive Officer Clayton Clark and Vice President of Business Development Peter Taunton, as listed in the 2025 FDD. The franchisor mandates a designated scheduling software and Google My Business, creating a clear tech stack entry point. The total unit count is not disclosed in the most recent filing, so vendors must size the opportunity through direct discovery.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.
20%+of gross sales (FY2025)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
15 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor will have unrestricted, independent access to all information that entered into the local software and other online software applications, and all information and electronic files relating to the Franchised Business, whether stored on your hard drive or on-site or off-site servers.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
No later than April 15th of each calendar year, you shall provide to Franchisor (a) a copy of the previous year’s annual profit and loss statements; (b) a copy of the previous year’s sales tax returns; and (c) a copy of your federal and state income tax returns for the previous year;
How the franchisor buys
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesFranchise agreement
You acknowledge that the System, Franchisor’s confidential Manual, and the products and services offered by the Franchised Business may be modified, (such as, but not limited to, the addition, deletion, and modification of operating procedures, products and services) from time to time by Franchisor.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
As of the date of this disclosure document, neither we nor our affiliates have derived any revenue on account of franchisee purchases or leases.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 6
See Item 8 for more Reasonable charge, Supplier Approval Fee Upon demand information about supplier not to exceed $2,500 approval.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
Upon termination or expiration of this Agreement, your online business profile, social media accounts, business telephone numbers and email addresses shall immediately terminate and/or be redirected to another MAKE YOUR DOG EPIC DOG TRAINING ACADEMY business.
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor or its designated agent shall have the right to audit, examine, and copy your books, records, bank accounts, and business tax returns at any time.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
You acknowledge that the System, Franchisor’s confidential Manual, and the products and services offered by the Franchised Business may be modified, (such as, but not limited to, the addition, deletion, and modification of operating procedures, products and services) from time to time by Franchisor.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor shall own and administer all online business profiles (currently, the Google Business Profile) and social media accounts associated with the Franchised Business.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall conduct the initial marketing and public relations campaign according to the marketing plan and budget and Franchisor’s Standards, within four to six weeks before and 60 days after beginning operations.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall participate in Franchisor’s then-current electronic funds transfer program authorizing Franchisor to use a pre-authorized bank draft system.
Point of sale
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We will have independent access to all information entered into and compiled by the software.
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall acquire and use the customer relationship management and scheduling software that Franchisor requires and no others.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor may charge a reasonable fee or tuition for this additional training and you are responsible for all training-related expenses, including travel, lodging, and dining expenses for these individuals and wages and salaries payable during.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall use your best efforts to cause your Key Person to attend each Annual Convention.
The filing answers no to 8 questions
- Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
- Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
- Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
- Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
- Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Franchise agreement
- Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
Who buys here
The buyer at this brand
The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.
The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.
- With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
- 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
- 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.
The vendor opportunity at Make Your Dog Epic
Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy operates in the personal services segment, with its headquarters in Oklahoma. The franchisor’s 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document reveals a lean executive team: Clayton Clark serves as Chief Executive Officer and Peter Taunton as Vice President of Business Development. For software vendors, this means the path to a pilot or enterprise deal runs directly through these two individuals. There is no parent company on file—the brand appears independently owned—so you won’t need to navigate a multi-brand corporate structure.
The total number of units is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. Neither franchised nor company-owned location counts are broken out, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus. This lack of public unit data makes the addressable market opaque; vendors should treat the opportunity as early-stage and size it through direct conversations with HQ.
Who controls software purchasing
Item 1 of the FDD lists only two executives: Clayton Clark (Chief Executive Officer) and Peter Taunton (Vice President Business Development). In a franchise system of this profile, the CEO typically holds final approval authority on any technology that touches franchisee operations, while the VP of Business Development may own vendor evaluation and onboarding. There is no CIO, CTO, or VP of Technology named in the filing, so your initial outreach should target Clark and Taunton directly. Frame your pitch around how your software supports the mandated tech environment they already require franchisees to maintain.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2025 FDD mandates two technology components for franchisees: a designated scheduling software and Google My Business. The scheduling software is described as “designated,” which implies the franchisor has selected a specific vendor—though that vendor is not named in the FDD extract available to us. Google My Business is also mandatory, signaling that local SEO and location-data accuracy are priorities for the system. Beyond these two items, no other operational, POS, CRM, or marketing platforms are disclosed. This narrow mandate leaves significant white space for vendors offering complementary tools in areas like customer relationship management, reputation management, or payment processing.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the procurement model remains unknown. We cannot confirm whether the franchisor uses a designated-supplier program, an approved-vendor list, or an open procurement approach. Vendors should clarify this directly during discovery calls.
On the renewal side, Item 17 provides a clear timeline signal. Franchisees in good standing can renew for two additional consecutive 5-year terms. They must notify the franchisor of their intent to renew and sign a successor agreement at least six months before the current term expires. These six-month windows, recurring every five years, are natural moments when franchisees—and the franchisor—evaluate operational tools, including software. If you can identify when the first cohort of franchise agreements comes up for renewal, you can time your outreach accordingly.
How to read the Make Your Dog Epic FDD
The full 2025 FDD is embedded below. Focus your review on Item 11 (Franchisor’s Obligations) to confirm the exact scheduling software vendor and any additional tech requirements not captured in our summary. Item 17 (Renewal, Termination, Transfer) contains the full renewal conditions quoted above. Because no Item 8 extract is available, you will need to examine that section directly in the PDF to understand any purchasing or supplier restrictions. The document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025 and represents the most current public disclosure for this brand.
For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software’s ideal customer profile, reach out to FranCloud.
Questions vendors ask
Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
No franchisee network yet. Make Your Dog Epic Dog Training Academy’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.
Related Personal services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.