From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Lennys Grill & Subs

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Lennys Grill & Subs is controlled at the headquarters level, with Director of IT Anita Howald identified in the 2025 FDD. The brand mandates a specific, modern tech stack including Brink POS, Olo, Punchh, and Bite Kiosk. With 58 franchised locations, the addressable market is small but concentrated, offering a tight, single-decision-maker entry point for vendors who can integrate with or displace mandated systems.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
62
58 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-1.695%
vs prior filing
AUV
$825K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$283K–$577K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

BiteBite
POSItem 11

ration in any calendar year. G. Point of Sale System You must purchase and use our POS System in the Restaurant. We currently use the Brink POS system, OLO Online Ordering System, Bite Kiosk system, P

Brink POSPAR Technology
POSItem 11

t collectively exceed four business days in duration in any calendar year. G. Point of Sale System You must purchase and use our POS System in the Restaurant. We currently use the Brink POS system, OL

OloOlo
DeliveryItem 11

eed four business days in duration in any calendar year. G. Point of Sale System You must purchase and use our POS System in the Restaurant. We currently use the Brink POS system, OLO Online Ordering

PunchhPAR Technology
LoyaltyItem 11

dar year. G. Point of Sale System You must purchase and use our POS System in the Restaurant. We currently use the Brink POS system, OLO Online Ordering System, Bite Kiosk system, Punchh Loyalty and M

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

31 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 1 question the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Lennys requires the use of an approved PC-based point-of-sale system (“POS System”).

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System includes software that transmits sales and other financial data to us electronically and/or allows us independent access to the information and data recorded through this system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to keep true, accurate, and complete records of Franchisee’s business utilizing third party software as prescribed by Lennys, and to furnish Lennys with monthly profit and loss reports in the format and manner set by Lennys.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Certain Approved Supplies may only be available from one source, and we or an affiliate may be that source.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have a Franchise Advisory Council (“FAC”) that serves as a liaison between us and our franchisees and provides feedback to us about matters and issues related to the Lennys franchise system.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Lennys may revise its Approved Suppliers and Approved Supplies.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

273182

Item 8

From January to December 2024, we received $273,182 in rebates from franchisee purchases or leases from suppliers, which represented 9% of our total 2024 revenue of $3,613,753 based on our 2024 financial statements.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Oftentimes we receive rebates from these Lennys Franchise Disclosure Document 11 06/25 suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

approximately 50% to 80% of your total ongoing purchases once the Restaurant is open.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may impose reasonable inspection fees to cover our costs in evaluating alternative approved brands or suppliers that you suggest.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to sell or use any products, materials or supplies that are not Approved Supplies or if you would like to purchase any products from a supplier that is not an Approved Supplier, you must make a written request to us.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

you must assign to us your business phone number.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Lennys will have the unrestricted right without prior notice to enter the Restaurant to conduct such activities as it deems necessary to ascertain Franchisee’s compliance with this Agreement.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to revise or modify the Manual to reflect new standards, specifications and procedures.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You will be granted the non-exclusive right to operate your Restaurant at a specific location approved by us.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will spend a minimum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000) between the time Franchisee’s lease is signed and within three (3) months of the Restaurant’s opening on grand opening marketing, including advertising, product samples and promotional items (“Grand Opening Advertising”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 6

You are currently required to spend 2% of your weekly Gross Sales for local advertising and promotion of your franchised Restaurant.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must participate in, and comply with, all terms, conditions, requirements, and all privacy mandates of Lennys gift card program and loyalty program.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative is formed or organized in your market, you must participate in and contribute to the Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You will be required to only use approved manufacturers, suppliers and distributors authorized for your Restaurant (“Approved Suppliers”) and approved food products, ingredients, inventory, fixtures, furniture, equipment, signs, stationery, supplies and other items or services necessary to operate the Restaurant…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You will be required to only use approved manufacturers, suppliers and distributors authorized for your Restaurant (“Approved Suppliers”) and approved food products, ingredients, inventory, fixtures, furniture, equipment, signs, stationery, supplies and other items or services necessary to operate the Restaurant…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must record all sales on a POS System designated or approved by us.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

I (we) hereby authorize Lenny’s Holdings LLC, an Ohio limited liability company having its principal place of business at 5000 Arlington Centre Blvd, Suite 5300, Columbus, Ohio 43220, herein called COMPANY, to initiate debit entries and to initiate, if

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must participate in, and comply with, all terms, conditions, requirements, and all privacy mandates of Lennys gift card program and loyalty program.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At all times during the Term of this Agreement, Franchisee will employ at least one individual (“Certified Manager”) who is responsible for the direct, personal supervision of the Restaurant and who successfully completes the training program described in Section 7.A.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All managers and employees will only wear uniforms that are approved by Lennys.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must record all sales on a POS System designated or approved by us.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System includes software that transmits sales and other financial data to us electronically and/or allows us independent access to the information and data recorded through this system.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must record all sales on a POS System designated or approved by us.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require that previously-trained and experienced franchisees, their managing owner, managing director, Certified Manager, and/or employees attend and successfully complete continuing operations training programs at a location we designate.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Lennys will provide, and the Managing Owner or the Managing Director and Certified Manager will attend, continuing operations training programs, including but not limited to annual franchise summits (“Summits”), as may be directed by Lennys (“Continuing Operations Training”).

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Lennys Grill & Subs

Lennys Grill & Subs is a quick-service restaurant chain headquartered in Ohio with 62 total units, 58 of which are franchised. The system is small and contracting slightly, with a year-over-year unit growth rate of -1.695%. The average unit volume sits at $824,588. For a software vendor, the total addressable market is just those 58 franchised locations. This is not a volume play; it is a targeted account where a single headquarters relationship can unlock the entire system. The chain is independently owned with no parent company on file, meaning there is no larger enterprise portfolio to cross-sell into.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document names Anita Howald as Director of IT. She is the most direct point of contact for any technology evaluation. The executive team also includes CEO and Chairman Charley M. Shin and COO Candra Alisiswanto. Because the franchisor mandates specific technology systems, the buying center is firmly at HQ. Franchisees are not free to choose their own POS, online ordering, loyalty, or kiosk platforms. Any vendor pitch must start with Howald and the leadership team, not with individual multi-unit operators.

The operator footprint is small. Only two multi-unit operators are mapped, controlling approximately four located units between them. Both operators fall in the 2-9 unit band. Their presence is split between Ohio and Tennessee. This reinforces the HQ-centric purchasing model; there is no large franchisee with independent procurement power.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD is explicit about the technology franchisees must use. Four systems are mandated. The point-of-sale system is Brink POS by PAR Technology Corporation. Online ordering runs through Olo Inc.'s platform. The loyalty and mobile ordering system is Punchh. Self-service kiosks are provided by Bite. This is a modern, integrated stack from established vendors. For a new software vendor, the opportunity lies in complementing these systems—such as providing a tool that integrates with Brink or Olo—or in making a compelling case for replacement at the end of a contract cycle. The stack is fully named, leaving no ambiguity about the incumbent vendors you would need to unseat or partner with.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, provided no extract. The procurement model is therefore not disclosed in the most recent FDD. It is unknown whether the franchisor requires franchisees to buy from a single designated supplier or if an approved supplier program exists. This is a critical gap that a vendor would need to clarify during discovery.

The franchise agreement has a 10-year initial term. Item 17 outlines the conditions for renewal. A franchisee in good standing can obtain a new 10-year agreement, but they must execute the then-current form of the Franchise Agreement, which the FDD explicitly states may have materially different terms and conditions. This renewal trigger is a potential catalyst for technology changes. If the franchisor updates its tech stack requirements in the new agreement, a renewal wave could force system-wide adoption. With the system's slight contraction, however, net new unit openings are not a reliable source of new software seats.

How to read the Lennys Grill & Subs FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. For a software vendor, the most relevant sections are Item 11, which details the franchisor's obligations and is where the mandated technology systems are listed, and Item 17, which governs renewal and termination. Pay close attention to the absence of an Item 8 procurement extract; this missing data point means the specific purchasing path for non-mandated software is undefined in the public filing. Use the document to verify the exact contractual language around technology compliance before building a pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Lennys Grill & Subs, answered from the filing

The Director of IT, Anita Howald, is the named technology executive. The C-suite includes CEO Charley M. Shin and COO Candra Alisiswanto. Given the mandated tech stack, purchasing decisions are centralized at HQ.
The 2025 FDD mandates four systems: Brink POS by PAR Technology Corporation, Olo Online Ordering by Olo Inc., Punchh Loyalty and Mobile Ordering, and the Bite Kiosk system. These are required for franchisees.
The system has 62 total units, split between 58 franchised and 4 company-owned locations. This is a small quick-service restaurant chain with a concentrated footprint.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 provided no extract, so it is unknown whether suppliers must be designated, approved, or if the system is open.
Franchise agreements run for a 10-year initial term. Renewals require a new agreement with potentially materially different terms, creating a natural re-evaluation window. Unit growth was -1.695% year-over-year, suggesting limited expansion-driven openings.
The FDD is filed with state franchise regulators for 2025. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the specific contractual obligations and technology mandates directly from the source.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Lennys Grill & Subs2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Lennys Grill & Subs files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 2 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

2–9 units1

Top states by locations

OH1
TN1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Lennys Grill & Subs

unknown of lenny s franchise systems.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.