From the filings

HQ-led decisions

La Bottega Franchise

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at La Bottega Franchise is controlled from its New York headquarters, where President Giuseppe Ruta and Senior Vice President Marisa Ruta are the key executives on file. The system mandates the Oracle Micros 3700 POS and currently operates just 8 total units, with 3 franchised locations representing the addressable market for third-party vendors.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
8
3 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-25%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
4%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$20K
per unit
Investment range
$156K–$616K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

5.5%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 5.5% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 4%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 5.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Oracle MICROSOracle
Mandatory
POSItem 11

of Sale System You must obtain and install, at your expense, the hardware, software and network connections that we periodically specify. Currently, you must purchase or lease the Micros 3700 System,

EcolabEcolab
Industry softwareItem 8

urchases by La Bottega Italian Gourmet Restaurants in the System, paid monthly; (b) Coca Cola pays $1.00 per case and $1.00 per gallon on BIB boxes paid quarterly to LB Foods; (c) Ecolab pays a quarte

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

Social Media; Intranet. You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn o

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

ia; Intranet. You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter,

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

. You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter, without our

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall, within fifteen (15) days after the end of each calendar quarter, submit such financial statements to us.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

from time to time the facilities and products of any such approved supplier and to revoke our approval upon the supplier’s failure to continue to meet any of our then-current criteria.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of December 31, 2021, our affiliate LB Foods, received no money from rebates or other payments received from approved suppliers.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates reserve the right to receive fees, rebates, commissions, royalties or other payments from third-party suppliers based on your purchases from them.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that the purchase of products that are subject to our standards and specifications represent approximately 72% to 83% of your overall purchases in establishing the Franchised Restaurant, and approximately 90% of your overall purchases in operating the Franchised Restaurant.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay to us a reasonable fee, not to exceed the actual cost of the inspection and testing the proposed product or evaluating the proposed supplier, including personnel and travel costs, whether or not the product or supplier is approved.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to offer products or services that we have not approved, or purchase from a supplier that we have not approved, you must submit a written request for approval.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon the expiration or termination of this Agreement, we may exercise our authority, pursuant to such documents, to obtain any and all of you rights to the telephone numbers of the Franchise Business and all related telephone directory listings and other business listings, and all internet listings, domain names…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To participate in any customer satisfaction measurement programs developed or required by us, as such programs may from time to time be modified.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct inspections of the Franchised Location and the Franchised Restaurant, interview your employees, suppliers and customers and review your business records if we choose to do so.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to add to or modify the Manuals from time to time to, among other reasons, change operating procedures, maintain the goodwill associated with the Marks, and enable the System to remain competitive.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No site may be used for the Location of the Restaurant unless it is first accepted in writing by us.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You are not permitted to promote your Franchised Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn or Twitter, without our prior written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must conduct an opening advertising campaign to promote the opening of your Franchised Restaurant.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Currently you must spend 1% of Gross Sales on local marketing on an annual basis according to your annual written plan approved by us (as described below).

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If a Cooperative is established for a geographic area that includes the Designated Territory, you shall execute the Cooperative documents, if any, promptly upon our request and participate as a member of the Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we have approved suppliers for any particular item (including manufacturers, distributors and other sources) or for any services related to the development or operation of the Restaurant (including, but not limited to, general contractor services), you must obtain these items or services from those suppliers.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we have approved suppliers for any particular item (including manufacturers, distributors and other sources) or for any services related to the development or operation of the Restaurant (including, but not limited to, general contractor services), you must obtain these items or services from those suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The royalty fee, Brand Fund contribution (described in Section 8.2 below) and any other continuing amounts owed to us or our affiliates will be automatically withdrawn from your designated bank account by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) as described in Section 4.5 below.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall sell or otherwise issue gift cards or certificates (together “Gift Cards”) that have been prepared utilizing the standard form of Gift Card provided or designated by us, and only in the manner specified by us in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You affirm, warrant and understand that you may staff your La Bottega Restaurant with as many employees as you desire at any time so long as our minimal staffing levels are achieved.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease the computerized point of sale system that we require.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

we have the right to charge a reasonable fee for additional training, whether mandatory or optional.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we host such events, your Operating Principal and/or Restaurant General Manager must attend, and participate in, such annual conventions/conferences, provided that attendance at such conventions/conferences will not be required more than once during any twelve (12) month period.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at La Bottega

La Bottega is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New York. The 2022 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) reports a total system of 8 units, comprising 5 company-owned locations and 3 franchised locations. This represents a -25.0% year-over-year decline in total units, making the addressable market for third-party software vendors extremely small at just 3 franchised doors. The initial franchise term is 10 years, and the ongoing royalty fee is 4.0% of gross sales. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. For a software vendor, the opportunity here is not in volume but in establishing a relationship with a tightly controlled, HQ-driven system that may be open to modernization.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing decisions are centralized at the brand's headquarters. The 2022 FDD lists Giuseppe Ruta as President and Marisa Ruta as Senior Vice President. In a system of this size, these executives are the de facto buying center for any operational or back-of-house technology. There are no multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus, meaning every franchised location likely reports directly to the corporate team for technology standards and procurement. A vendor's pitch should be directed squarely at the C-suite in New York.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2022 FDD explicitly mandates the Micros 3700 System by Oracle Corporation for point-of-sale operations across the system. This is a legacy POS platform, and a mandate of this nature signals that the franchisor exerts strict control over core operational technology. No other mandated or recommended technology systems are named in the FDD. For a software vendor, this creates a clear conversation starter around POS-adjacent integrations, above-store reporting, or a migration path to a modern cloud-based system, though any change would require HQ approval.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not contain an Item 8 procurement signal, leaving the designated supplier or approved vendor model undisclosed. However, the Item 17 renewal terms provide some insight into potential contract windows. Franchisees in good standing may sign a successor agreement for two additional terms of five years each, subject to conditions including a general release, potential renovation requirements, and signing the then-current form of franchise agreement. Critically, the franchisor may require a new agreement with substantially different terms, including higher royalty fees. This renewal trigger, combined with the 10-year initial term, means that any franchisee approaching the end of their first decade is a candidate for a tech stack evaluation, though the current unit count makes such events rare.

How to read the La Bottega FDD

The full 2022 La Bottega Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. For software vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 1 (the franchisor and its executives), Item 11 (the franchisor's assistance and mandated technology, where the Micros 3700 mandate is listed), and Item 17 (renewal and termination conditions). Because the system is small and HQ-controlled, the executive names in Item 1 are your direct path to a conversation. Use the embedded viewer to search for these specific items and build a concise, fact-based pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

La Bottega Franchise, answered from the filing

The 2022 FDD lists Giuseppe Ruta (President) and Marisa Ruta (Senior Vice President) as the executive team. With a small, HQ-controlled system, purchasing decisions likely rest with these individuals.
La Bottega mandates the Micros 3700 System by Oracle Corporation for its point-of-sale operations, as disclosed in the 2022 FDD.
According to the 2022 FDD, La Bottega has 8 total units: 5 are company-owned and 3 are franchised. The system saw a -25.0% year-over-year unit decline.
The 2022 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement signal, so the designated or approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
With a 10-year initial term and a -25% unit decline, renewal activity is limited. Franchisees in good standing may sign a successor agreement for two additional 5-year terms, subject to strict conditions including potential renovation and a new-form agreement.
The 2022 La Bottega FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

La Bottega Franchise2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment La Bottega Franchise files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

5 operators run 5 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit5

Top states by locations

NY4
WI1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.